android media player box - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 31 (permalink) Old 2014-06-26, 01:39 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: fraser valley
Posts: 156
sort of a hijack here but related post ....
My htpc packed it in and am needing to replace it soon. It was a hp laptop that my kid spilled milk in and and then stood on the screen (grrr) All the android boxes seem ok but a bit iffy... no real guarantee they will be reliable. All i really need is xbmc more than anything else. i had a mk802 for a while but wifi was unsteady and the whole andoid on a stick thing didnt catch on at home. Also no one used it/kind of awkward ui. budget is an issue since this is an unplanned purchase. I have long thought i would just buy a mini pc like a zotac with windows ..... any other suggestions besides a 500 pc?
cafebrad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 31 (permalink) Old 2014-06-26, 03:37 PM
dgm
Premium Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 46
XBMC on the Pi works fine, including subs. Raspbmc. Not glamorous but the price is right.
dgm is offline  
post #18 of 31 (permalink) Old 2014-06-26, 09:38 PM
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Maple Ridge BC
Posts: 1,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by cafebrad View Post
sort of a hijack here but related post ....
My htpc packed it in and am needing to replace it soon. It was a hp laptop that my kid spilled milk in and and then stood on the screen (grrr) All the android boxes seem ok but a bit iffy... no real guarantee they will be reliable. All i really need is xbmc more than anything else. i had a mk802 for a while but wifi was unsteady and the whole andoid on a stick thing didnt catch on at home. Also no one used it/kind of awkward ui. budget is an issue since this is an unplanned purchase. I have long thought i would just buy a mini pc like a zotac with windows ..... any other suggestions besides a 500 pc?
I have 2 S82 android boxes, had latest firmware for about a week, I've only had 1 hiccup, streaming a blu-ray iso, it booted me near the end of the movie. Started back where I was, no issues.
Other than that, been good, I got a older core2duo laptop running xbmc that would have burned itself up trying to stream a full quality iso. With the laptop, near the end of 1080p movies I could hear the fan kick up to full speed, then the video would get twitchy, would have to pause wait for the fan to slow down then start playing again

Sony 75" X940D, 7.1 Klipsch, Onkyo TX-NR656, Xbox One/360, Nvidia Shield Alienware Alpha, Arris Gateway, 42" Samsung
Steve604 is online now  
 
post #19 of 31 (permalink) Old 2014-06-30, 09:55 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: fraser valley
Posts: 156
those specs on the s82 are very close if not the same ad the m8 android box which cost 160 at least. still not sure though
cafebrad is offline  
post #20 of 31 (permalink) Old 2014-07-01, 03:35 AM
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Maple Ridge BC
Posts: 1,171
S82 is a better box than the M8, small stuff they use the same firmware but for an S802 chip the S82 is the better box

Sony 75" X940D, 7.1 Klipsch, Onkyo TX-NR656, Xbox One/360, Nvidia Shield Alienware Alpha, Arris Gateway, 42" Samsung
Steve604 is online now  
post #21 of 31 (permalink) Old 2015-01-06, 01:46 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: fraser valley
Posts: 156
Rehashing an old thread. I bought the m8 semi locally. Over all its OK and does what I wanted. Had a couple issues that were cleared up by the seller easily. I'm hoping someone can help with a question. During video playback the progress bar just stays at the beginning usually. So it's a 90 minute movie and the current timestamp is at zero but I'm halfway through. Is this a bug or a setting issue ? It doesn't usually matter but I can't see where exactly I am or jump back a couple minutes if I want.
any info is appreciated and I tried the Google but couldn't get any hits but didn't quite know how to phrase it.

Last edited by cafebrad; 2015-01-06 at 01:47 AM.
cafebrad is offline  
post #22 of 31 (permalink) Old 2015-01-06, 10:34 AM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kingston. On
Posts: 466
what are you using to play the file? Kodi- which version? Is it streaming from a local or network source? Is it wifi or ethernet?

I just got the matricom Gbox-Q. Had some teething issues, but now I am very happy with it.

Shaw Direct DVR630 / DVR 630/ 605, Panny VT55", Sony XBR4, Oppo 980H, Yamaha 7.1 Surround, PS3! WDLive
Ouser is offline  
post #23 of 31 (permalink) Old 2015-02-11, 01:22 PM
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 617
We recently put a TV in the basement and hooked-up my Rockchip Rk31sdk Andorid Box that I had lying around. I mainly use it for 3 things:

-Watching TV from my upstairs Rogers Box via a Vulkano Video Streamer I got for $30.
-Plex for watching downloaded content or streaming via Plex SS
-Kodi version of XBMC for watching content I don't get with my Rogers cable (International News channels and sports)

The box does pretty much everything I want for very little outlay.
Veee is offline  
post #24 of 31 (permalink) Old 2015-06-04, 09:52 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 39
Check out the Stream Team Android box (Canadian) comes with XBMC (Kodi) with several app sources pre loaded + Air Mouse and the support is good.
Nosmo.
NosmoKing is offline  
post #25 of 31 (permalink) Old 2015-06-06, 01:13 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 52
I have a Mygica 1200 dual core that came with XBMC 13.2 and I just upgraded to Kodi 14.2 without issue - and I'm a newb to XBMC and Android Jellybean. I previously sported a WDTV and there is no comparison between the capabilities of the two - the 1200 is lightyears beyond my old streamer.

The one I got came from a retailer in Vancouver and was preloaded with great apps and a blue tooth keyboard for a 40.00 price hike. Well worth it.
Abysmal is offline  
post #26 of 31 (permalink) Old 2015-06-14, 08:40 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,271
I myself, am just loving KODI, and what you can do with it. It's leaps and bounds above everything else I've seen.
kevsim likes this.
thenewdc is online now  
post #27 of 31 (permalink) Old 2015-06-14, 02:39 PM
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Amherstburg, Ontario
Posts: 420
Does anyone know if KODI supports tmn go?
cptcarter is offline  
post #28 of 31 (permalink) Old 2015-06-14, 04:19 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 455
kodi does not have an app for TMN go. it does have a netflix app but itd really old so i don't know if it would still work. i do know someone made an NHL gamecenter app for it and i have used it a couple times this season with my subscription
McPatrick is offline  
post #29 of 31 (permalink) Old 2015-06-14, 06:13 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,271
I haven't seen an app yet for TMN Go, but someone will eventually come up with something. Use the android app if you have something like an M8 box
thenewdc is online now  
post #30 of 31 (permalink) Old 2015-12-17, 11:56 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 455
since all these android boxes have been out for a while I was wondering if or what android boxes let you upgrade the andoid OS on them. i may be getting a new android box in the future since the OUYA boxes have stopped getting support so they are stuck on jelleybean and with kodi dropping support for that version starting with isenguard its possible i may have to get a new box for it in the future
McPatrick is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome