How do I connect ide & Sata drive? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 2010-03-22, 01:08 AM Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
How do I connect ide & Sata drive?

Hi, I'm building an HTPC (first time). I bought 1 TB sata HDD & took my old 120gb IDE maxtor out of old computer (I will load OS on this one)I wasnt using. The IDE HDD has Win XP already on it. I cinnect the IDE to IDE connection on motherboard & set the pin on back to master, then coinnect SATA HDD to SATA0 on motherboard. I thought when I turned the computer on it would automattically boot to Win xp, but it keeps looping saying something about change to "ACHI". What am I doing wrong, was I supposed to wipe the IDE drive clean first & then install it, or is something configure wrong like cant use IDE & SATA hdd on same motherboard anyadvice would be appreciated as ytou can tell Im not a huge computer tech person.

Thank you
rhino1616 is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 2010-03-22, 05:00 AM
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 3,764
No problem.

Firstly, you will more than likely have to re-install Windows. Windows tends to be very picky about changes to hard drive settings such as moving the drive to a new motherboard. More often than not, doing so will simply result in a blue screen crash (which, depending on how Windows is configured may simply cause an endless reboot cycle like you are seeing).

If you boot off the Windows XP CD you can go through the installation to the point of selecting which drive to install it on. If you just see the 120GB Maxtor and not the 1TB SATA drive, that's fine for now (in most cases, you'd need to provide the drivers on a floppy disk to have the installer detect a SATA drive). Since you are using an IDE drive as your boot disk, it's not really needed. You'll probably want to format the drive (make sure anything you may need is backed up) and do a clean installation.

I'm presuming that you are custom-building a computer. If so, once Windows finishes installing, you can either use the CD bundled with the motherboard to install things like the aforementioned SATA driver, or (better yet) visit the manufacturer's webpage and download the latest drivers for the board.

Hope this helps.
BGY11 is online now  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 2010-03-22, 07:18 AM
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 38
Some motherboards require a bois setting to use both ide and sata.
Dubble is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 2010-03-22, 11:48 AM Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
I think I have it, so if I put in the boot CD, when I turn on the computer it should go straight to the boot CD process where I can then reformat the drive, & once widnows installed via bios enable the SATA ( which I think it has detected but as you said its doing the looping process) is this correct?
rhino1616 is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 2010-03-22, 07:54 PM
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 3,764
Best thing to do would be to go into the BIOS and check the boot order (different BIOSes put this in a different location). You'll want to ensure it's set to boot off the CD drive first.

While in the BIOS, you can verify that it detects both hard drives as well. If it sees both drives, you should be good to go. I was mostly referring to the fact that the Windows install itself may not see the SATA drive even if the BIOS does, since a standard XP install disc doesn't have SATA drivers.
BGY11 is online now  

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome