Western Digital WD TV Live and Live Plus HD Media Player - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #31 of 401 (permalink) Old 2009-11-28, 03:16 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 725
Does this box do doube-rate deinterlace (i.e. 60 field per second) properly for interlaced materials? The one WD HD media box my brother tried (good that it was from Future Shop for its return policy) didn't support 60 fps for .TS file straight from DVR box or OTA and it was quite glitchy for some common file types. I understand this box plays 1080p60 material fine, but although 1080i material needs lower output bandwidth it takes extra processing to deinterlace properly (converts 30 frames per second data to 60 fields per second screen updates). Any words on whether it does that properly?
CHrisCHu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 401 (permalink) Old 2009-11-28, 07:34 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,057
I suspect the TV plays an important role in this. Or should I say normally performs the rate doubling (since it would expect 1080i60). Sending 1080p60 is going to tax the system.

Could you elaborate on what codec and container you are experiencing trouble with.

Quote:
it was quite glitchy for some common file types
Jake is offline  
post #33 of 401 (permalink) Old 2009-11-28, 09:55 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 725
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake View Post
I suspect the TV plays an important role in this. Or should I say normally performs the rate doubling (since it would expect 1080i60). Sending 1080p60 is going to tax the system.

Could you elaborate on what codec and container you are experiencing trouble with.
It's definitely not a TV problem (52" Sony 120Hz). Unlike 1080i signal straight from STB or OTA, 1080i streams from HTPC or HD media box are converted to 1080p60 (double-rate deinterlace) before sending to the HDTV. The HDTV sees it the same as a 1080p60 stream. IOW, instead of having the TV to deinterlace the 1080i signal, the HTPC or HD media box does it. It's sad that even up to date most people don't know much about double-rate deinterlace and its importance, including developers for media players.

The WD HD media player (not the WDTV Live box) I tried couldn't double-rate deinterlace any interlaced material, HD or not. Besides the deinterlace problem, the videos I got choppy playbacks for sure are the Bluray-ripped ISOs (not ripping for further compression but DIRECT rip), native VC1 or not, same result. I think there were other videos that played choppy as well but I couldn't remember which those were, since 1080i materials and Bluray direct rips are 99% of the intended use. Please note that I'm referring to the WD HD media player for these problems. That's why I wonder if the WDTV Live still have these problems.
CHrisCHu is offline  
 
post #34 of 401 (permalink) Old 2009-11-29, 06:25 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 910
Chris,
Do you have the tester video for 1080i ??

LG55LW5000/DenonAVR791/MirageOMD5+Nanosat+MM8/ClearStream2/CM7778+3414
OptomaHD33/YamahaRXV1075/KEF3005/Velo15"
PPL4GOLF is offline  
post #35 of 401 (permalink) Old 2009-11-29, 09:11 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 725
I've uploaded 3 short clips in a zip file here:
http://rapidshare.com/files/31375518...lace_Tests.zip

In there, we have:
CanadaAM_OTA1080i_MP2.mpg
-- straight from OTA (over-the-air) reception. Standard 1920x1080i. Should be deinterlaced to 60 fields per second. Text on the bottom of the screen should scroll smoothly and the letters shouldn't be fuzzy.

GolfHD1080i_MP4.m2ts
-- recorded from Shaw HDDVR box thru' Hauppauge HDPVR box. Standard 1920x1080i. Should be deinterlaced to 60 fields per second. Again, text should scroll smoothly and not fuzzy.

GolfHD720p60_MP4.m2ts
-- same recording as above but in 1280x720p60. No deinterlace required. Any player able to play 60fps video should be able to get this one right. This is for comparison with the above video. The scrolling text should be just as smooth and clear as the above 2 videos. If this one is smoother, then the box can't do double-rate deinterlace properly.

Please set output of the box to 1080p if such option exists.

Thanks for testing.
CHrisCHu is offline  
post #36 of 401 (permalink) Old 2009-11-29, 11:48 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 910
The videos are a little short I have to fiddle to get to the repeat button LOL

Anyways, my LIVE passed with flying colors and everything is butter smooth. Then I proceed to set the WD to output @ 1080i @ 60Hz and my Samsung B530 does a good job de-interlacing as well.

OTOH, my bedroom rig with Radeon 4350 stuttered a little at the beginning but the scrolling text was very clear. I may look at Canada am one morning to see how a longer clip will fair.

I never doubt the video capability the LIVE and this little thingie is indeed a marvel. Networking is still flaky!!

LG55LW5000/DenonAVR791/MirageOMD5+Nanosat+MM8/ClearStream2/CM7778+3414
OptomaHD33/YamahaRXV1075/KEF3005/Velo15"
PPL4GOLF is offline  
post #37 of 401 (permalink) Old 2009-11-30, 12:51 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leduc, AB
Posts: 1,105
Just got this unit and am also impressed. No HD content but can report no problems auto connecting to either drive in my DNS-323 and Win7 PC. (did do the firmware update on install start up)

Question for everyone... how do you get thumbnails of your movie files to appear? As I understand you just put a jpg with the same name in the same folder? I have all my movies as ISO files in one folder on my NAS.. will this still work?

Also, any way to automatically get the thumbnail and movie info automatically? I have XBMC on a few Xboxes and have been spoiled by the seamless automatic IMDB lookup.

Epson EX71, Tosh HD-A2, Denon AVR590, Athena P4100, Infinity P362,C250,P162. RCA L42WD22, Pio VSX1016, Athena LS50
DJDiggler is offline  
post #38 of 401 (permalink) Old 2009-11-30, 03:19 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 725
Quote:
Originally Posted by PPL4GOLF View Post
The videos are a little short I have to fiddle to get to the repeat button LOL
Thanks for testing out the videos. I deliberately cut the videos short for easier download. If you're looking for longer videos, I uploaded 2 more:
http://rapidshare.com/files/31416868...lKreviazuk.mpg (180MB)
http://rapidshare.com/files/314174024/GolfHD1080i.m2ts (41MB)
CHrisCHu is offline  
post #39 of 401 (permalink) Old 2009-12-02, 08:59 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Mont Saint-Hilaire, Québec
Posts: 172
Question Networking improved?

dosborne on 17 November 2009:
Firmware v1.01 is now available for download

I am hoping to get one of these soon, but I would like to know if WD has made any effort to improve the Windows/Samba networking problems noted earlier in this thread.

Has anybody noticed any improvement with networking with the latest WD firmware?

- Jeff Schallenberg
Mont Saint Hilaire, Québec
jschall is offline  
post #40 of 401 (permalink) Old 2009-12-02, 09:11 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 910
I updated as soon as it was available.

It did work well for about a week and then same old dropping off occasionaly while playing something. There are newer problems that the LIVE is not connecting to a SHARE in the first place and sometimes NO MEDIA FOUND.

I am glad I don't have to depend on it in any way; that's also probably why I am lazy and have not installed 3rd party firmware yet.

Seriously, if you're on the fence, do NOT buy (yet) unless you're prepared to troubleshoot or be prepared to install 3rd party which seems to have fixed various problems.

LG55LW5000/DenonAVR791/MirageOMD5+Nanosat+MM8/ClearStream2/CM7778+3414
OptomaHD33/YamahaRXV1075/KEF3005/Velo15"
PPL4GOLF is offline  
post #41 of 401 (permalink) Old 2009-12-02, 10:37 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Westminster
Posts: 1,251
WDTV Live

I am getting this unit later today.
It will save me time, I save shows for my wife to view later and have put them to dvd in doing that loosing some quality too. They are OTA programs.
I will hard wire it and if problems arise then go usb drive until they are worked out.
danbcman is offline  
post #42 of 401 (permalink) Old 2009-12-02, 06:40 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Upconverting media players

I'm thinking of buying a media center for my home entertainment system.....does anyone know if these systems can upconvert div x media to 720p and 1080p? I know they do dvd's which are 420, but I am really only interested in these media players if they can upconvert divx formats.
brian imoe is offline  
post #43 of 401 (permalink) Old 2009-12-02, 07:04 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Grimsby, Ont.
Posts: 3,219
Your television is going to upconvert everything to its native resolution anyway (1080p if it's a 1080p television).

-Mike

Sony XBR65X930D | Denon AVR-X1300W | BELL 9400 | Panasonic DMP-UB900 4K | XBOX One S
scrooloose is online now  
post #44 of 401 (permalink) Old 2009-12-02, 07:17 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Westminster
Posts: 1,251
wdtv today

I got the WDTV HD Live today took 10 mins to setup inc the new firm ware and a little work setting up shares on the computer and boom wife's happily watching NCIS looks great! I am pleased with the ease of setup and the size is nice to tuck away beside Onkyo I hooked up dvi to it and all is great.
danbcman is offline  
post #45 of 401 (permalink) Old 2009-12-02, 09:44 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 910
Quote:
Originally Posted by brian imoe View Post
I'm thinking of buying a media center for my home entertainment system.....does anyone know if these systems can upconvert div x media to 720p and 1080p? I know they do dvd's which are 420, but I am really only interested in these media players if they can upconvert divx formats.
You treat the WDTV as a computer device and set the output resolution to the native resolution of the HDTV (eg 1080p). For 768p set, I'd say use 1080i if it doesn't accept 1080p. The WD upconverts to more than acceptable quality.

You don't set the resolution to 1280x720 to play 720p material and let the HDTV upconvert. Big no-no for LCDs.

LG55LW5000/DenonAVR791/MirageOMD5+Nanosat+MM8/ClearStream2/CM7778+3414
OptomaHD33/YamahaRXV1075/KEF3005/Velo15"
PPL4GOLF is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome