problem with audio when streaming movie on PS3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 2011-07-06, 02:56 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 24
problem with audio when streaming movie on PS3

Hey Guys,

I hope someone can help me with this, I use my PS3 to watch movies on my TV ( streamed from my PC ) and this works great but I am now having a problem. The PS3 is normally plugged into my AVR via HDMI and this works great but the other day I plugged the PS3 into a different TV to watch movies ( connected via HDMI but no AVR ) and the sound is wrong. It seems as if the PS3 is trying to play the sound in 5.1 but the TV only has its speakers, so I get all of the music and the surround sound but not the voices.

Do you guys know how to fix this I tried to change settings on the PS3 but I have not found out a fix yet

Thanks,
2thumbs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 2011-07-06, 03:02 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,482
Is this the older (fat) PS3 or the new PS3 Slim? There are about a dozen audio settings and one of them is hidden under "video" settings, so it's quite easy to get one of them incorrect...

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 2011-07-06, 03:40 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 24
Should have mentioned that, it is the PS3 Slim. The weird part is that if I watch a blueray on the PS3 I do not have this problem it only happens when I am streaming a movie
2thumbs is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 2011-07-06, 04:56 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,482
There may be audio settings on the PC too? Do you get the dialogue (center channel audio) on the PC?

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 2011-07-06, 10:00 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 24
I have dialogue when I watch it on the computer ( I just have 2 speakers on the computer as well )
2thumbs is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome