TCM HD Blackout - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 91 (permalink) Old 2009-12-25, 08:54 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,994
I'm pretty sure they air movies outside of that collection as well which they may have to purchase Canadian rights for.
thenewdc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 91 (permalink) Old 2009-12-28, 08:56 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Barrie (Innisfil)
Posts: 280
A couple more blackouts tonight and one tomorrow evening.

Travis
Trad2005 is offline  
post #18 of 91 (permalink) Old 2010-01-02, 02:40 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Rogers Cable, Scarborough, Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,406
I just checked TCM HD for Satuday, Jan 2 and 3pm-5pm blakcout is in effect then at 5pm Programming is available'

On SD TCM there is programming at 3-5.

Rogers Digtal Cable,PVR8642HD/PVR8000, VIP ULTIMATE+TMN Playboy, Hustler, Super , WWE 24/7, BELL TV 9241PVRHD,
SMCKINNON24 is offline  
post #19 of 91 (permalink) Old 2010-01-02, 08:03 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 6,526
I wish they'd get this straightened out. This, along with the letterbox 16:9 shows on History HD, we're got getting the HD content we're paying for .
JamesK is offline  
post #20 of 91 (permalink) Old 2010-01-02, 02:37 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Thornhill Ontario
Posts: 108
U.S program in 3-5 slot is different from the Canadian progremme. We probable only get TCM HD when the programmes are the same. If you are receiving History HD on 561 you are fortunate. I only get a BLACK screen & no programme!
ruben308 is offline  
post #21 of 91 (permalink) Old 2010-01-02, 04:25 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 80
TCM HD Blacked Out??? WTH???

Tuned to 1283 today to see what was on and got the message that the channel is blacked out. Something about not having broadcast rights in Canada.
The regular channel 292 is still available.
Lorenzo1000 is offline  
post #22 of 91 (permalink) Old 2010-01-02, 04:58 PM
DT1
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 379
I could be wrong, but here is my best guess...

Some movie studios purchase the rights to a movie so they can re-master it and release it. The new movie studio owns the rights to the re-mastered movie but the old studio retains the rights to the original.

The re-mastered movie would be the one shown on the HD channel. In the U.S. TCM has got the rights to show the original & re-mastered versions, in Canada for some they only have the rights to the original.

But that is just a my guess.
DT1 is offline  
post #23 of 91 (permalink) Old 2010-01-02, 05:48 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,392
Threads merged, moved to correct forum, nothing to do with provider.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #24 of 91 (permalink) Old 2010-01-02, 09:06 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,771
It is my guess that Treasure HD, Rush HD and Equator HD are the "guilty" channels which have snapped the Canadian HD rights for the blacked out movies on TCM HD.
Arthur Dent is offline  
post #25 of 91 (permalink) Old 2010-01-03, 08:46 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 290
... if that's the case, they are not guilty at all. The three channels mentioned put out a high-quality product and deserve to have their rights protected if they are airing the same movies. Oasis HD in particular is a standby of mine if nothing else is on.. and I am certainly looking forward to their Parks Canada series which starts this week.
tofinoguy is online now  
post #26 of 91 (permalink) Old 2010-01-19, 10:20 PM
MD
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 101
TCM-HD -"Blackout in effect" - what?

So, I was about to watch A SHOT IN THE DARK on TCM-HD, very excited to see this early Sellers gem in high def, when the channel suddenly blacked out. The channel guide for TCM-HD now lists "blackout in effect" in place of A SHOT IN THE DARK. What's the deal with this, and how frequently does it happen??

Last edited by 57; 2010-01-19 at 11:48 PM. Reason: Moved to existing thread, nothing to do with Bell.
MD is offline  
post #27 of 91 (permalink) Old 2010-01-19, 10:47 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Russell, Ontario
Posts: 307
Likely: Some Canadian network has the exclusive rights to show that film, so TCM is blacked out.

This also used to happen with James Bond movie marathons on Superstation.
MaxHeadroom is offline  
post #28 of 91 (permalink) Old 2010-01-19, 10:48 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 141
I saw one of these on Rogers last weekend and then when I went back a few minutes later the movie was on and I checked and it had a full description. What could they possibly black out from a station thats shows nothing newer than 50 years?
gabagoo is offline  
post #29 of 91 (permalink) Old 2010-01-19, 10:55 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Probably on TCM in SD.
Pinza is offline  
post #30 of 91 (permalink) Old 2010-01-19, 11:50 PM
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 204
TCM SD used to occasionally not show a film listed on its US schedule in Canada e.g. Rebecca, Klute, They Shoot Horses Don't They...
They wouldn't post a blackout screen, they'd just show another film. Has to be licensing rights, which probably also explains why there is a Canadian TCM schedule that is almost, but not quite, the same as the USA one http://www.tcm.com/schedule/index.js...zone=EST&cid=N
thegiffer is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome