ATI 3850 to HDTV - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 2010-03-12, 09:32 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ottawa;Denon AVR590, Samsung LN32B460, BellTV 6141
Posts: 256
ATI 3850 to HDTV

I would like to connect my ATI 3850 PC display card to my HDTV (Samsung LN32B460) as a secondary display.
The adapters that came with the card are as follows...

DVI-I Dual to VGA.
S-Video to RCA.
S-Video to RGB Component.

The cable length required is 15-20 ft.

The TV has a VGA input.

The ATI 3850 is HDTV capable.
I would like to use this capability.

Which would be the best way - taking both cost and cable length restrictions into account - to make the connection?

Thanks.
gdmaclew is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 2010-03-12, 10:41 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 595
There is supposed to be an ATI dongle that converts the DVI output to a HDMI one. Not sure if it carries sound though. I bought a 4670 fanless with native HDMI output to ensure true HDMI out.
Cockroach is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 2010-03-12, 05:10 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 139
You may buy a DVI to HDMI cable.
lunear is offline  
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 2010-03-12, 07:38 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ottawa;Denon AVR590, Samsung LN32B460, BellTV 6141
Posts: 256
That's exactly what I've decided to do.
gdmaclew is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 2010-03-12, 09:09 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 126
The ATI branded DVI-HDMI dongle will provide audio, any other adaptor will not.
wlee15 is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 2010-03-13, 01:09 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 3,658
Even on the 3850? I can't remember if that's something they added just to the 4xxx series or not.
BGY11 is online now  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 2010-03-18, 12:42 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 595
This might be a better solution than a dongle:

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...r&promoid=1115
Cockroach is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome