Best Service Provider for HTPC use? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 39 (permalink) Old 2011-07-26, 08:29 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Best Service Provider for HTPC use?

Hello, I'd like to first say that there is a lot of information on this site, and I have tried to find my answer, but like I said there is a lot of information to go through.

I'm in Edmonton, and right now with Shaw, although it was their crappy HD PVR (just had to exchange my 3rd one in a year, sucks losing the shows you wanted to watch after your vacation) that got me looking into HTPC's, and from what I can tell from this site is that Shaw is not HTPC friendly.

I have a Ubuntu box, and have XBMC installed, although nothing is set up, I ended up here looking how to set it up, and found on here that Shaw doesn't really work with HTPC.

So who do I switch to? Bell? Telus? Is Rogers TV ever going to make it to Alberta?
Is there HDTV over internet yet?

Thanks in Advance, and sorry if this is in the wrong forum.
Xride is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 39 (permalink) Old 2011-07-26, 11:34 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 3,074
Easy. For the major Canadian networks you can use a antenna with a TV capture card (or, even better, a HDHomeRun). Over-the-air digital signals are not encrypted, so they are ideal for HTPC use. And best of all, they are free.
audacity is offline  
post #3 of 39 (permalink) Old 2011-07-27, 12:10 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,486
No provider is HTPC friendly. Here's the FAQ on Recording HD. The only real HD HTPC option is the Hauppauge, discussed in several threads in the HTPC forum.

FAQ - Recording HD

Here's a useful post: HDTV Frequently Asked Questions: Please read this before posting in the forum

Almost no areas have two cable providers (there are a select few small areas)

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #4 of 39 (permalink) Old 2011-07-27, 12:37 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
No ability to quote? what the?

Anyways, OTA is no good, gf would kill me if she didn't get national geographic.

I can get Shaw, Telus, Or bell here.

I thought if I used the shaw HD box I could just plug a firewire into it, so I wouldn't need a video capture card.

Those links don't really answer my questions. Only bring up more questions.
Xride is offline  
post #5 of 39 (permalink) Old 2011-07-27, 01:08 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,486
Read the Shaw firewire thread - lots of problems and lots of restrictions as mentioned in the FAQ - read the first few and last few pages.

Can't record any digital channels on Shaw via Firewire - help please.

Read the Hauppauge threads - links provided in the Recording HD FAQ - requires more than a little technical ability to make an HTPC work.

Both options require a lot of "nerd" input and not recommended for the average person. Since you mention a GF, there's probably no way she'll be happy with an HTPC.

You say you've gone through a number of PVRs - this indicates to me a problem with your signal, or perhaps the unit is not well ventillated and is overheating. You might be happier with the BTV PVR, but it also requires appropriate ventillation to preclude overheating (open shelf)

And yes, there is a lot of information on this forum - that's why we have the FAQs and the links there, as well as the search feature.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #6 of 39 (permalink) Old 2011-07-27, 01:18 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Is Telus better? Bell?
Most of the faq is so old I don't even know what is still valid, I've read several things that are outdated.

That thread is 4 years old. That is forever in computers.
While I may not be able to write my own programs I can hold my own.
Xride is offline  
post #7 of 39 (permalink) Old 2011-07-27, 01:22 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,486
Those threads may have started 4 years ago, but if you bother to read the last few pages, you'll see that they are up to date.

The FAQs are also constantly updated. I've added some additional info to my previous post.

In terms of the Hauppauge, it doesn't much matter what HDSTB you have upstream since the basic connection is component video.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #8 of 39 (permalink) Old 2011-07-27, 08:46 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Whitby, Ontario
Posts: 369
What you'll need is an HTPC with PVR function, of which there's really only a few. As 57 said, you'll need a capture card from Hauppage. They're really the only ones to go with.

That said, XBMC doesn't have a PVR function built in. Maybe down the road but the developers haven't gotten there yet.

Look at MythTV - http://www.mythtv.org/
Someone has also created an Ubuntu variant called "MythBuntu". It is a bit tricky to setup so read the directions very carefully.

The other one that I can think of is SageTV. http://sagetv.com/index.html
It's not free but supports Hauppage cards and is relatively simple to setup.

Both of the above also do what XBMC can do in playing video/pictures/music.

Apparently SageTV has been purchased by Google. Not sure what the plan is there now, but they're not selling SageTV anymore!

Last edited by cambo; 2011-07-27 at 08:48 AM. Reason: New Info.
cambo is offline  
post #9 of 39 (permalink) Old 2011-07-27, 09:22 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,315
Quote:
Originally Posted by 57 View Post
No provider is HTPC friendly. Here's the FAQ on Recording HD. The only real HD HTPC option is the Hauppauge, discussed in several threads in the HTPC forum.
Actually there have been a couple of tiny cable companies in Canada that were HTPC friendly as they allowed CableCard devices on their systems. But that doesn't help you unless you live in their area.

There is something called an R5000 mod where you buy a satellite box and send it to this company and they modify it to provide an active firewire port. I am not sure of the current status of this as it may not work on newer sat boxes. And it wasn't cheap either.

If you are interested search for Nextcom Wireless.
Wayne is offline  
post #10 of 39 (permalink) Old 2011-07-27, 10:50 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
I have read the FAQ's and yes some of them have newer posts too, but there is a huge spread of info in them, hard to read 700 posts to find the single relevant one.

My PVR sits open air, and I have AC to keep my place a constant 22C.
I do not know what happens to kill them.

What is BTV PVR?

I guess I could do with a normal PVR and then the HTPC for other media.


Quote:
Actually there have been a couple of tiny cable companies in Canada that were HTPC friendly as they allowed CableCard devices on their systems. But that doesn't help you unless you live in their area.
How do I know if they are in my area? What companies?
Xride is offline  
post #11 of 39 (permalink) Old 2011-07-27, 11:15 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincoln.NB Pop 492,823
Posts: 6,050
Check who is the main distributor in your area. If it is SHAW, then that is the one. I doubt a city like Edmonton would have a tiny cable company.

Then there is SHAW Direct and BEV for satellite.

Home Theatre: Yamaha HTR-6190, Klipsch Speakers, SANYO PLV-Z4, TOSHIBA HDDVD, LG BD555C, Cerwin Vega HTS12 Sub, VIP2300, XBox 360, HTPC.
Danster is offline  
post #12 of 39 (permalink) Old 2011-07-27, 11:15 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,315
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xride View Post
What is BTV PVR?
BTV is likely BeyondTV which was/is PVR software for PCs. The company has decided to focus on making enterprise PVR-type products so they no longer support their product for personal users. I have been using SageTV which is an excellent PC based PVR product that I use in conjunction with two Hauppauge HD-PVRs to capture HD cable channels. Unfortunately SageTV was purchased by Google five weeks ago and you can no longer buy their products.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xride View Post
How do I know if they are in my area? What companies?
Cable is a monopoly service - you generally only have one cable company in your area which is Shaw in Edmonton.

The company that I mentioned was Compton Cable a cable company in Port Perry, ON that had 5500 cable subs. See this thread Compton Cable purchased by Rogers for $40 million
Wayne is offline  
post #13 of 39 (permalink) Old 2011-07-27, 11:42 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SaskTel
Posts: 1,052
The long and short of it is that if you want to build a HTPC you need a couple of STB's from whatever tv company you prefer (telus, bell or shaw) going into a couple of HD-PVR's (or colussus)

you can use windows or linux
MCE or Myth or Media Portal

it will not be plug and play
you will have to fiddle extensively and to a certain extent constantly

it can be a very rewarding hobby

There's several of us here who've run the gammut of the apps, and found ones that suited our purposes

personally, I've stopped recording my own stuff, and just live the MediaRoom PVR (whole house, and it's great) and just rely on my HTPCs for backed up media

Wayne was an MCE guy who went to Sage and was really satisfied

Several others are Myth converts


there really aren't any companies that are better/worse
it's all the same when you feed their pipe into a HD-PVR
Tikker is online now  
post #14 of 39 (permalink) Old 2011-07-27, 12:14 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 64
I am a Shaw subscriber in Vancouver using MythTV. I having been using the firewire port on my Motorola 6200 and 6416 (previously rented, now retuned) to capture the HDTV feeds since 2008. Once you get past the initial set-up, it operates quite well without any need for intervention.

I agree with many of the comments posted here regarding Shaw; specifically about only being able to capture some of the channels. For me, it seems like I can only capture the basic cable-equivalent HDTV channels.

However, I consider it "simpler" than other providers, because I did not need to purchase additional hardware like a Hauppauge HD-PVR to capture to my HTPC. I am contemplating a switch to Telus for cost reasons, but their boxes don't have firewire ports.

Got a SiliconDust HDHomeRun last year and am capturing the Canadian networks via OTA. As a result, the Shaw firewire capture is only used for time-shifted shows off the Eastern USA stations or shows not broadcast in HD on local stations (example - Chuck). Seems to work quite well, if you can get a good signal.

That's my perspective. Based on my current equipment, configuration, experience, and location, I would select Shaw as my top cable-provider choice (after OTA, because it's free). However, it may not be the top choice for everyone due to inconsistent results experienced by others.
shadowlordkt is offline  
post #15 of 39 (permalink) Old 2011-07-27, 12:20 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 3,074
Well, I can tell you from personal experience that if you want a video provider for your HTPC, Shaw is not a good choice. The Hauppauge HD-PVR is unreliable and it is a horrible hack when compared to dealing with unencrypted signals. Besides, if your signal provider isn't going to give you a easy to use signal, why give them money; especially when you can get useful (i.e. unencrypted) content from OTA providers. Many streaming video sources are even free.

Incidentally, I see that National Geographic specials are available on Hulu.
audacity is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome