Hauwei (Cogeco STB) and Hauppauge - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 2011-07-30, 12:06 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
Question Hauwei (Cogeco STB) and Hauppauge

Has anyone had any luck in getting the STB (Hauwai DC730) to work with the IR blaster from Hauppauge? I am trying to use the blaster that came with my Dual tuner PCIe Card (Hauppauge 2250) that was working perfectly before I had to start using the cursed STB!! I cannot get Windows 7 Media Center to recognise that the IR Blaster is attached to the front of the STB.
TVonPC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 2011-07-31, 09:46 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,318
For sake of clarity, your DVR program (same for standalone hardware DVRs or other IR blaster systems, and universal remotes), does not "recognize" the set top box in IR setup. The IR blaster is just set for the IR code associated with that box, snf from then on the system is one way, and with sheer hope it works.

That said, that box, and many "Comcast DTA compliant" boxes use the XMP-1 protocol (I don't know further details). Also, many of those boxes have an IR control input, which you can likely make a direct wire coverter for, or buy one (called the TiVo DTA cable).
classicsat is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 2011-07-31, 10:43 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
Thanks for the reply! The box does have an IR input, but the Hauppauge doesn't have an output jack for the blaster - the single jack is split for both the blaster and the IR input lead to the IR reader. Also, I cannot find anywhere in Windows MCE to identify the receiver box code. I assume Windows tries to learn it based on standards, and this piece of junk from Hauwai is a flimsy, cheap box. That being said, it claims to be XMP-1 compliant (on the Hauwai website).
TVonPC is offline  
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 2011-09-05, 01:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
I have been battling the exact same issue.... did you get anywhere with this?

I had an external via usb IR pickup and tried to use that rather than the hauppage dual ir pickup & blaster - ... but was just worse.

Anyone else having these issues?
fluffy is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 2011-09-05, 05:12 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
Thumbs up Problem resolved

Thanks to great support from Hauppauge, I was able to resolve my issue. Turns out that I needed to get a USB IR Blaster (which they sent me) and this was able to talk to the cheap Cogeco digital box. Unfortunately, it meant that I no longer have two input channels, just one (since I just have one digital box) - so I can only record one-at-a-time ... but at least I can still record!!
TVonPC is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 2011-09-05, 06:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
AH ok good news that it can be resolved.. yes i have figured out that even if i fix this - i will still only have one channel at a time.

So just go out and buy a usb ir blaster? Was that it? Did you have to program it through media center afterwards?
fluffy is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 2011-09-05, 07:24 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
I didn't buy the blaster - Hauppauge sent it to me (I did say great support, didn't I :-)).

Yes, after you get it you have to program it in Media Centre.
TVonPC is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 2011-09-05, 08:00 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Yes thanks got that, I'm just curious as i already have something like this:

http://store.hauppauge.com/accessori...uct=mce_remote

is that essentially what they sent you? or was it a ir blaster straight to usb with no pickup?

Thanks!
fluffy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome