ABC New Year Not In Hd!!!! - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 2006-01-01, 12:03 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 239
ABC New Year Not In Hd!!!!

New Years Eve on ABC!

From 8 to 1130pm it was, then it switched from New York to Buffalo in SD and showed Joe and Jane butt-head from buffalo talking about nothing. What the hell is this? My IPG says Live from New York, Dick Clark in HD and my buddy in Windsor is watching it on HDABC on DTV why can't we? Why are we stuck with stupid Buffalo. I don't care about buffalo, people don't gather from all over the world to go to buffalo.
penguin44 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 2006-01-01, 12:09 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 8642HD
Posts: 442
Yes, another "benefit" of losing Detroit HD. We get Buffalo's New Year's non-Rockin' Eve live from Rosevelt square, in glorious crap-o-vision, instead of Dick Clark in his first appearance in more than a year, in HD. I guess I can time-shift new year's eve, oh, wait, that kind of defeats the purpose. Idiots in Buffalo.
marvin23 is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 2006-01-01, 02:58 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,474
I tuned in after midnight (around 12:30) and it was HD, but not DD5.1...

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 2006-01-05, 08:14 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 239
Yeah, they went back to New York around then 12:15 I think. Defeats the purpose of the entire thing. Oh yeah, and with Buffalo I got to see them swear in their new mayor. Woo hoo.


I email Rogers about this and their answer was (paraphrasing) Too Bad.

The actual responce was something like, Stations like ABC and others are entitled to have a variety of programming on their station and if they so choose to change it at the last moment, that is their call not ours (rogers).


Nice reply.
penguin44 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome