Squeezebox usable in Canada? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 2010-05-03, 07:58 PM Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
Squeezebox usable in Canada?


I know one can use a Squeezebox in Canada :-) I wasn't sure what made sense as a title ... but here goes...

I just bought a Squeezebox Boom.. it's on sale $149.99 at Best Buy in the US. Anyway, had it about 2 hours and it's awesome ....

My Dad's birthday is coming up and I wanted to pick one up for him (if ithere's any left)... my parents live in Toronto and so far all I could find was 4-5 Toronto radio stations on the radio. So... just wondering what content they would actually get to listen to that was Canadian or at least CDN based.

Is there another Internet Radio device that might be a better option for Canada, maybe a Grace Internet Radio?

Any feedback would be appreciated!


kebuchan is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 2010-05-04, 08:33 AM
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 569
Squeezebox is totally usable in Canada or anywhere else; I've just acquired another BOOM for a total suite of four units (a Duet and three BOOMs).

I've not searched exhaustively for Canuck content, but I do have radio stations from TO, London and Calgary in my favourites, plus a host of mainly UK and US stations.

If you don't find Canuck stations in the menu, I've discovered that the SB's search function works well if you have a station call-sign or other portion of the name. You can also web-search and there's a way to add new stations via the URL, although I've personally not had to do this (yet).
apn is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 2010-05-04, 10:33 AM
Member #1
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Although some stations may require setup, you should be able to program any Internet Radio station of which there are tons in Canada.

The following is a link that explains how to add radio stations to the Squeezebox Radio.
hugh is offline  
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 2010-05-04, 11:53 AM
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,991
Speaking of the Squeezebox Radio, I would currently avoid this model like the plague.

Logitech recently released a firmware for it (which is forced on users) and it broke most of the alarm functionality and any wireless network connection reliability. While they were in a hurry to release this firmware so they could support their new Touch product, they don't appear to be in any kind of hurry to release any fixes for the well documented/well reported issues that any "normal" user is experiencing. Some of the newer beta builds (which require you to install your own server) have fixes for some of the issues.

I bought this as a gift for my wife and it's been as useful as a $200 paperweight for something like the past month. Support has been no help at all.

Lastly, they supposedly sell an accessory pack (which contains a battery and remote) for this unit but NOT in Canada. Since I bought the unit in Canada, I would expect them to sell these accessories for it here without forcing me to go through Europe or the States.

No more Logitech toys for me.
notsure is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 2010-05-04, 12:15 PM
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 156
I agree, stay away from the Squeeze radio, mine worked fine till the update, now the alarm is all screwed up and the internet connectivity is brutal..

Might sell to a sucker and try the Sony Dash...
kevsim is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 2010-05-05, 12:38 AM
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 796
I have an old generation 1 Squeezebox. I haven't used it in a couple of years as I've replaced it with an AppleTV which now supports internet radio streams.

I do miss the very configurable alarm(s) but that's all I miss. Turns out my Samsung LCD TV has some very nifty multiple alarm functions too now I wake up to CityTV Breakfast TV in HD.

My blog
blueroomelectro is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 2010-05-06, 10:50 AM
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 569
Wow, sorry to hear of the probs w/ the Radio and the SBS 7.5 update.

Never been a big fan of the Radio (esp. with BOOM on sale for us$149 at BB this week), but I totally agree that Logitech needs to properly test software updates before inflicting them on unsuspecting users.

My systems have been working flawlessly even with the new update, but I did notice one anomaly; the alarm fade_in on my alarm clock BOOM stopped working after the most recent update. Now I get "instant on", which can be a jolt.

There was already a Bugzilla report filed, so I voted.

On one hand I appreciate that Logitech continues to enhance the software, adding new devices AND new functions to existing devices, but I hope they've learned a valuable lesson from the legion of Radio users afflicted with problems.
apn is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 2010-05-06, 11:16 AM
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,991
Users having to "vote" to get bugs fixed is another reason I won't be a repeat Logitech customer.

Bugs affecting basic documented funcationality should be fixed... period. Only fixing defects if enough users actually vote for them in the bug system is unacceptable. The percentage of users that would actually register to use this system is likely very small.

Still absolutely no sign of a new firmware coming. Logitech has been quiet on all fronts. I get the feeling they think if they bury their heads in the sand deep enough people will stop complaining (i.e. give up).
notsure is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 2010-05-06, 07:13 PM
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 569
Yeah, I hear you.

I don't know how much weighting the "voting" carries, but I only did so after posting on another forum and others asked me to vote.

Still, for me, the benefits of this system far outweigh the minor, hopefully short-term inconvenience of the alarm fade_in being broken.

To have access (from anywhere in my house, yard, garage, pool) to a 2TB music library AND a massive selection of internet radio is phenomenal, and to do so at a fraction of the cost of Sonos or other systems just makes it more compelling.

Still, Logitech needs to get serious about software development if it wants to be taken seriously in this market segment.
apn is offline  

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome