First post... looking at HTPC with Mythbuntu and Rogers cable in Ottawa - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-11-12, 10:38 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Orleans, ON
Posts: 54
First post... looking at HTPC with Mythbuntu and Rogers cable in Ottawa

I see a few posters are from Ottawa... curious to know if anyone has gotten anywhere with Rogers and Mythbuntu/Mythtv configuration?

I'm currently typing this message from Mythbuntu live CD 9.10!

I'm currently running a P4 2.4 GHZ with 1 gig RAM, 500 SATA internal drive, LG DVDRW... and yes, and old ATI All In Wonder 7500 TV card...

I'm thinking perhaps this PC could serve as a front end (with a better video card for sure).... and I'll have to go shopping for a backend server.

Question is, will I get anywhere with Rogers STB? I plan on getting a 4250HD STB... just have the standard digital box.

I've read in other threads that it's problematic getting a signal from the Firewire ports... other option would be to use component or HDMI out? But then, PVR SW can't control the program schedule and channels?

Thanks for the info

Stephane
stego is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-11-12, 11:49 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,322
There's a Rogers Firewire thread and there's an Hauppauge HD PVR thread. Suggest you review both of those long threads. I believe the links are in the following Recording HD FAQ:

FAQ - Recording HD

See also the following post, useful for those new to the forum - FAQs, Search Tips, Optimization, etc:

HDTV Frequently Asked Questions: Please read this before posting in the forum

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-11-13, 12:04 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Orleans, ON
Posts: 54
Thanks 57... that's what I was afraid of... from what I have read so far... it's an exercise in futility and frustration.

And frankly, I don't think I have the time and expertise to work on this kind of "project".

Plus, I have to have a set-up that is easy enough, and stable enough so my wife and kids can use it.
stego is offline  
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-11-14, 12:13 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by stego View Post
I've read in other threads that it's problematic getting a signal from the Firewire ports... other option would be to use component or HDMI out? But then, PVR SW can't control the program schedule and channels?
Firewire is problematic for video - the only reliable way to get an HD signal from a box to your PC is to use a Hauppauge HD-PVR unit. I believe this works with MythTV but I use SageTV running on Windows Home Server.

But I don't know why you say that the PVR software can't control the schedule and channels - it can by using an IR blaster to change channels, or you can use firewire for channel changing - that part does work pretty well.
Wayne is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-11-14, 01:00 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayne View Post
.. or you can use firewire for channel changing - that part does work pretty well.
Can you post a pointer to posts describing how to accomplish that with Rogers Cable ? A buddy of mine could really make use of that capability in his (mythtv+hdpvr+rogers) setup.

Thanks.
mlord is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-11-14, 01:42 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlord View Post
Can you post a pointer to posts describing how to accomplish that with Rogers Cable ? A buddy of mine could really make use of that capability in his (mythtv+hdpvr+rogers) setup.
I can for Windows but is that going to be of any use? I have never used Myth nor have I used Linux with my cable boxes.
Wayne is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-11-14, 04:29 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,322
It's not a good idea to run parallel threads, so, if the discussion is about Rogers firewire, please use that thread, if about the Hauppauge, please use that thread. If anything else, feel free to continue here.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-11-14, 07:56 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Orleans, ON
Posts: 54
Thanks Wayne for the info.

Although I said I woudn't pursue this project, something inside of me is burning to do so. I didn't want to have to invest $500-$1000 on a new "backend" Myth server to see whether or not I could record cable content.

I'm thinking perhaps of tinkering with my current desktop, buying a compatible Hauppage card, and running MythBuntu from a Live CD (not sure if it'll work, but will give it a shot) and connect my Rogers 8300 PVR and see how it goes. I'm currently running Opensuse Linux, so don't want to blow it away, so will attempt a Live CD set-up. If I feel good about my trial runs, then I may turn my desktop into a backend Myth box, and build myself a cheaper front-end server/desktop. I also want to try out a capture card with built-in ATSC tuner (OTA HD) and see what's available in Ottawa.

I'll make sure to share with the community my failures/successes when the time comes.

From what I've read, the sys requirements for running Myth aren't that high, especially if you use a capture card with onboard encoder/decoder....

I thought I read somewhere someone saying that IR control was not possible if going through standard capture card inputs, such as composite or s-video etc...
stego is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome