Global-HD Heroes: bars all around - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 37 (permalink) Old 2007-04-24, 11:33 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kanata, ON, Rogers Digital, 8300-HD
Posts: 1,518
Global-HD Heroes: bars all around

I recorded last night's Heroes using the Global-HD feed. Watched it tonight and was letter-and-pillar boxed all around. PQ was also not very good. WTH? Did anyone experience the same? Did anyone record it on the NBC-HD feed -- what was it like? NBC shows it later, so it should not be sim-subbed.
wprager is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 37 (permalink) Old 2007-04-25, 06:45 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,246
NBC was pretty much perfect.

"I've sworn off agnosticism, which I now call cowardly atheism" James Cameron
Mole is offline  
post #3 of 37 (permalink) Old 2007-04-25, 03:18 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Whitby, Bell Fibe TV
Posts: 416
Ya Global sucks. Last night House was in SD, not HD.
kibosh is online now  
post #4 of 37 (permalink) Old 2007-04-25, 05:36 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 61
Does anybody know if it was also this way on BEV.

Just trying to get an idea where to point fingers.
omneon is offline  
post #5 of 37 (permalink) Old 2007-04-25, 05:56 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,267
I would point fingers at Global. The NBC HD West feed on Bell was in HD. Next week record it on the NBC HD feed.
jumpy27 is offline  
post #6 of 37 (permalink) Old 2007-04-25, 09:05 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 1,337
GlobalHD also airs Gilmore Girls in SD for some reason. I've learned to stay away from GlobalHD no matter what!

cheers,
supervij

Athena Audition speakers, Harmony 676, Oppo BDP-83, Rogers 8300HDPVR, Sony 55W900A HDTV, SVS sub, Yamaha RXV750 receiver
supervij is offline  
post #7 of 37 (permalink) Old 2007-04-26, 11:13 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 61
Quote:
I would point fingers at Global. The NBC HD West feed on Bell was in HD. Next week record it on the NBC HD feed
.


The point is, if the program was OK on BEV, then Global is not to blame.
Rodgers should be answering the questions.
omneon is offline  
post #8 of 37 (permalink) Old 2007-04-26, 11:48 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,432
The OP was recording Global. What has this got to do with Rogers? I could understand if a simsub were screwed up, but that was not the case here.

Global aired the programme improperly (apparently) and NBC aired it correctly.

Except for Fox 531 which has known issues and Jeopardy on CTV, which they show in HD while the ABC affiliates we get do not, I see no reason not to record the "originating" channel.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #9 of 37 (permalink) Old 2007-04-26, 03:18 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 61
Quote:
Does anybody know if it was also this way on BEV.

Just trying to get an idea where to point fingers.

I guess this question was too difficult, it's easier to just assume where the fault is, as to dig for details.

thanks anyway
omneon is offline  
post #10 of 37 (permalink) Old 2007-04-27, 07:34 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 115
yeah it was the same on bev
romstah is offline  
post #11 of 37 (permalink) Old 2007-04-27, 01:31 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: West Vancouver
Posts: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by 57 View Post
Except for Fox 531 which has known issues and Jeopardy on CTV, which they show in HD while the ABC affiliates we get do not, I see no reason not to record the "originating" channel.
In cases where you cannot avoid a simsub (by time-shifting or whatever), might it sometimes be better to record the Canadian channel rather than the originating channel, in order to avoid the glitches caused when the cableco/satco switches the simsub in and out? For at least one PVR (BEV 9200), those glitches sometimes cause problems with playback of recorded shows.
Stan Dev is offline  
post #12 of 37 (permalink) Old 2007-04-27, 02:06 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,432
Stan Dev, you could be correct. This is especially true if you "know" that the Canadian channel is "OK most of the time". However, if your experience is the opposite, then my suggestion stands.

Each programme seems to have its own unique history and only you can gauge what is the best approach - currently if you've got the timeshifts, that's usually the best approach.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #13 of 37 (permalink) Old 2007-04-27, 04:04 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,752
Quote:
Originally Posted by omneon View Post
The point is, if the program was OK on BEV, then Global is not to blame.
Rodgers should be answering the questions.
Uh, remember that Global has "difficulty" airing non-simsub HD. Well, they have problems with HD period...I'll try to stay on topic though. If a program is airing on either an East or West coast US HD feed at the same time Global airs it, Global is "OK" (well, they downgrade the HD quality, but that's a different problem). If Global is airing it at a time that's off by even a few minutes from both the East and West US feeds, they've consistently been unable broadcast it in HD. Several threads on this problem (e.g. American Idol going a few minutes over means that House starts late...it's HD on Fox, but not on Global).

The original poster indicated this was not a simsub situation, so it's entirely plausible the problem originated with Global. More than likely in fact.

To avoid these problems in the future, the number one rule is to avoid Global HD. Given their aggressiveness pushing simsubs, that's not as easy as it sounds.
oilblue is offline  
post #14 of 37 (permalink) Old 2007-04-29, 09:26 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Stoney Creek
Posts: 674
Only part of the program was pillarboxed, I remeber it switching to HD part way through.

I would record Heros on NBC HD except for the fact that american nets always dragout the show & my recordings end up cutting out anwhere between a couple seconds up to a minute or two. I would modify the PVR to record longer but that isn't possible with all the other shows I have recording.

When ever I rec on the CDN net it never cuts off.
tat2 is offline  
post #15 of 37 (permalink) Old 2007-04-30, 08:26 AM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kanata, ON, Rogers Digital, 8300-HD
Posts: 1,518
Last year the Canadian feeds were always 60 minutes, but then they changed and the programs now run the same 62-65 minutes. Until Rogers(TVGuide Canada EPG data)/SA(PVR software) fix the problem we will continue having issues. I hate setting up recording weekly, but that seems to be the only workaround available.

Really, how difficult is it to provide padding? Add x minutes before or after the "advertized" start/stop times? Don't try to fix the times, just add two more variables for each recording to start earlier and/or end later than the time shown in the EPG. It's just software.
wprager is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome