Win 7 32 or 64 for Media Center? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 2009-08-13, 06:38 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: GTA, Canada
Posts: 369
Cool Win 7 32 or 64 for Media Center?

I have just finished building a HTPC. I am using it for Media Center exclusively. I have read all the great posts on the improvements in Windows 7 MCE and have decided to make the jump. However, I am trying to decide between using Win 7 32 or 64. I ran Vista 64 MC and it sucked. I had nothing but codec issues getting downloaded video to work. Is that still the case? I would like to use 64 because of the memory and processor I have.

Here are my components for reference:

ASUS M4A78-EM

AMD Phenom X4 9650 Quad Core Processor

450watt Power Supply

2 x 1TB Seagate SATA 7200 32mb cache Drives

4GB DDR2 800mhz Crucial Memory

LG DVD Burner
Haupagge WinTV2250 Tuner Card (Rogers analog cable connected)
(In future Hauppauge HD-PVR)

Any advice or personal expereince appreciated!

Sony Bravia |Bell 9241w/1TB EHD | Rogers Home Phone/Extreme Internet | Sirius Radio | XBOX360,PS3
ilyo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 2009-08-13, 06:41 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,718
If you want to future-proof use the x64
TorontoColin is online now  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 2009-08-13, 08:51 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Milton, ON
Posts: 701
I recently decided try Windows 7 x64 RTM on my primary media center. While my experience was much better than when I did the same with Vista as it relates to drivers and codecs, the overall experience wasn't great. Granted, my hardware's not as beefy as yours - I have a dual-core Athlon and 2GB of RAM. I found that the overall responsiveness of the computer (dedicated to media center) in both native and extender modes to be sluggish. I went back to x86 yesterday, and my media center is back to being snappy again. Based on that experience, I'd recommend x86 for media center.

For the record, I am running Windows 7 x64 on my laptop which has 4GB of RAM, and I'm seeing about the same performance as I did x86 on the same hardware.

That's not definitive I know, but gives you another real-world data point.

Pete
pnear is offline  
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 2009-08-13, 08:59 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 182
Stay with x86

In my experience the OS functions work great in x64, 3rd party apps sometimes behave in strange ways. There are some great 3rd party apps that extend the function of the mediacenter that may not work under x64. You only have 4GB of ram, so your wasting less than 1 GB with x86 anyway.
dajota is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 2009-08-14, 03:45 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 139
You may use x64, with K-lite-codec package 64bit, and the system should work fine. However, configuring the codecs and filters might be difficult if you have no experience.

Another problem is WIN 7 still doesn't support HDTV OTA in Canada. And cracking it seems too difficult. So I would like to suggest you stick with Vista.

If you wanna play movies, XBMC is best choice. No need to configure much, and you may play almost all popular format media files.
lunear is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 2009-08-14, 03:52 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,111
i use win 64 bit without any issues. just set your regoin to the US and the Media center works without any issues.
redzone is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 2009-08-14, 04:08 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by lunear View Post
Another problem is WIN 7 still doesn't support HDTV OTA in Canada. And cracking it seems too difficult. So I would like to suggest you stick with Vista.
Actually, Peter Near's latest method of ATSC in Windows 7 is arguably easier than any previous OS.
TorontoColin is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome