ISF Calibrated Television and HTPC OS Upgrade - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 2009-10-14, 12:48 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 94
ISF Calibrated Television and HTPC OS Upgrade

Hi Folks,

Was wondering if someone could shed some light on a quick question I have. I have to profess that I am not very experienced with HTPCs.

My Vista HTPC is attached to my plasma television set. The setup will be getting an ISF calibration next week.

If I upgrade the OS to Windows 7 when released, would the calibration have to be performed again, or tweaked? Hardware would remain the same.

Actually, now that I think about it, I guess the question would also apply to new video drivers too.

Thanks in advance.
bdgtor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 2009-10-14, 03:02 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,771
Short answer - no, you don't need to worry about updated video drivers.
Make sure the input where the PC is connected gets calibrated, and that's it. Even if future updates to drivers somehow mess the picture, your troubleshooting must always be in the driver settings, not the ISF calibrated parameters of the TV set.
Arthur Dent is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 2009-10-14, 04:04 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,452
I mostly agree with Arthur.

I have seen in the past some driver updates that completely borked the video settings and fixing them in the driver control panel added nasty artifacts so the best option was to readjust the TV.

Since you are moving to Win7 you don't really have an option but there's a reason I am running 4 year old video drivers on my HTPC.

Android rocks!
jvincent is online now  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 2009-10-15, 03:29 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 94
Thanks for the advice folks.

jvincent, I'm actually thinking of keeping the PC at Vista for the time being. I'm not having any issues at all, so I guess there's no real reason for me to change to Windows 7 right away. Or maybe I'll try it out, and if it seems to mess things up, I'll revert back to Vista.

Either way, thanks for the advice, both of you.
bdgtor is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome