Looking for "new" AM/FM tuner....best options? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By geode
  • 1 Post By vmpv

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 2017-01-15, 10:19 PM Thread Starter
Veteran

Looking for "new" AM/FM tuner....best options?

I'm considering getting something with a good AM/FM tuner for home use, and am curious what my best options might be. Right now, my main radio is just my Onkyo home theatre system, but the tuner in it is fairly crappy (as is often the case in modern receivers, where the tuner section is simply an afterthought).

While an ideal setup would be to track down a Sony XDR-F1HD, the price for a used one on eBay really isn't worth it for me. As such, I've been tossing around a few ideas:

- Tracking down an older HiFi receiver/tuner and hoping it still works well (I'm not good with resoldering caps and such.

- Seeing if there's any current modern AVR with a good/excellent tuner section.

- Finding an old car stereo with good AM/FM reception and hooking up speakers and a PSU/battery to it. I know car units tend to have excellent reception.

Obviously the second one would mean I would simply upgrade my home theatre system (which is in the cards at some point as my current setup only accepts a passive subwoofer), but the other ideas could work if I listened to the radio in a different room (as they would be separate from my main system).

Any suggestions?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 2017-01-16, 09:44 AM

I found most receivers are pretty decent these days - I have lower end Sony Bookshelf systems all over my house.

What I find does an excellent job is having a good antenna setup - I would suggest researching what antenna options you would be able to use and setup in your home, and go from there. An external antenna with about 3-5' of cable will change reception significantly, even on low end receivers.