Native Hulu+, Netflix box and DNLA support - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 2011-07-26, 12:02 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 234
Native Hulu+, Netflix box and DNLA support

I am looking for a box that has built in NATIVE Netflix and Hulu+ support, as well as traditional DLNA support (for connecting to PlayOn!)

I can find boxes with Netflix, or boxes with Netflix AND Hulu+ or boxes with DLNA streaming, but not all three (unless i go with a ps3 and my wife hates the folders)..

Roku seems to fit the requirements, but not available in Canada...

Would the WDTV or the Boxee box do all these?
bdoyledimou is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 2011-07-26, 01:01 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 1,153
WDTV & Boxee don't have access to Hulu+ yet. I'm guessing you're using a VPN service for Hulu+ as it's not available in Canada?
becks is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 2011-07-26, 01:19 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 234
Correct on the VPN solution --

So i suppose i will have to pick up a Roku -- was hoping a ATV 2 would do the trick though
bdoyledimou is offline  
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 2011-07-26, 01:26 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 1,153
I would put an ATV 2 at the bottom of the list, I would pick a Roku, WDTV, Boxee over it anyday.
becks is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 2011-07-26, 01:52 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 3,066
While I haven't used one myself I've heard plenty of good things about Roku products, especially when compared to an Apple TV.

Looking over their product list their "XS" model @ $99 looks very appealing to me, but that is because I've been around long enough to know that streaming video is best done via a wired Ethernet connection.
audacity is online now  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 2011-07-27, 08:17 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Calgary Area
Posts: 2,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by DancesWithLysol View Post
While I haven't used one myself I've heard plenty of good things about Roku products, especially when compared to an Apple TV.
H'mmmm, as an owner of both I have to completely disagree (and I'm generally not an Apple fan-boy). But I should clarify: in the context of primarily being a Netflix device. I've gone over it in more detail in other threads but basically ATV is smaller, lighter, thermally cooler, much faster, better UI, better Netflix app, better at YouTube, better for streaming from your computer/personal device, and the best part of all: the remote learning ability. Obviously though no Hulu or DNLA which is the subject of this thread after all. Just my 2 cents....
North_of_Calgary is online now  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 2011-07-29, 10:23 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,315
In a thread on the Roku2 someone said that Roku will ship to Canada so that is an option - and since you are using VPN you don't care if it supports Netflix Canada.

Another option, although more expensive and louder, is a PC running Windows Media Center.

Your PS3 has the advantage of providing better audio quality - isn't the PS3 the only Netflix client with surround sound support?

If you Jailbreak an ATV you can install XBMC on it and this could be a good collection for your local media, although I am not sure that it plays back MPEG-2 files.
Wayne is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 2011-07-29, 11:25 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 3,066
Quote:
Your PS3 has the advantage of providing better audio quality - isn't the PS3 the only Netflix client with surround sound support?
I don't believe so, no. I'd have to double check (since I don't typically use my XBOX 360 for this) but I remember getting 5.1 Netflix from my XBOX 360 earlier this year when I was using XBOX 360s as WMC extenders.
audacity is online now  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 2011-07-29, 03:09 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Calgary
Posts: 772
Check out the thread on the LG Smart Tv Upgrader here. It does all the things your are asking and its readily available at Futureshop and Best Buy for $99. I just set mine up yesterday and can confirm Netflix/Hulu+/Amazon VOD/ Pandora/DLNA all work.
supergenius is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 2011-07-30, 01:08 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 234
i looked at one of the SmartTV Upgraders but there was no mention of Hulu+ and none of the online reviews mention it..

Thanks! i will pop into FS tommorow and check one out.. ! This may just be the solution i need epecially at $99

Any chance to get a peek at the Hulu+ interface? like i said this is for the wife -- if she dont like it, i am stuck with a $80 cable bill
bdoyledimou is offline  
post #11 of 15 (permalink) Old 2011-07-30, 09:04 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,318
HTPC does not mean big and loud. You can get SFF PCs which are small and quiet.
classicsat is offline  
post #12 of 15 (permalink) Old 2011-07-30, 03:17 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 234
How are you getting Hulu+ on this box? using the web browser or an App? i dont see a Hulu+ app listed.
bdoyledimou is offline  
post #13 of 15 (permalink) Old 2011-07-30, 03:23 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Calgary
Posts: 772
Hulu+ is an app. You might have to add it from the app menu to be one of the 5 favourites. It definitely shows on mine.
supergenius is offline  
post #14 of 15 (permalink) Old 2011-07-31, 02:16 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 234
i need the latest firmware update apparently. Except that i am getting "update is failed" error messages. wired, wireless, vpn, no vpn. it just sits for 5 minutes to two hours then fails.

Going to call on Monday to see if they have a PC downloadable version of the firmware (the last one on the site is two weeks old but a different number)
bdoyledimou is offline  
post #15 of 15 (permalink) Old 2011-08-02, 09:35 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 234
Finally got this thing working, and it passed the WAF.

So long Cable!
bdoyledimou is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome