Western Digital WD TV Live and Live Plus HD Media Player - Page 5 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #61 of 401 (permalink) Old 2009-12-04, 02:12 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 560
I've stopped trying to have the WDTV see the folders shared in XP but have been used TVersity as a server then share my folders through it. I've had zero problems playing movies that are sitting my desktop with the WDTVLive going through a wired network.

Separate from TVersity, mapped the USB drive on the WDTV and it shows on the PC as a network drive.
das75 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 401 (permalink) Old 2009-12-04, 06:55 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 300
I received my WDTV Live yesterday. I placed it in my bedroom and plugged in the USB adapter. I looked at the IP address it was assigned by DHCP and set that as a reservation in my router. The I placed that IP address in the trusted zone on my network. Every share on the network was immediately available.

For me, it worked exactly as advertised, right out of the box.

For those that cannot get the network shares to work, except with TVersity (which it also picks up on mine), it must be either a defective unit, or a setup issue.
willise is offline  
post #63 of 401 (permalink) Old 2009-12-04, 10:34 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 560
Willise

I'm sure I'm sharing my desktop XP folders correctly as when I connect my laptop to to the network I can see them on it.

But wonder your comment "I placed that IP address in the trusted zone on my network", where/how do I do that?
das75 is offline  
 
post #64 of 401 (permalink) Old 2009-12-04, 10:51 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 300
I cannot tell you how many times I have tried to connect a wireless device, that is not a computer, to my network for sharing purposes, and not see the shares. It happened with my LG390, a Samsung 4600, and the WDTV Live.

I spent a lot of time trying to figure out the LG390 problem several months ago. I could see all the shared directories on any computer, but the LG could not see any.

SO i figured it must be my Anti Virus/Firewall program. I turned those off, and then the shares appeared immediately. So now I knew it was a firewall problem.

I was running BitDefender Total 2009 (but I am sure all of them must be fairly similar). In the firewall settings, you can add programs, IP's, etc to a "trusted zone" and the normal firewall rules will not apply.

Turn off your firewall (windows and any other) and see if the shares pop up on the WDTV. If they do, it is a firewall issue.

Let me know how you make out and we'll fix your problem.

Good Luck!
willise is offline  
post #65 of 401 (permalink) Old 2009-12-04, 05:41 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 560
Well this is embarrassing.

I had tried before with the Windows Security Center firewall turned off without luck with the shares, but your comment about non-computer and Turn off your firewall (windows and any other) had me wondering.

Sure enough had another Firewall running (Shaw Secure) and with that off, now can see the shares. Guess what had me thinking every was setup okay before, was I could see the shares on another PC.

Now just to get Shaw Secure to allow the WDTV
das75 is offline  
post #66 of 401 (permalink) Old 2009-12-04, 06:48 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 300
Well now that we know that teh firewall is the culprit, you need to go to your router settings and determine what IP address has been given to the WDTV, unless you already know it.

Then in the Shaw firewall setup, look for something like a "trusted zone" , "exceptions", or "rules" and you should be able to configure the firewall to allow the WDTV access to the network.

I don't have Shaw in this part of the country, so unfortunately I cannot help you with that. If you run into problems, hopefully others can help with the Shaw issue.

Glad you isolated the problem!
willise is offline  
post #67 of 401 (permalink) Old 2009-12-06, 09:43 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Mont Saint-Hilaire, Québec
Posts: 172
Thumbs up Which Media Server for WDTV Live?

I finally got off the fence and bought this puppy from NCIX, along with the Belkin 200 Mbps Powerline AV kit. Excellent delivery experience, no setup problems, automatic firmware upgrade, plays all my media on a connected USB drive. Five stars.

Now for my small problem.

For some unknown reason, my Windows XP desktop, with 640 GB storage, where I download my videos, REFUSES to share to other PCs on my home LAN.

To ease this problem, I installed Twonky Media Manager on my XP PC, and now the WDTV Live can see the media on my XP PC, neatly organized by Twonky.

But Twonky isn't free. $46 - but they offer 50% off 'til 31 Dec.

So, is Twonky worth the cost, or do TVersity and XBMC offer equivalent or additional features I should check out?

- Jeff Schallenberg
Mont Saint-Hilaire, Québec
jschall is offline  
post #68 of 401 (permalink) Old 2009-12-06, 09:49 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 560
my problem was opposite, other PC could see the shares, not the WDTV.

About Tversity, it's free.
das75 is offline  
post #69 of 401 (permalink) Old 2009-12-06, 09:57 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Westminster
Posts: 1,251
wdtv live

do not up grade firmware wait for a few weeks the new firmware is bricking units at a global scale
danbcman is offline  
post #70 of 401 (permalink) Old 2009-12-06, 11:16 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Mont Saint-Hilaire, Québec
Posts: 172
Which firmware is bricking wdtv live?

- Jeff
jschall is offline  
post #71 of 401 (permalink) Old 2009-12-06, 11:27 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Westminster
Posts: 1,251
Smile wdtv live

Best to check out forums via google as it covers the two past version but the latest is now been taken off the site because it is even more deadly.
As luck had it I did the upgrade mins out of the box to 101 11 then two days later 101 12 boy I was lucky niether killed my box but I was extremely lucky
danbcman is offline  
post #72 of 401 (permalink) Old 2009-12-07, 07:19 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 300
Jschall,

THere must be a setup issue in your XP machine, if other computers cannot see it on the network. If the folders are set up to share, they should be visible.

My guess is that the permissions are not set correctly.

Tversity works well, but the interface is not very slick and navigation is awful, IMO. XBMC is fantastic, when running on a computer or XBOX, but again, the beautiful details that make XBMC so great, don't transfer over to WDTV live.

There really is no need to pay for Twonky, IMO. There are other, cheaper (free) ways to do what you need.

And do not update to the Version 12 firmware!
willise is offline  
post #73 of 401 (permalink) Old 2009-12-07, 09:11 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Mont Saint-Hilaire, Québec
Posts: 172
Exclamation Firmware 1.01.12 is poison!

Thanks for the heads-up, danbcman.

On Friday 4 December, I took delivery of my WDTV Live, plugged it into the Internet and powered on. It immediately asked me to update, so I did. It turns out the update was to 1.01.11. The problem firmware is the new 1.01.12. So I am extremely lucky I didn't get bitten.

http://www.wdc.com/wdproducts/update...y=wdfwdtv_live

http://www.geek.com/articles/gadgets...pdate-2009127/

The WD announcement says only "a small percentage" of users get bricked, but that seems to be a lame attempt at damage control.

Has anybody here tried the custom/homebrew firmware from b-rad? What are your experiences?

- Jeff Schallenberg
Mont Saint Hilaire, Québec
jschall is offline  
post #74 of 401 (permalink) Old 2009-12-08, 03:49 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Moffat, ON
Posts: 833
I've been running b-rad's firmware since he released it. I was having big issues with the networking support in the stock firmware to the point of making the box essentially useless for me so I figured I didn't have much to lose by giving it a try. The biggest issue with the stock firmware was the dropped network connections, "lost" servers/shares, etc. that have been well reported. The second more minor issue was that you couldn't map a share permanently - you always had to go to Network, browse to the server, share, folder, etc. Huge PITA, especially if you have multiple servers and shares to deal with.

Both of these were fixed with b-rad's firmware. It lets you explicitly mount a share so you can go straight to it and you can also have a config file with multiple mounts that executes automatically on startup. You also have the option of using NFS instead of CIFS/SMB which supposedly gives better performance (I say supposedly because I didn't test this much since I wasn't having any performance issues with CIFS anyway).

Overall I haven't had any significant issues with b-rad's firmware and I've been very happy with it since it solved my major networking issues. The only problem I had was a weird one that prevented me from editing some config files (it's a long story and not really relevant to this thread so I won't bother with the details). I never figured out why exactly I was having the problem but I suspect it was related to one of the later version upgrades not applying quite correctly or completely. The fix was relatively straight forward though - I just downgraded to the original firmware and then applied b-rad's latest firmware again and it worked fine after that.
grog is offline  
post #75 of 401 (permalink) Old 2009-12-08, 07:37 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 910
Why do you need to downgrade to the original firmware before using the 3rd party ?

LG55LW5000/DenonAVR791/MirageOMD5+Nanosat+MM8/ClearStream2/CM7778+3414
OptomaHD33/YamahaRXV1075/KEF3005/Velo15"
PPL4GOLF is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome