CLOSED — Shaw Gateway: Original code iS1 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 1765 (permalink) Old 2010-09-23, 02:08 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 77
Shaw Gateway Box: Whole-home PVR by Arris

This may have been mentioned already, I don't know where it would have been discussed, but I was talking with a Shaw rep last night about an HD-PVR and he mentioned that there's a rumour that Shaw will be implementing a 'whole home HD-PVR' (assuming the same concept as what MTS is offering).

He was talking about the benefits of purchasing the current HD PVR (I believe the Motorola model) when he mentioned the rumour.
kymics is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 1765 (permalink) Old 2010-09-23, 02:08 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 77
CLOSED — Shaw Gateway: Original code iS1

Gateway/Portal(s) have been updated to the new code version iS2, so please use the following NEW MAIN THREAD:
CLOSED — Shaw Gateway: Code update to iS2 & iS2+

Before you post there, please see this list of issues …
Shaw Gateway: Issues & fixes
… to avoid duplicate reports.

Other threads of note:

Adding external drives
Shaw Gateway: Adding External Drives

Gateway promotions (new subs only)
Shaw Gateway Promo (New Subs Only)

Wait times for Gateway support
Long wait times waiting for Gateway support

Cheers,
downbeat

Last edited by downbeat; 2011-09-25 at 04:32 PM. Reason: Closing thread; adjusted note
kymics is offline  
post #3 of 1765 (permalink) Old 2010-09-23, 02:25 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 2x Harmony One
Posts: 3,592
That would be the Motorola DCX3400M with MoCA. Once enabled, MoCA will allow 'home networking' of PVRs. This might explain why Shaw is "handing out these boxes like Skittles". That was the exact phrase used by one of the reps I was talking with a couple of weeks ago. Presumably, Shaw will also need to start offering a non-PVR box like the DCX700 to complement the MoCA service but so far no rumours of that, yet.

If you can then do rather than not. You're your own worst enemy. They're parking their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
post #4 of 1765 (permalink) Old 2010-09-23, 03:23 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Calgary
Posts: 18
Can't wait for Shaw to go this route! If it wasn't for my intense hatred of Telus, I would have already switched for PVR Anywhere. Come on Shaw, make it happen!
gbabuk is offline  
post #5 of 1765 (permalink) Old 2010-09-23, 06:24 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 77
I tried to get some of those "Skittles" last night by issuing a casual threat to leave Shaw because of the whole home PVR MTS offers and all I got was an apology that there was nothing they could do to help me out (apart from taking $400 of my hard earned cash).
kymics is offline  
post #6 of 1765 (permalink) Old 2010-09-25, 10:35 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Chilliwack, BC
Posts: 150
I was talking to a rep there and they said they were doing some testing with the DCX700, DCX3200 and DCX3400. All of them Moca capable.
They said that shaw wants to do this right, so they are taking their time testing this everything out.
googler is offline  
post #7 of 1765 (permalink) Old 2010-09-26, 01:09 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 36
"taking their time" huh.......wow shocker of a move by Shaw!
Bluemp5 is offline  
post #8 of 1765 (permalink) Old 2010-09-26, 01:42 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 3,728
Considering how their recent rollout of a new program guide for HD receivers/PVRs was riddled with bugs and other problems, perhaps the fact Shaw's taking its time to shake out the flaws of its whole-home PVR system isn't such a bad thing.
downbeat is offline  
post #9 of 1765 (permalink) Old 2010-09-26, 04:57 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 2x Harmony One
Posts: 3,592
But are they doing and 'real world' testing? I highly doubt it and, because of that, I would expect things to be no better than anything else they have rolled out in the past.

If you can then do rather than not. You're your own worst enemy. They're parking their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
post #10 of 1765 (permalink) Old 2010-09-30, 11:37 AM
tux
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 1,124
Out of those boxes, only the DCX3400 can record. The DCX3200 is an HD box, and the DCX700 is an SD box.

Either box can play SD content recorded on the DCX3400; the DCX3200 can play HD content from the DCX3400 , and a program can only be played on one box at a time.

Also, setting and deleting recordings must be done directly from the DCX3400; it cannot be done remotely from the DCX3200 or DCX700 .

What I really would like to see, now that they have the A28 guide deployed, is internet PVR administration (similar to what Comcast rolled out when they launched the A28 guide).
tux is offline  
post #11 of 1765 (permalink) Old 2010-09-30, 01:26 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 2x Harmony One
Posts: 3,592
Bummer!

That doesn't sound like much of a 'system' now, does it?

I second your last statement, tux.

If you can then do rather than not. You're your own worst enemy. They're parking their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
post #12 of 1765 (permalink) Old 2010-09-30, 11:52 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Uxbridge, ON
Posts: 3,601
The DCX700 is not an SD box, it's HD.

I believe tux is incorrect in stating that recordings can not be started from the remote boxes. My understanding of the system is that all boxes can use the recording capability of the central DVR, and that the central DVR can in fact use the tuners of the remote boxes to record more than the 2 tuners it has locally.
travisc is offline  
post #13 of 1765 (permalink) Old 2010-10-01, 01:36 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 507
Quote:
Originally Posted by tux View Post
Out of those boxes, only the DCX3400 can record. The DCX3200 is an HD box, and the DCX700 is an SD box.
Don't confuse the DCT700 vs. DCX700. They're very different boxes.
adiabatic is offline  
post #14 of 1765 (permalink) Old 2010-10-01, 03:27 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 116
So would this mean if I had 1 of the DXC3400s, I could get a 'cheaper' basic box and view recorded programs from the main PVR on another TV? Also gain the live 'rewind and ff' features?

Or if I had two PVR's I could record a show on one box, and watch it on another?
dawks is offline  
post #15 of 1765 (permalink) Old 2010-10-01, 04:09 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 92
From the Comcast whole home PVR thread from a large american AV forum, the system only supports 1 PVR as PVRs cannot communicate with other PVRs. Only the PVR can record, so at most only 2 shows at once. Satellite units can play, pause, rewind, ffwd recorded shows but not live TV. The satellite units also can't initiate recordings.
accord1999 is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
gateway , portal , recycle

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome