Western Digital WD TV Live 3rd gen (Streaming Media Player) - Page 6 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #76 of 132 (permalink) Old 2012-08-07, 11:13 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 936
I would probably be thinking about replacing the microwave myself.

LOSat
LONSat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #77 of 132 (permalink) Old 2012-08-07, 11:52 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,061
Microwaves are a common source of interference for 2.4GHz wifi.
Jake is offline  
post #78 of 132 (permalink) Old 2012-08-08, 11:59 AM
dgm
Premium Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 47
At least don't stand close to that microwave.
dgm is offline  
 
post #79 of 132 (permalink) Old 2012-08-22, 04:18 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 27
can someone tell me how is the youtube app for WD 3rd gen.

is is still the crappy one which when open starts with random clip?
I use the old app on my LG BD555 blu ray player which is much better.
I has suggestion, history of viewed clips etc.

Last time I checked WD 6 months ago, the youtube app was garbage compare to even old app on my LG player.
Can someone please let me know.
Also is it worth to buy the player now or wait for new version.
they usually release once a year and now it should be time for new one.
John_Hey is offline  
post #80 of 132 (permalink) Old 2012-08-24, 07:56 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Mont Saint-Hilaire, Québec
Posts: 172
@John_Hey:
The YouTube app has indeed improved - it shows your favorites (not favourites;-) and your subscriptions, it makes suggestions and lets you search. But it could still be improved.
jschall is offline  
post #81 of 132 (permalink) Old 2012-08-25, 06:59 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Mont Saint-Hilaire, Québec
Posts: 172
As for the next WDTV product:
http://www.*************/t/1421755/o...ipation-thread
Don't get your hopes up, folks. I am a beta tester for the WDTV Play, and...

OK, they censored my link to the AVS Forum. Just search for "WDTV Play", which is the name of Western Digital's wonderful new product.
jschall is offline  
post #82 of 132 (permalink) Old 2012-08-31, 09:54 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Whitby,ON
Posts: 7
JScall - can you please tell me if the new WD player having audio chipsets that provide a protected audio path (PAP) so that we finally plat DTS-HD Master 7.1 audi withou the downmixing
ltworf13 is offline  
post #83 of 132 (permalink) Old 2012-09-01, 03:23 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Mont Saint-Hilaire, Québec
Posts: 172
@Itworf13: No, I can't tell you, but I rather doubt it. The WDTV Play is a VERY low-end model, in the same league as the Roku and the D-Link Movie Night.
jschall is offline  
post #84 of 132 (permalink) Old 2012-09-01, 06:30 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,061
What sources on the WD TV have a DTS-HD Master 7.1 audio stream?
Jake is offline  
post #85 of 132 (permalink) Old 2012-09-03, 01:48 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Whitby,ON
Posts: 7
are there any players in Canada that have protected audio path (PAP) for the DTS 7.1
ltworf13 is offline  
post #86 of 132 (permalink) Old 2012-09-04, 06:28 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 14
I can't seem to find a definite answer but somewhere else I saw that this might not be in the realm of possibilities - is there a "watched program indicator" anywhere? I love the player but miss recently watched list and symbol beside watched programs like the Boxee on my other tv.

Thanks all.

The World As I See It
http://bulldog31.blogspot.com
mmason31 is offline  
post #87 of 132 (permalink) Old 2012-09-19, 11:03 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 560
Longer I have the SMP less impressed I'm getting. Latest issue for me is streaming from off the HD connected to the SMP to other WDTV's (2nd gen), basically can't because of the freezing and pauses.

All devices are hardwired, stream okay from the NAS to the 2nd gens, and the SMP plays the files okay locally but won't stream out.

Realize I could transfer everything off the local drive to the NAS but would prefer to get the SMP streaming correctly, any ideas?
das75 is offline  
post #88 of 132 (permalink) Old 2012-09-19, 11:24 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Moncton, NB
Posts: 1,129
@das75

Do you have an external drive hanging off the WD? Then you're trying to stream to another WD? If that is the case, you might be running into USB 2.0 speed issues.
habskilla is offline  
post #89 of 132 (permalink) Old 2012-09-19, 02:28 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,061
das75 I have the same two devices and both have a drive hanging off them and shared. My problem is similar but in reverse. The share on the SMP pointing to the gen2 does not reestablish itself it I turn off the gen2 temporarily off overnight. When the SMP does freeze I have to do a power cycle. I suspected the network implementation/buffering/media library DB is flawed which leads to these issues and not much I can do. The WDC forums are full of these type of posts I might add.

I know the SMP has a buffer and it seems once it is emptied you have to back out (if it will let you) and try again. It is not very graceful at recovery.

The SMP "power off" does not really do anything (other than stop the video outputs) whereas the WDTV Live actually goes offline and powers down its shares.
Jake is offline  
post #90 of 132 (permalink) Old 2012-09-20, 01:28 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 560
the SMP has the local drive. What gets me is this was working first got the SMP and set things up. Nothing has changed other than maybe FW upgrades on the SMP. Since rarely viewing the local drive not sure when the problem started (what FW should I roll back to, if that's even the problem).

Had been thinking about placing the lcl drive on one of the 2nd gens but great, as seems issues there.

Was excited getting the SMP since the my library function to be able to search off the NAS, but considering the problems, not really a step up over the previous generations.
das75 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome