Forget 25, 50, or 170mbps, try 1 Gb internet! - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 2010-12-05, 08:21 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 543
Talking Forget 25, 50, or 170mbps, try 1 Gb internet!

The max speeds above are for Bell, Rogers, and BellAliant respectively, but BT Group in the UK is now testing 1 Gb internet

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-11911478

Your thoughts?
Fry1989 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 2010-12-05, 08:49 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: North York
Posts: 1,870
Use up your monthly bandwidth allowance in less than 15 minutes. Wheee!
NeilN is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 2010-12-05, 09:57 PM
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Maple Ridge BC
Posts: 1,087
I talked to shaw when I upgraded to warp, they are currently testing 1 GB,

Media Room: Panasonic 65", 7.1 Klipsch, Onkyo TX-NR626, Xbox One/360, Alienware Alpha, Gateway, HDPVR, PS3, 42" Samsung
Steve604 is online now  
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 2010-12-06, 02:13 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 1,103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve604 View Post
I talked to shaw when I upgraded to warp, they are currently testing 1 GB,
... but you know Canadian providers will slap the cap on FAST.

I'm so glad my ISP doesn't have/enforce their caps... yet. I'd take slower speed for no ceiling, to be honest.
Mozza is online now  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 2010-12-06, 02:45 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Stone's throw from the Parliament
Posts: 219
I believe Soho West houses in Kanata are equipped with FTTH. Just not sure what speeds they're getting.
lex_rx is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 2010-12-06, 04:33 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 543
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeilN View Post
Use up your monthly bandwidth allowance in less than 15 minutes. Wheee!
HA!

IDK if they have Caps in the UK, they don't in the US, yet. Personally, IDK why you'd need net THAT fast. As for Shaw, that's interesting, if true.
Fry1989 is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 2010-12-07, 12:00 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 3,767
That's not true, many ISP's in the US have caps, they are just A LOT more reasonable then in Canada. For example I have friends that have caps on Comcast. I believe they are at least 250GB+ a month though.

Here the ISP's design their packages to maximize the amount of people that will go over and scare them into purchasing "assurance" policies (aka extra bandwidth). And the best part is, many people fall for it.
bigoranget is online now  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 2010-12-07, 12:21 AM
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Maple Ridge BC
Posts: 1,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mozza View Post
... but you know Canadian providers will slap the cap on FAST.

I'm so glad my ISP doesn't have/enforce their caps... yet. I'd take slower speed for no ceiling, to be honest.
I've never had my cap enforced,
I often double my cap, shaw is pretty lenient

Media Room: Panasonic 65", 7.1 Klipsch, Onkyo TX-NR626, Xbox One/360, Alienware Alpha, Gateway, HDPVR, PS3, 42" Samsung
Steve604 is online now  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 2010-12-07, 09:29 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: N.B.
Posts: 201
How much does bandwidth cost for ISPs these days? Pennies on the dollar? Whatever, it isn't much and these caps have turned into cash cows for them. No way they ever do away with them. I'm sure if they thought of it back then, they would have put caps on dial-up services.
Kramer is online now  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 2010-12-07, 10:36 AM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
No reason why FibreOP couldn't eventually deliver those types of speeds.
hugh is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 2010-12-07, 12:13 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 24,353
Full 1 Gbps likely not possible with home gear yet

1Gbps bandwidth would only be good if your home devices could actually use it. Don't mistake a Gigabit ethernet device for one capable of through-putting 1Gbps (the ethernet 1000TX/SX spec limits it to between 60-80% of that at the best of times).

So, until the new crop of 10Gbps ethernet devices hit the market and you upgrade all your NICs, routers, etc. you need to calculate whether 600-800Mbps is even possible with your home gear, let alone whether it is worth the money for such a plan. A true networking geek would bond two Gigabit ethernet devices to use up such a connection's full speed potential.

Is it worth it today? Maybe so, most likely not. In the future? Sign me up!!!
stampeder is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 2010-12-07, 02:36 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 543
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve604 View Post
I've never had my cap enforced,
I often double my cap, shaw is pretty lenient
Looks like I may be switching to Shaw then
Fry1989 is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 2010-12-07, 02:41 PM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
FWIW, Shaw is clamping down. If you wish to discuss see this thread

Shaw bandwidth cap overage charges
hugh is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome