Hauppauge HD-PVR power adapter question - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 2011-04-13, 06:10 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 328
Hauppauge HD-PVR power adapter question

Anyone out there have an HD-PVR and can tell me the make/model and voltage/amps, etc, of the power adapter? I have a bunch and am not sure which is for the HD-PVR. None of the ones in my pile match what the manual says but I'm 100% one of them is for the HD-PVR. Thanks for your help.

link to product:

http://www.hauppauge.com/site/products/data_hdpvr.html

Last edited by wealthyfriends; 2011-04-13 at 06:12 AM. Reason: provided the link
wealthyfriends is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 2011-04-13, 09:33 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Scarborough, Ontario
Posts: 715
Mine says:
Hauppauge! AC ADAPTOR
P/N: PS-US5V2A2.0-G
MODEL: KSAS0100500200HU
INPUT:100-240V~50/60Hz 21-34VA 0.4A
OUTPUT: 5.0V (DC) 2.0A

Barrel connector tip is positive

Switching type regulator approx. 7cm x 3.5cm x 3cm
scotta is online now  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 2011-04-13, 09:27 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Outside of Toronto
Posts: 311
Keep in mind that the HD-PVR power supply may have a flawed power supply (capacitor issue). This may be causing failed recordings.
Danno100 is offline  
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 2011-04-14, 04:41 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 328
Thanks to both of you. To be more forthcoming I think I fried my box by using the wrong adaptor. I wish it was a "that's what she said" but I'm afraid I'm being literal.
wealthyfriends is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 2011-05-12, 07:10 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
Follow up Question

So, if I wanted to test my PVR (lots of blue screen problems etc and I am at my wits end) to determine if it is the Power Supply, are there any tests I can do with a meter to tell me if it is a problem.

Also, if I am going to put another Power Supply on, do I need to have the exact specs or would something like a 5.0v DC 1.0 Amp power supply work (I suspect not). What about a 5.0V 3Amp supply - would that likley be ok?

If not, I will try and hunt down one that is an exact match.
Naphappy is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 2011-05-12, 09:03 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,133
A power supply that has higher amps should be OK. The voltage and polarity should match exactly. The type of power supply should also match. Don't use a transformer block instead of a regulated switching block or vice versa.

At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 2011-05-13, 09:16 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Scarborough, Ontario
Posts: 715
The barrel connector size also has to match.
scotta is online now  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 2011-05-16, 07:30 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 328
Everybody should be careful with these pieces of junk. It turned out to be way to easy to fry my PVR.. it's not like I jammed in the wrong size barrel or something. I'm pretty angry about it.
wealthyfriends is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 2011-05-16, 08:43 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Westminster
Posts: 1,251
I found taking a picture of the new unit and power supply making sure I have a close up of the info on the power adapture has been very helpful it gives me the tech info and a picture of what it looks like and date i got it too.
danbcman is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 2011-05-17, 09:50 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Scarborough, Ontario
Posts: 715
If it's not obviously identified, putting on a sticker, etching, or otherwise identifying what equipment the adapter is for, when you first get it, can be helpful for when the adapter becomes separated from the equipment. If every adapter in your house has an indication of what it's for, then it's harder to make a mistake.

Also, when you get new equipment, if it doesn't have what voltage, current, AC or DC, and polarity of the connector (if DC) that it requires written on it, then you should mark it on it yourself, from what's on the adapter, in case the adapter gets lost and you need to replace it.
scotta is online now  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 2012-12-02, 07:40 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Linksys AD52A

Hey

like many others I have lost my adapter but I found a (Linksys AD52A) in a box I just check the spec and they look similat to the Original but I like to check with you first

Model # : M1-10s05
AC Input: 100-120 VAC
47.-63Hz 0.5A
DC Output: 5.0VDC 2.0A

Polarity: + on tip (Center)

Should I try it, they say " Use only the power supply provided! " so i'm a little scared to mess it up !

Thanks for your help !
spock999 is offline  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 2012-12-03, 10:11 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Scarborough, Ontario
Posts: 715
spock999,

It looks like a match, other than it's only for 100-120V input. If the tip fits properly, it should work fine.
scotta is online now  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 2012-12-03, 12:16 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43░ N, 81.2░ W
Posts: 3,678
Also, make sure it's the same type of power supply. There are basically two types, unregulated current limiting transformer and regulated switching power supply. They are not interchangeable.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 2012-12-04, 08:43 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Scarborough, Ontario
Posts: 715
There's no problem using a regulated supply (with the correct voltage and minimum current rating) in place of an unregulated one.

The opposite is not always, but sometimes, true. It depends on the design of the equipment that it powers.

With regards to spock999's question, I did a web search for the M1-10s05 adaptor he specified, to verify that it was regulated, before saying "go for it".
http://www.alldatasheet.com/datashee.../M1-10S05.html
scotta is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome