CLOSED — Shaw Gateway: Code Update 7.0.3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 408 (permalink) Old 2012-06-05, 11:49 AM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 2x Harmony One
Posts: 3,592
CLOSED — Shaw Gateway: Code Update 7.0.3

This will be the place to discuss all things generally Gateway once everyone is updated to this new code. I received it last night and will now have to play with it to see what we got.

=====

OTHER USEFUL THREADS

Fixes & issues
If you're having a problem with the Shaw Gateway, please see if it has already been reported before posting. (This is a running list. Not a discussion thread.)
http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/show....php?p=1324303

Adding external drives
Shaw Gateway: Adding External Drives

Wait times for Gateway support
Long wait times waiting for Gateway support

Installation and setup
Shaw Gateway: Installation and setup discussion

Programming universal Harmony remote for use with Gateway
http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/show....php?p=1331570

If you can then do rather than not. You're your own worst enemy. They're parking their car over there.

Last edited by downbeat; 2012-06-07 at 02:58 AM. Reason: Made thread sticky; added helpful links
Jetranger is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 408 (permalink) Old 2012-06-05, 03:26 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 2x Harmony One
Posts: 3,592
First observations of this new code: Still have an issue with not playing recordings the first time you try and the new grid guide only removes 44% of the info that used to be there (how can that be better?).

Kind of sad that the first things I notice are 'negatives' rather than 'fixes'. So far I haven't found anything good but I have only been playing with it for a short time. I really want to be positive, honest.

If you can then do rather than not. You're your own worst enemy. They're parking their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
post #3 of 408 (permalink) Old 2012-06-05, 03:42 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Calgary, AB ShawGateway & 3 Portals, Shaw 1TB Expander, Sony 3D KDL-46HX729, HTSF470, 2 BDPS580
Posts: 165
I had a quick try and notice that the grid/guide seems faster. Maybe that's only because they reduced the number of rows on the screen!
sailorickm is offline  
post #4 of 408 (permalink) Old 2012-06-05, 07:31 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Port Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 25
That's funny because I noticed that it took longer for the guide to appear for me.

I'll hit guide, the screen shows up, but it takes another second or so before the grid fills in. I'm waiting to see what happens after the Shaw tech comes out to check my levels and such tomorrow to see if it continues to be a problem.

Apart from that, I haven't had a chance to really use the gateway so I can't say much else at this point.
dimensionzero is offline  
post #5 of 408 (permalink) Old 2012-06-05, 08:35 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chilliwack Mountain, Shaw Gateway & 3 Portals, Samsung UN60D8000, BenQ HDDLP, Denon AVR-1712
Posts: 326
I actually forgot to check my version this morning, I have been running on new code all day and the system appears to be stable and reactive to inputs. Not much to report on any visual change, all seems the same (no added features), I do not use the updated guide so not much there for me. I did try it and yes it took a few seconds before the guide loaded just a blue screen for 3-4 seconds.

Retired, Gateway fan, motorcycle is insured, time to get away from the TV!
Reboot is offline  
post #6 of 408 (permalink) Old 2012-06-05, 09:10 PM
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: AB. LG47"LE5500/Toshiba 32E200U /BDC6500/ Shaw Gateway
Posts: 942
Best way to tell if you have the update is that the Grid Guide changed to display 5 channels at a time from 6 channels. This was due to lots of feedback in part, that the fonts were small. By removing an extra line, the icons and font was increased in size allowing for better reading so much easier on the eyes.

Personally, I found it best when checking the grid guide out after an update to cycle through all the channels eg. keeping finger pressed up, until you come back to the original channel. From there on out the browsing seemed speedier to me. Same with a list in a VOD menu.

Remember the update is done in batches this week, so area by area. Previous to this week there was also a firmware update to the modem inside that was not impacting that happened behind the scenes towards end of last week

Shaw Employee, Opinions are my own unless otherwise stated.
Shaw Champ is offline  
post #7 of 408 (permalink) Old 2012-06-05, 11:39 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Victoria
Posts: 64
I am one that likes the larger font - might have something to do with getting older...
pjpete is offline  
post #8 of 408 (permalink) Old 2012-06-05, 11:50 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chilliwack Mountain, Shaw Gateway & 3 Portals, Samsung UN60D8000, BenQ HDDLP, Denon AVR-1712
Posts: 326
I am in agreement, the larger font is nice, now if they could do something this the damn blue display on the portals!!!

Retired, Gateway fan, motorcycle is insured, time to get away from the TV!
Reboot is offline  
post #9 of 408 (permalink) Old 2012-06-06, 12:38 AM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 2x Harmony One
Posts: 3,592
The Portal display colour change will only come with a hardware change. I'm hoping there will be a trade in option when they finally do come out with a second gen Portal.

One improvement seems to be the time is now within a few seconds of my 3400. Just the other day it was almost 30 seconds late. This may not sound like much to those who don't record a lot but it makes a big difference when you miss the opening lines of a 30min sitcom.

If you can then do rather than not. You're your own worst enemy. They're parking their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
post #10 of 408 (permalink) Old 2012-06-06, 12:45 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 649
I was fine with the 6 lines myself. I'm 41, and need glasses but I prefer more info per page rather than less with a larger font.

Oh well, if the masses spoke and that's what they wanted who am I to complain? (Here's were options come in to play.....*shrug*)

Other than that, I can't say as I see any other noticeable change. Nothing feels any snappier on my end.
GamerGuy is online now  
post #11 of 408 (permalink) Old 2012-06-06, 02:01 AM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 2x Harmony One
Posts: 3,592
I much prefer more info, not less. All they needed to do was increase size of the Logos. They should offer the sizes as an option, selectable in the setup menu. Those with smaller sets could use the larger size and those with larger sets could benefit from having more info. This 'new' grid looks more like the old grid guide from the Motorolas.

If you can then do rather than not. You're your own worst enemy. They're parking their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
post #12 of 408 (permalink) Old 2012-06-06, 09:44 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 649
Indeed. Part of my excitement when I got my gateway, was a 16:9, 1080 guide......thinking I'd have more info than my Pace box......now look at it
GamerGuy is online now  
post #13 of 408 (permalink) Old 2012-06-06, 09:56 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 34
I have the new update, but I don't see any improvements. Except for the guide being 5 rows instead of 6. When I hit the guide it comes up slow. Then when I am going through channels the guide will disappear and then come back. That has been going on since I got it. And the other thing that bothers me is when you switch to a channel using the guide it takes a while for the guide to disappear as well.
ryanmess99 is offline  
post #14 of 408 (permalink) Old 2012-06-06, 10:12 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 649
Lets not forget the guide "blink out" issue that is still there.

Meaning when you pull the guide up, and after a short search, you start to view the listings it shows, for about a second, then it goes to a blue screen removing all the listings, and just the listings. Everything else is there, just not the shows/channels. After a second or 2 it comes back. Very annoying. (It can be hit or miss but it happens enough to annoy.)

Over all, I'd have to say I'm rather disappointed. I had higher hopes to see some big improvements. Oh well, maybe next time.
GamerGuy is online now  
post #15 of 408 (permalink) Old 2012-06-06, 10:16 AM
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary: Samsung UND556300 LED Tv, DCT 3400, Gateway + 2 portals,shaw PVR expander; Toshiba 42ZV655
Posts: 134
the update appears to be ok with me so far. No unusual behavior from my gateway but I only turned the boob tube on for an hour last night.

I still want a page up/down for the guide, now with only 5 rows, it's painful to scroll through the channel list.
Udowish is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome