How to setup harddrive on htpc - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 2010-03-11, 01:43 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
How to setup harddrive on htpc

Hello, I'm new to this & searching info. I'm setting up my htpc with 2 harddrives (i heard this is better). I want to put my os on the first drive WD 120GB, & use 2nd Hitachi 1tb strictly for recorded shows. How would I set this up? would I set the first drive as the primary, & the 2nd as the slave, & all the info automatically would get recorded on the 2nd drive or am I wrong. Also is the 120GB HDD enough space for OS?

Thank you
rhino1616 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 2010-03-11, 07:41 AM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
What operating system are you using? Are these separate physical drives or just two logical drives? Are the drives eSata?
hugh is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 2010-03-11, 08:48 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,452
I think the OP is talking about two physical drives. I'm also guessing IDE since the concept of master/slave doesn't apply to SATA.

120G is more than enough for the OS. When you install two drives in the computer each one will get assigned a different drive letter so you would need to configure the S/W you are using to record on the 1G drive.

Android rocks!
jvincent is online now  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 2010-03-11, 12:49 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 820
They must be SATA since IDE drives top out at 500GB and Hitachi lists only 1TB SATA drives. I'd install the WD 120GB and OS first so it is the C:\ drive, then add the 1TB drive. In Windows 7 he can use the "Disk Management" tool to reassign the drive letters if necessary.

Samsung LN40A550, Asus A8N SLI, Athlon 64 X2 3800, XFX HD One 5450, 2 Hauppauge HVR-2250, LG BH10LS30 Blu-ray, Windows 7
Michael DeAbreu is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome