TMN-HD - Major Macroblocking - Page 4 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #46 of 90 (permalink) Old 2005-02-10, 10:04 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 10,415
Thought I'd bring this thread back to life after watching Driven on CityTV last week. Picture was superb and there was VERY little visible macroblocking despite the nature of the film and it's editing style. This is the way it CAN and SHOULD be done on TMN.
JohnnyG is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #47 of 90 (permalink) Old 2005-02-11, 05:36 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 74
Have you noticed the macroblocking issue on HD PPV channels too?

I watched Hero and it looked really bad. Lots of quick movement and bright saturated and contrasting colours in this movie really put the macroblocking on a silver platter to enjoy in its full delapitated glory. My wife and I aren't sure if we ever want to watch a movie on HD-PPV again.

I'm checking with other people who get HD movies in the US to see if they have the same issues and I'm asking what receivers they use. I assume its a limitation of the mpeg compression but I'll be pissed if others get to see HD movies without it.
Wayde is offline  
post #48 of 90 (permalink) Old 2005-02-11, 06:20 PM Thread Starter
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,486
Perfect Husband had a lot of macroblocking after some "flashes" (photographer flashes) the type of stuff dialog_gvf talks about.

Also had a fair bit on another couple of movies I watched last week - can't remember which ones, they didn't even have a lot of action, but there was macroblocking...

I wish I'd never noticed. It's all padlock's fault - he started that Kill Bill thread...

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #49 of 90 (permalink) Old 2005-02-12, 12:52 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 10,415
Quote:
Originally Posted by 57
I wish I'd never noticed
I'm sure you would have anyway, as it's plainly obvious! It was NOT always like this though.
JohnnyG is offline  
post #50 of 90 (permalink) Old 2005-02-13, 06:30 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by 57
I wish I'd never noticed. It's all padlock's fault - he started that Kill Bill thread...
Sorry about that, I didn't mean to ruin anyones experience.

On the plus side, the more people notice, the more people complain, the more likely they are to do something about it.

Speaking of which, I don't for a second buy the argument that 19.2 Mbps is not enough for high quality HDTV. Anyone who's seen an HD movie on CBS, (or even one of the regular shows like CSI) knows how spectacular HDTV can look, even with lots of motion on the screen.
padlock is offline  
post #51 of 90 (permalink) Old 2005-02-13, 06:43 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 72
There are also people in the U.S. experiencing these problems on their HD movie channels. A poster on AVS Forum asked about the D-Theatre tape of The Rundown to see if it had the picture problems during the opening nightclub scenes that were present on his copy taped from one of the movie services. He described exactly the same problems we are seeing here.

P.S. The D-Theatre Rundown is free of artifacts.
bobbyhollywood is online now  
post #52 of 90 (permalink) Old 2005-02-14, 03:13 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 74
Who should we complain to? Rogers? PPV?
Wayde is offline  
post #53 of 90 (permalink) Old 2005-02-14, 03:17 PM Thread Starter
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,486
TMN are aware of it - read the earlier parts of this thread.

If you wish, send an e-mail to Rogers, but realize that there's probably not much they're going to do - don't waste the technician's time coming to your house, that's not going to change anything.

See the following post.

http://www.digitalhomecanada.com/for...2&postcount=43

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #54 of 90 (permalink) Old 2005-06-04, 11:25 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 24
I tell you the artifacting on SpiderMan II tonight on HD just plain sucked.....
It even froze on a couple of action scenes.

This sucks. What's the point of having HD when the artifacting is so severe.
macdoc is offline  
post #55 of 90 (permalink) Old 2005-08-20, 04:32 PM Thread Starter
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,486
As was noted in another thread, TMN has increased their bandwidth on all cable systems.

All NEW movies/programmes will be encoded with the higher bitrates, so we should see improvements there.

Older movies/programmes will be re-encoded as time permits, but may take some time, so be aware of possible differences between new/old movies/programmes.

I have been travelling since July 13, so I won't be able to comment personnally for some time (after I've recorded some TMN stuff). (my HDD is almost full due to my absence, so I need to clear some room first)

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #56 of 90 (permalink) Old 2005-08-23, 09:10 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 211
Good news, 57, but it didn't show on the Six Feet Under finale on either Sunday or Monday night. Some parts stuttered along like they were in slow motion. Any idea what happened there?

John
urbanlegend is offline  
post #57 of 90 (permalink) Old 2005-08-24, 08:23 AM Thread Starter
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,486
The stuttering is a separate issue, that may have been created during the encoding process. Notify TMN and they may reencode the show, but it's likely too late for most people...

I watched "Sky Captain" the other night (I know, don't ask why). Although the movie had a bit of a "fuzzy, cartoonish" image, the explosions and "dog fights" had a lot less macroblocking than we have seen in previous movies. I'd say the higher bitrate is working, although I've only seen this one new movie.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #58 of 90 (permalink) Old 2005-08-24, 12:22 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincoln.NB Pop 492,823
Posts: 6,050
LAst Wednesday, the Sopranos had stuttering effect. I hope tonights episode isn't as bad...

Home Theatre: Yamaha HTR-6190, Klipsch Speakers, SANYO PLV-Z4, TOSHIBA HDDVD, LG BD555C, Cerwin Vega HTS12 Sub, VIP2300, XBox 360, HTPC.
Danster is offline  
post #59 of 90 (permalink) Old 2005-08-24, 01:26 PM Thread Starter
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,486
If there are more reports of (new) stuttering, I'll report it to my contact. I'll try to record a few more programmes myself - I've got a few movies that I will watch, but I've still got catching up to do from my various trips.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #60 of 90 (permalink) Old 2005-08-25, 07:19 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincoln.NB Pop 492,823
Posts: 6,050
Last night, the first show (Sopranos) was ok. I pvr'd the second one but I would guess they were alright.

Home Theatre: Yamaha HTR-6190, Klipsch Speakers, SANYO PLV-Z4, TOSHIBA HDDVD, LG BD555C, Cerwin Vega HTS12 Sub, VIP2300, XBox 360, HTPC.
Danster is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome