Stephen Colbert and Jon Stewart to go HD in 2010 - Page 5 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #61 of 82 (permalink) Old 2010-02-15, 09:40 PM
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Capital of the Great White North
Posts: 254
With the Olympics, we will only get SD for the duration on Comedy Network and A. Kinda sucks with Colbert doing live shows in Canada.
Shiningblade is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 82 (permalink) Old 2010-02-15, 09:57 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Halifax, NS
Posts: 202
Quote:
I really wish that more of the talking heads shows would remain SD.
This comment baffles me. I want every show I watch to be HD. Who wants SD content? Haha. Wow.

Haven't watched either of these shows in a bit. Going to tune in next time and see how they look!

Panasonic 42PZ85 + Eastlink - iPhone 4 32gb - MacBook Pro 15.4 Hi-Res 2.2 i7 8gb 500gb + iMac 27 3.4 i7 12gb 1tb
okcomputer is offline  
post #63 of 82 (permalink) Old 2010-02-16, 05:59 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,246
I will qualify the statement, the talking head shows should be the last ones to Go HD.

Generally I only listen to them with my back turned to the TV and I record them, so the SD does the job and takes a smaller bite from the PVR. Once every show that is more visually varied is HD then the talking head shows should go, either way it is a minor concern at best.

"I've sworn off agnosticism, which I now call cowardly atheism" James Cameron
Mole is offline  
post #64 of 82 (permalink) Old 2010-02-17, 06:47 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,056
Are new episodes actually airing these days? I'd recorded a couple from comedy central and they were re-runs.
Neild is offline  
post #65 of 82 (permalink) Old 2010-02-17, 07:29 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 4,808
CN had reruns the last 2 nights
DSgamby is online now  
post #66 of 82 (permalink) Old 2010-02-18, 12:09 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,323
I believe his website says new episodes on the 22nd. With the olympics, only in SD, so I've set my PVR for early morning of the 23rd on Comedy.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #67 of 82 (permalink) Old 2010-02-23, 02:39 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Calgary, Shaw Digital HD Plus, 3416 & Expander
Posts: 6,315
It's on and he's in Van. Its great.
JesseJ is offline  
post #68 of 82 (permalink) Old 2010-03-02, 09:45 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,323
So, Colbert's back on CTV-HD, but not in HD. Did CTV forget how to do his programme in HD in two weeks?

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #69 of 82 (permalink) Old 2010-03-02, 10:04 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 796
I noticed it was in SD again on CTV HD. Is it really that difficult to get the feed right?

Bill
My blog
blueroomelectro is offline  
post #70 of 82 (permalink) Old 2010-03-03, 09:30 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,323
Back to HD. Good to see.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #71 of 82 (permalink) Old 2010-03-03, 02:07 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, ON Rogers/OTA
Posts: 135
I really wish that CTV would shift their opaque bug slightly to the left so that the Comedy Central bug doesn't peak through. I've emailed them multiple times on this issue and they don't seem to care. I know it's a small point, but to me it shows a blatant disregard to presentation detail. To make it worse, anyone wathcing on the SD feed of CTV is treated to left third of the bug, with the rest cut off.
scottyb123 is offline  
post #72 of 82 (permalink) Old 2010-03-10, 02:44 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 3,726
How difficult is it …

On CFCN-DT over the air tonight, Daily Show in HD; Colbert Report in SD.
downbeat is offline  
post #73 of 82 (permalink) Old 2010-03-16, 05:50 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,056
Quote:
Originally Posted by downbeat View Post
On CFCN-DT over the air tonight, Daily Show in HD; Colbert Report in SD.
Wonder if the CTV brass will try and pin these gaffes on Viacom again?
Neild is offline  
post #74 of 82 (permalink) Old 2010-07-08, 02:16 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 3,726
Only SD at the moment for Jon Stewart

Someone asleep at the switch again? Up until the first commercial break for the Daily Show, the program was presented in SD, at least for CTV HD viewers in Calgary. Back to HD after the break. At least someone fixed it.
downbeat is offline  
post #75 of 82 (permalink) Old 2010-08-19, 09:57 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,323
Due to some potential scheduling conflicts, I've been recording Colbert on CTV-HD Vancouver recently (Rogers 581). Anyone else notice that the programme is DD1.0 (center channel only) on Vancouver? It's DD5.1 on Toronto. Due to the type of programme (mostly dialogue) it doesn't matter much, I just found it weird.

Edit - recorded several other programmes on CTV-HD Vancouver and all were DD1.0. I have contacted their engineering department via e-mail from their website.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Reply

Tags
colbert , ctv , daily show , hd programming

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome