How do I watch and record ROGERS HD? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 2009-12-26, 11:37 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3
How do I watch and record ROGERS HD?

I am currently using an ATI tuner to get all of the channels which are coming in fine. But the HD channels that I recieve do not come in HD quality.

Does anyone know of a way to get the ROGERS HD channels in HD quality through my PC?

please help!
Mogwai2005 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 2009-12-26, 11:51 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,486
This question has been asked many times. You cannot get them using a tuner card as they are encrypted. The only channels you can see with a tuner card are the analogue ones, or a select few digital/HD that are on free preview. See the following FAQ on that topic:

FAQ - Can I get Digital Cable (and HD) Using My QAM Tuner?


Here's the FAQ on Recording HD - Your options consist of purchase/rental of the Rogers HDPVR, purchase of the Hauppauge HDPVR via a STB and component video connections, or firewire connection from a STB which is usually problematical or has copy restrictions.

FAQ - Recording HD


Here's a post useful for those new to the forum - FAQs, Search Tips, Optimization, etc:

HDTV Frequently Asked Questions: Please read this before posting in the forum

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 2009-12-26, 12:13 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3
even if I am paying for the channels?

right now I have the Rogers HD box, from there I am running the feed into the tv tuner and then to the tv. I am getting the HD channels that I am paying for...yet the quality is far from HD.

I was looking at this product from ATI...would this do the trick?

http://ati.amd.com/products/tvwonderdigital/
Mogwai2005 is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 2009-12-26, 12:17 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3
rogers help

even if I am paying for the channels? I am getting the channels but they are far from HD quality. Is their a card on the market that can get me the HD quality through my PC?
Mogwai2005 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 2009-12-26, 12:49 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,486
In order to watch HD, you need to use a component video or HDMI connection to the TV/devices.

FAQ - Cables & Connections Cables & connections.

You're probably not currently using that type of HD connection, hence no HD quality. As mentioned in the QAM FAQ, no card will work since the channels are encrypted (even to subscribers since each channel is authorized for each subscriber on the STB depending on subscription) and you need to use a Rogers STB and appropriate connections.

I suggest you take the time to read the links I have provided.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 2009-12-26, 02:45 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,327
You could, like me, live with watching the HD channels direct live, and DVR SD channels (I thouugh, have Shaw Direct, with seaprate receivers for HD direct viewing and DVR recording; the DVR being a Series 2 TiVo).

Your cable box is the access spoint for the digital channels you subscribe to; HD being digital channels. To record in HD, your only real option is the Hauppauge HD-1212, or get the Roger's DVR.
classicsat is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome