Calgary OTA problems in windows media center 7 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 2011-04-02, 01:53 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Banff Trail, Calgary
Posts: 7
Thumbs up Calgary OTA problems in windows media center 7

Hi,

I just want to confirm the settings when adding CBRT to windows media center. According to http://www.user.dccnet.com/jonleblan...ations/AB.html, I used channel = 9-1 with frequency 21. When I change to that channel, there is a blue screen with "Service is unavailable". Is there a problem with transmission or am I using the wrong settings?

Thanks.
csclgry is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 2011-04-02, 02:11 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,085
I just channel scanned for CBC in Windows Media Center and it came up right away.
j0dest3r is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 2011-04-02, 02:36 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Banff Trail, Calgary
Posts: 7
Is CBRT switching on and off their transmission currently? Yes j0dest3r when you posted, it was working for me too so my settings must be correct. The signal seems to come and go for me. When I check the signal strength, I get all other channels with full green boxes. CBRT shows with one red box. I am in central Calgary with the antenna in the attic so I would hope it is not a reception problem. Is CBRT significantly less transmission power?
csclgry is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 2011-04-03, 02:20 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Calgary
Posts: 980
Yes, CBRT is temporarily using a very low-power transmitter (1.5kW).
VuMax is online now  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 2011-04-03, 04:43 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Strathmore, Ab
Posts: 214
csclgry: what type of antenna are you using? I Get CBC DT out here in Strathmore with a strong signal,and haven't noticed any cut outs as you mentioned. Even with their low power you should be getting it, especially when I get it and I'm 35 + miles from transmitters.
frontpl8 is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 2011-04-04, 01:09 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Banff Trail, Calgary
Posts: 7
The antenna that I am using looks very similar to the one on this web page, http://dmikula.wordpress.com/2009/02...s-free-its-me/ . I pick up the other three channels perfectly. I get better reception with the home made antenna than the amplified one that I bought (Monoprice part #4730).

CBC is now coming in better now but sometimes it takes a bit longer to connect when changing channels. I think the extra time is because media center is searching on the other tuner on my Hauppauge HVR-2250 tuner card because it cannot initially lock in with the first tuner because of a weak signal. Does anybody know when CBC will increase their power?
csclgry is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome