Your download/ upload speeds, Price (no bundling), Provider (Test Links In Here) - Page 33 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #481 of 559 (permalink) Old 2011-09-14, 05:56 PM
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Longueuil
Posts: 784
Hi. I'm with Videotron near Montreal and with the TGV60 service, I hit an average of 62 Mbps down and 3.0 upstream. At 94.72$ a month, this thing better rock although you'll agree with me that upstream could be somewhat speedier in this day and age!
John Koenig is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #482 of 559 (permalink) Old 2011-09-15, 06:49 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 392


Shaw Extreme (25/2.5) in Calgary. Don't know why, but only on Linux I can get this result. On Windows 7 I get around 20-22 down.

In HD, even the commercials are enjoyable!
DIGITALEight is offline  
post #483 of 559 (permalink) Old 2011-09-15, 07:33 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Cape Breton, NS
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Canoehead
Use www.testmy.net.

The ISP's pay speedtest so it looks like you get great numbers.

.
The results are not accurate. I am actually getting near what my ISP advertises (39 Mbps vice 5.7 with testmy) because I can see current DL speeds with my binary news reader.

and here is the speed test results again:


That about 5 MB/s for the test, and 4.7 MB/sec sustained download speed with a news reader, and I am not even sure is the news reader or server is getting bottle necked at all since I can only have 10 connections...
I would say testmy is a poor choice of testing ISPs as it is not even close to what actual speeds really are (for me anyways)

47LG55|RX-V565|HD DVR|PS3|Wii|3XEnergy Take FPS|2 VS|2 X LCR|DIY SDX-12|DIY Trio12
RC-70x2|RX-V863|MA RS-w12 Sub
caper_26 is offline  
post #484 of 559 (permalink) Old 2011-09-24, 06:17 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Burlington, ON
Posts: 28
Bell Fibe 25 (25Mbit/sec down, 7Mbit/sec up):

zedsdead is offline  
post #485 of 559 (permalink) Old 2011-09-24, 10:09 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Paradise
Posts: 27
http://www.speedtest.bellaliant.net go here to get a true reading on your fiber speeds.
Scratch is offline  
post #486 of 559 (permalink) Old 2011-09-30, 11:28 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
New TekSavvy customer

My TekSavvy Extreme Cable connection was activated today in Markham and I couldn't be happier! Although advertised at 15Mb/s (compared to Rogers at 12MB/s), I'm getting actual throughput of 17Mb/s down compared to 9Mb/s down from Rogers. Add that to a cap of 300GB/mo, no traffic shaping, and $10 cheaper! Farewell, Rogers!

rpm1 is offline  
post #487 of 559 (permalink) Old 2011-11-03, 02:29 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 136
Cool Slow speeds?

Ugh I am on Telus Optik.....my download speed is 13.95 Mb/s.......slow? Should it be faster?

Upload speed is 0.69 Mb/s.


Speedtest says I rate a "C" Nationally and Globally.
aeroplane is offline  
post #488 of 559 (permalink) Old 2011-11-05, 12:02 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 326
Moved from Teksavvy DSL to Cogeco this week. Big improvement in service and speeds.



On the T20 package (20M down/ 1.5M up). Have been getting these speeds (sustained). Also, I have the IP Phone package on the same modem.
manyoo99 is offline  
post #489 of 559 (permalink) Old 2012-01-25, 12:53 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 816
Telus High Speed ?


Telus High Speed Turbo
North Vancouver, BC
$44, 15MB download, 1MB upload

2010 Shaw Extreme

2009 Shaw High Speed

Samsung LN40A550, Asus A8N SLI, Athlon 64 X2 3800, XFX HD One 5450, 2 Hauppauge HVR-2250, LG BH10LS30 Blu-ray, Windows 7
Michael DeAbreu is offline  
post #490 of 559 (permalink) Old 2012-02-18, 09:03 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 6
New with teksavvy cable internet 43mb/s dl 1mb/s ul. $61 per month unlimited. should of switched from robbers long time ago.


Dondan is offline  
post #491 of 559 (permalink) Old 2012-04-23, 01:39 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 848
Switched from Bell 4Mb unlimited to Teksavvy 12Mb unlimited today. I live in downtown Toronto in a five year old condo. With Bell we were getting max speeds. With Teksavvy it's less than max.



Is this normal?

TP-Link 8816 ADSL2 modem. Latest firmware.
reddwarf is offline  
post #492 of 559 (permalink) Old 2012-05-02, 11:15 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Saint-Jean-Sur-Richelieu
Posts: 34
Maybe your line is not able to handle more than ~ 10mbps. You can ask TSI what is your line stat, or you could get your line stat yourself.

The modem you have is not supported on the best tool: DMT Tool, but you can use OrbMT to get basic line stat

you can find the software there:
http://blog.orbmu2k.de/tools/orbmt-m...sidebar-gadget

The software is in English and it will give your your maximum attainable line speed (RCO). If you are close to 100% there's nothing you can do about it except try to clean your internal wire.

hope this help

My New Connection:
vitesse is offline  
post #493 of 559 (permalink) Old 2012-05-02, 11:48 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,314
On Rogers Ultimate - advertised as 75/2 (a bit of speedburst going on?)
Wayne is offline  
post #494 of 559 (permalink) Old 2012-05-03, 12:03 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Saint-Jean-Sur-Richelieu
Posts: 34
Yes Rogers is using Speedburst Technology.
vitesse is offline  
post #495 of 559 (permalink) Old 2012-05-07, 01:35 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 848
Quote:
Originally Posted by vitesse View Post
Maybe your line is not able to handle more than ~ 10mbps. You can ask TSI what is your line stat, or you could get your line stat yourself.
Got some help from TSI tech Martin. Turns out I didn't disconnect all phones (went dry loop.) There was one left that was still plugged in with a filter. Once that was gone the download speed went up to about 10.50Mbps which is in the ballpark of my expectations.
reddwarf is offline  
Reply

Tags
internet , isp , ottawa , speed

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome