MythTV and Boxee Box - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 2011-08-28, 11:17 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North of the Lake
Posts: 123
MythTV and Boxee Box

I am looking to use MythTV as my PVR and a Boxee box to play recorded content as well as the usual internet streaming of shows.

I hope to use MythTV to record DTV video and save it in a mpg format. Then use a SMB share for Boxee box to organize the shows and play them.

Any down side to this?
Any better solutions?
Digital_Frank is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 2011-09-06, 02:49 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 48
I've put together a backend MythTV server on an older IBM ThinkCentre (P4, 3Ghz) that I picked up second hand for $60. The tuner is a dual tuner HDHomeRun. I'm able to record 2 OTA HD streams simultaneously on the ThinkCentre.

I can then stream these recordings to Western Digital Media Player Plus which can play the recordings seamlessly but often isn't open to shuttling forward or reverse for some recordings.

The cheapest fully functioning frontend stutter-free playback I've set up is a Windows XP on another P4 using (not VLC or Windows Media Player, neither of which work) a very nifty program called "Media Player Classic" (not affiliated with Microsoft).

Since this set up was less than elegant, I sprung for upgraded motherboard with a newer AMD Dual Core processor and now use XBMC installed in Ubuntu as my frontend. With the right hardware, XBMC makes a terrific frontend but don't waste your time trying to get it to stream HD files to a 5 year old computer. There's no reason it shouldn't be able to handle that, "Media Player Classic" can, but unfortunately XBMC is more resource hungry.
Scarborough is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 2011-09-06, 03:00 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Welland, ON Canada
Posts: 30
Not using MythTV at the moment but have tried it. I comment because I have a similar setup I suppose.

At the moment I am using SageTV on Windows Home Server 2011 and use PS3 Media Server to map the Recorded TV folder and view recordings on my 2 Ps3's.

Setting PS3 Mediaserver to not transcode .mpg files allows for fast forward and rewind as the PS3 plays mpg natively.

I believe that you could use this in conjunction with the Boxee Box as it I believe also is DLNA complaint.

Dented
DentedMarble is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome