Guide problem with Shaw Gateway and Portal - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 2012-03-09, 12:34 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Guide problem with Shaw Gateway and Portal

Last week I got a new Shaw gateway and Arris Portal. most stuff seems to work fine except one really irritating issue with the guide. I went through the channel list and hid all the channels I don't get so the guide would only display all the channels I get. But when I go into the guide some of the channels are missing, but I know they should be there. There is just a blank page where the channels should be on the guide. It seems that the channels that are missing are the last of the higher number channels (channels 239, 240, 247, 249, and 250) and the beginning of the lower end channels (channels 3-18). It's like where the guide ends and begins again there is a chunk of missing channels. I have been on the phone with Shaw everyday for the last week. Between this issue and the fact that my new 100mbps internet is only getting speeds of 12.5mbps I am starting to get really frustrated with shaw. Shaw has sent 3 different technicians out to look at the guide issue on the portal and the response I get varies from "Huh, I've never seen that before" to "it's a common bug" and Phoning shaw's tech support doesn't get any better results. Has anyone else had this issue? Is there a fix for it? Did I just get a bad portal, and should return it for a new one?

Many thanks to any one who can provide any insight as to how to fix this issue.
FreeRangers is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 2012-03-09, 01:14 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: GVR
Posts: 259
Go to the following thread, then use the search thread function with "guide missing" and you will find lots of references to this issue.

CLOSED — Shaw Gateway: Code update to iS2 & iS2+
GWNorth is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 2012-04-01, 01:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 19
well it appears that as the last poster used the word "missing guide" when you in fact do a search, all you get is his comment to tell you to do a search.

I wish if people are not willing to help you they would stay out of things, rather then complicate things by using the exact words you need then telling you to go find it yourself.

I wonder how much less time it would of taken this person to simply help you and give you the correct link you were looking for.
e 350 coupe is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 2012-04-01, 01:29 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,104
When I follow his exact instructions I find 36 posts on the topic in that long thread, not only his. I'm assuming he thought those 36 posts would be of help regarding the issue. Click his link and search that particular thread for "missing guide".

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 2012-04-01, 04:12 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: GVR
Posts: 259
"Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime."
GWNorth is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 2012-04-06, 08:22 AM
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 250
Give an answer and make a short thread... me
Temporary solution until fixed by Shaw is add channels (6or7) above the ones you're not subscribed to. With a little trial and error, more or less channels, you'll get all your channels displayed in the guide.

Sony KDL-55HX750, (Shaw Gateway,4 portals) , Sony STR-DN1000, Sony BDP-S590, Logitech Harmony 650
Berty is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 2012-04-09, 10:08 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 19
I am experiencing the same problem with missing channels. Speaking to Arris they say if you delete over 100 channels then channels appear to come and go.

I spoke to Shaw who informs me that deleting of more then 30 channels causes this random disappearing channels.

I switched my guide to deleting no channels what so ever and I get all my paid for channels and have had no problems for days now.

Both Shaw and Arris are away of problem and hopefully will be resolved in future updates.
e 350 coupe is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome