WiDi devices lets you stream video from your laptop to your HDTV - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 35 (permalink) Old 2011-06-14, 12:19 PM Thread Starter
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
WiDi devices lets you stream video from your laptop to your HDTV

D-Link said today that its MainStage wireless display adaptor will be available in Canada next month for $130. The Mainstage is one of many soon to be released devices that employs Intel's Wireless Display technology, known as WiDI.

According to Intel, WiDi enables users to wirelessly stream whatever is displayed on their WiDi enabled laptop to their HDTV in full HD up to 1080p video resolution.

Competing for shelf space with Mainstage in the coming months will be WiDi adaptors from Netgear and Belkin. Netgear is calling their adaptor Push2TV while Belkin calls theirs Screencast.

hugh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 35 (permalink) Old 2011-06-15, 07:12 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Moncton, NB
Posts: 1,076
I was looking into these wireless devices to fill a need at home where I didn't want to run a wire. These devices looked good until I read the it had to be LOS.
habskilla is offline  
post #3 of 35 (permalink) Old 2011-06-16, 12:02 PM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 98
What's LOS?

This unit rocks though! Works perfectly, love it but I have an i7 with 8GIG of RAM. I got the PTV2000 2 weeks ago, online, to Ottawa and it took 2.5 days from ordering to door, awesome!

NET-PTV2000100NAS NETGEAR PTV2000 TV TUNER - 100.99 100.99
FUNCTIONS: VIDEO STREAMING, VIDEO
EACH
PCFRT SHIPPING FEE 13.99


PC-Canada.com
pulp is offline  
post #4 of 35 (permalink) Old 2011-06-16, 12:05 PM Thread Starter
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
I believe he means Line of Sight.
hugh is offline  
post #5 of 35 (permalink) Old 2011-06-16, 12:06 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Moncton, NB
Posts: 1,076
Correct, Line of Sight.
habskilla is offline  
post #6 of 35 (permalink) Old 2011-06-16, 12:10 PM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by hugh View Post
I believe he means Line of Sight.
Thank you. Well, it's not that bad. Can't say I tried it away and around a corner or another floor BUT: My i7 laptop is at least 40 feet away and tucked on a built-in desk in the kitchen. There's a huge couch in the family room blocking the LOS and the ptv200 is actually INSIDE an entertainment unit, behind a glass door at the bottom, a few inches from the floor. And the signal strength is 100%. Just FYI....
pulp is offline  
post #7 of 35 (permalink) Old 2011-06-16, 12:10 PM Thread Starter
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
I guess if it has to be LOS, then you might as well just use an HDMI cable and save yourself $120. I also assume that using a cable would deliver better quality video and fewer headaches.

Edit: after reading Pulps posts, it sounds like it has some potential since that is not really LOS.
hugh is offline  
post #8 of 35 (permalink) Old 2011-06-16, 12:11 PM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by hugh View Post
I guess if it has to be LOS, then you might as well just use an HDMI cable and save yourself $120.

I also assume that using a cable would deliver better quality video and fewer headaches.
In my case, that would be 80 feet HDMI to snake around walls etc... LOL No way, this is GREAT.
pulp is offline  
post #9 of 35 (permalink) Old 2011-06-16, 12:14 PM Thread Starter
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
I edited my post. Clearly your situation is not LOS
hugh is offline  
post #10 of 35 (permalink) Old 2011-06-16, 12:23 PM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by pulp View Post
I'll post a pic of the set up! Hold up...
Small wall actually partially blocking, then there's the couch. 55" LED HDTV in background on wall:



Uploaded with ImageShack.us

PTV2000 on top of bottom shelf, glass door opened for pic:



Uploaded with ImageShack.us
pulp is offline  
post #11 of 35 (permalink) Old 2011-06-16, 12:26 PM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 98
I just want to add fellahs, I cannot tell the difference between HDMI cabled and this PTV2000 streaming 1080p movie. It really freaking rocks!

By the way, we don't use that BR the PTV2000 is sitting on. It came with the TV and I just put it there in case the PS3 ever had difficulty playing something. Of course, the PS3 rocks as a BR playah and works perfectly. I use the HDMI fished through the inside wall (all wires are) for the BR, now for the PTV2000. The LED HDTV seemingly floats on the wall, like a painting, I can't stand wires!

DO dl these 4 files, and the Toshiba one if applicable to you... The widget is cool, work on the laptop while kids are watching a streamed movie etc...


http://www.intel.com/support/wireles.../CS-031109.htm
pulp is offline  
post #12 of 35 (permalink) Old 2011-06-16, 12:55 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SaskTel
Posts: 1,041
Quote:
Originally Posted by habskilla View Post
I was looking into these wireless devices to fill a need at home where I didn't want to run a wire. These devices looked good until I read the it had to be LOS.
I think when they say LoS they mean it in the same way that all 802.11 wifi is LoS

ie, they're not gonna guarantee it'll work thru walls/floors, but it probably will
Tikker is offline  
post #13 of 35 (permalink) Old 2011-06-16, 01:17 PM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by habskilla View Post
I was looking into these wireless devices to fill a need at home where I didn't want to run a wire. These devices looked good until I read the it had to be LOS.
If anyone really would like me to test it upstairs, let me know!
pulp is offline  
post #14 of 35 (permalink) Old 2011-06-17, 03:29 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Moncton, NB
Posts: 1,076
I'm letting you know, please test.

My situation is I want to hang a monitor in my kitchen. But I don't want to run a HDMI cable to the downstairs computer. The kitchen is right above where the computer is. So I was hoping this device would work but I was put off because the write up said LOS.
habskilla is offline  
post #15 of 35 (permalink) Old 2011-06-17, 03:32 PM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 98
Okeedokee habskilla, expect a testing result some time this evening (EST), I'm at work now. Subscribe to this thread to receive an email alert.
pulp is offline  
Reply

Tags
netgear , push2tv , screencast , widi

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome