6600GT with Blu Ray - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 2009-12-10, 07:42 PM Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Near the Hills
Posts: 632
6600GT with Blu Ray

Had a spare Blu Ray reader and just overhauled an old AMD 64 X2 4400+ with a dual head 6600GT, 128M I think.
Will this GPU have enough juice to run the Blu Ray?
Do things like COREAVC help this class of GPU?

This is not the prime desktop for BD, nor the HTPC either, so not a show stopper.
It 'could' become a BD ripper though.
Moose57 is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 2009-12-10, 08:59 PM
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Whitby
Posts: 2,815
I think 6600 is HD decode capable, try using the purevideo codecs and give it a shot.

Starting with the release of the GeForce 6600, PureVideo added hardware acceleration for VC-1 and H.264 video, though the level of acceleration is limited when benchmarked side by side with MPEG-2 video. VPE (and PureVideo) offloads the entire MPEG-2 pipeline (except the initial run length decoding, variable length decoding, and inverse transform),[2] whereas first-generation PureVideo offered limited VC-1 assistance (motion-compensation).
recneps77 is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 2009-12-10, 09:46 PM
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,455
The 6600GT won't do full H/W assist for the advanced BluRay codecs so the bulk will be done by the CPU.

Android rocks!
jvincent is online now  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 2009-12-26, 07:01 PM
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 182
My 6600 GT choked on 1080p. Spend ~$40 on a card. I got an 4550 and the playback is smooth as silk now.
dajota is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 2009-12-26, 11:39 PM
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 910
Nvidia 7600 is the minimum for hardware accelerated Blu-ray playback...note also, the chance is..if you have a 7600s it is probably not HDCP compliant.

Spend you $30 for a low end current model from ATI or Nvidia will do it though.

PPL4GOLF is offline  

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome