What! - Walter Gretzky, Steve Nash named to Order of Canada - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 2007-12-29, 12:26 PM Thread Starter
Member #1

What! - Walter Gretzky, Steve Nash named to Order of Canada

The man who first taught Wayne Gretzky how to play hockey is among 61 people who were named to the Order of Canada on Friday.

I'm sorry but Walter Gretzky, the order of Canada??
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 2007-12-29, 12:30 PM
Digital Sage

Hamitons Clara Hughes also received a similiar medal. Front page of todays paper. Rather ammused at this when I read it.
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 2007-12-29, 12:39 PM
Veteran

I want one too - and I'll my kids are all still in Canada.

I'm a sleep expert.
post #4 of 24 (permalink) Old 2007-12-29, 12:42 PM

I don't know the extent of Walter Gretzky's charitable work, but assuming it's significant, that's as good a reason as any to get the Order of Canada.
post #5 of 24 (permalink) Old 2007-12-29, 12:43 PM
Digital Sage

Oh, who exactly is Steve Nash anyway?
post #6 of 24 (permalink) Old 2007-12-29, 12:48 PM
Veteran

Quote:
I don't know the extent of Walter Gretzky's charitable work, but assuming it's significant, that's as good a reason as any to get the Order of Canada.
My response was meant to be tongye-in-cheek, but I agree, Walter was instrumental in not just Waynes hockey career, but he's been somewhat of a presence as a Canadian citizen as well.

I'm a sleep expert.
post #7 of 24 (permalink) Old 2007-12-29, 02:34 PM

Walter does charitable work all over North America. He is very prominent with CNIB and other charities.

Steve Nash is one of the most popular Canadian Athletes that goes very under recognized here in Canada. He won the MVP in the NBA 2 years in a row I believe. He also does tons of charity work and is basically leader in basketball for Canadians to look up to.