Shaw Gateway: Installation and setup discussion - Page 10 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #136 of 453 (permalink) Old 2011-12-05, 01:15 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 11
I have a harmony 890 with rf and I am able to control separate portals, but you need to set up each portal as a separate device and you need to use separate channels on your blaster unit.
I have one portal set up to use channel "A" and the other on "B"
Each device has it's own configuration, even though they are identical devices.
OakBankBart is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #137 of 453 (permalink) Old 2011-12-07, 07:56 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: vancouver . bc
Posts: 4
shaw gateway hdmi thru receiver

im a newb around here and was hoping for a little help. Sorry in advance if this is in the wrong place. is anyone running hdmi from the portal thru there receiver and to the tv? ive never had a problem with any of my previous shaw boxes, the pace box or the dcx3400. my receiver is only a year old and does hdmi 1.4 3d . its a pioneer vsx821k , but when shaw was here they were unable to get it to work so now im running hdmi direct to the tv and an optical cable to my receiver.

im just curious if anyone was able to get the the portal to run hdmi thru the receiver to there tv? any suggestions? ive been on the phone with shaw and pioneer and no one seems to be able to help me

thanks for any help

tim
timmy77476 is offline  
post #138 of 453 (permalink) Old 2011-12-07, 08:12 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chilliwack Mountain, Shaw Gateway & 3 Portals, Samsung UN60D8000, BenQ HDDLP, Denon AVR-1712
Posts: 326
@timmy77476

Funny you should ask, I just installed a Denon AV receiver with 6 in 1 out, I have the Portal connected through it to my Samsung UN60D8000 and it works perfectly . I also have an XBox, PS3, Patriot Box Office and a Samsung BD player all are working (audio & video) seamlessly through my Harmony One remote.

Retired, Gateway fan, motorcycle is insured, time to get away from the TV!
Reboot is offline  
post #139 of 453 (permalink) Old 2011-12-07, 08:18 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: vancouver . bc
Posts: 4
thanks reboot

my xbox 360 and my bluray player still work perfectly , its just th enew portal i cant get to work.

can i ask what model your denon is? maybe ill just upgrade my receiver
timmy77476 is offline  
post #140 of 453 (permalink) Old 2011-12-07, 08:22 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chilliwack Mountain, Shaw Gateway & 3 Portals, Samsung UN60D8000, BenQ HDDLP, Denon AVR-1712
Posts: 326
It is an AVR-1712, picked it up at Future Shop for $329.99, couldn't pass it up
Reboot is offline  
post #141 of 453 (permalink) Old 2011-12-07, 09:53 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: vancouver . bc
Posts: 4
cant find that one anywhere for under 400 if you see that deal again please let me know thanks

or if anyone has a solution to the problem with the pioneer receiver id love to hear it
timmy77476 is offline  
post #142 of 453 (permalink) Old 2011-12-07, 10:45 PM
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 143
I just got the Gateway and run a Pioneer VSX-1018AH without any issue using HDMI.

62MX195, Shaw 6412 HD-PVR, Sony S350, VSX-1018AH-K, LC-42D62U (Computer monitor)
raypundo is offline  
post #143 of 453 (permalink) Old 2011-12-10, 02:24 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 153
I just won a Gateway and a Portal.

I currently have one of the Arris PVRs from a couple of years ago.

Can I switch things over myself to install the new Portal/Gateway or do I have to book a tech to come over?

If I have to book .. say I book tomorrow (Sat Dec 10)... how long would it take a tech to come install the gateway/portal on average?

thanks
Bobafart is offline  
post #144 of 453 (permalink) Old 2011-12-10, 12:04 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 22
Congrats on your win!
Quote:
If I have to book .. say I book tomorrow (Sat Dec 10)... how long would it take a tech to come install the gateway/portal on average?
My daughter is having hers installed today - 2 weeks since signup.
Mine gets installed next Sunday - again about 2 weeks since signup.
The lady my wife spoke to siad to expect the tech to be here for 5-6 hours, but most threads here have indicated much less time. My house has all the cabling and wiring already in place, which I'm sure is the norm. I bet the 5-6 hour estimate is worst case scenario.
Minshull is offline  
post #145 of 453 (permalink) Old 2011-12-10, 01:00 PM
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Fernie, BC
Posts: 73
Definitely a worse case scenario. It does vary from house to house depending on what needs to be done.

I am a Shaw Employee. However, I am not posting on behalf of Shaw, and my posts are not official statements.
cdncableguy is offline  
post #146 of 453 (permalink) Old 2011-12-10, 01:10 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 2x Harmony One
Posts: 3,592
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobafart View Post
I just won a Gateway and a Portal.
Wow, how did you manage to do that? Where was the contest?
EDIT: I found the answer in your other post. Congratulations.

Quote:
I currently have one of the Arris PVRs from a couple of years ago.
Do you mean a Pace PVR as I don't believe Shaw has ever offered another Arris box before this one?

Quote:
Can I switch things over myself to install the new Portal/Gateway or do I have to book a tech to come over?
You will have to book an install and they will be able to tell you when it will be when you call Shaw, as previously stated.

If you can then do rather than not. You're your own worst enemy. They're parking their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
post #147 of 453 (permalink) Old 2011-12-10, 04:11 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
Shaw Gateway and Harmony 650 Remote

Just a quick question. Is there a way to program one of the extra buttons on the Harmony (the red, green, yellow or blue) to get it to make the Shaw Gateway do a 5 minute skip?

I dont want to make my actual "skip" button do a 5 minute skip...i want that button to do the 30 second skip.

Any thoughts?

thanks
linz8392 is offline  
post #148 of 453 (permalink) Old 2011-12-10, 05:14 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 2x Harmony One
Posts: 3,592
Sadly, no. The skip length is programmed into the command function rather than the actual command. I agree it would be nice to have the option of more skip durations but since the standard remote is not programmable, I guess they figured we'd be 'happy' with the couple of options they gave us.

If you can then do rather than not. You're your own worst enemy. They're parking their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
post #149 of 453 (permalink) Old 2011-12-10, 05:23 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 153
so can the portals be used to extend a home wifi network yet?

if not any idea when?
Bobafart is offline  
post #150 of 453 (permalink) Old 2011-12-10, 05:48 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 54
I need to figure out how I want everything installed and where. Am I correct in understanding that I can have the gateway unit and internet modem installed at the same wall outlet? Would they install a wall jack with two coaxial nodes on it?
FenderF4i is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome