Global's Transition PSIP Issues Explained - see Post #24 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 156 (permalink) Old 2011-07-19, 03:09 AM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 3,726
Exclamation Global's Transition PSIP Issues Explained - see Post #24

I am currently seeing what I can only describe as digital "snow" on CICT-DT (Global) Calgary. It looks like analog snow but everything is on a green background. Is it just me?
BTW, Global on Channel 2 analog is just fine.

UPDATE: The station (on all channels) was briefly frozen on an image from an earlier commercial.
No sound on Channel 41. But on Channel 2 and on Shaw Cable 7 (both analog) the sound was as per the usual programming.

UPDATE 2: Everything back to normal, except that the PSIP information for Channel 41 is different. It now says CICT-HD (was CICT-DT) and strangely the signal level seems a little better than before.

Last edited by stampeder; 2011-07-26 at 12:49 PM. Reason: Merged into new thread as first post
downbeat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 156 (permalink) Old 2011-07-19, 08:03 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Calgary
Posts: 46
Getting an SD signal from Global Calgary on 41-2

Darned Nose Hill! But all those rescans produced something interesting. I just noticed that I'm getting an SD signal from Global on 41-2 since my last rescan. That's in addition to the HD signal on 41-1 (2-1).

Last edited by stampeder; 2011-07-20 at 05:57 PM.
van der Decken is offline  
post #3 of 156 (permalink) Old 2011-07-19, 11:49 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Banff Trail district, Calgary.
Posts: 451
Global 41.2 480i Calgary

van der Decken - yes - I can confirm that I am also receiving Channel 41.2 480i, stereo - sub-channel. I have contacted Global TV here in Calgary as I hadn't thought that sub-channels were generally accepted in Major Market areas of the country. The same program as the 2.1 channel was being radiated at that moment "100 Huntley Street". Odd?? Wot?
Billsmith is offline  
post #4 of 156 (permalink) Old 2011-07-19, 12:04 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Banff Trail district, Calgary.
Posts: 451
CICT - Channel 41. (Apparent Sub-Channel 41.2)?

downbeat - Everything isn't quite normal - I am receiving a good signal on Sub-Channel 41.2 the same programming as 2.1 except in SD 480i, stereo.
I contacted Global but have received no explanation as to the new sub-channel yet. There may be a "malfunction at the junction" as happened earlier in the morning program - turned out to be a computer glitch.

I wonder if this has anything to do with the new Omni DTV transmitter installation that must by now be under way in readiness for next month??

Last edited by Billsmith; 2011-07-19 at 12:10 PM. Reason: Clarification.
Billsmith is offline  
post #5 of 156 (permalink) Old 2011-07-19, 12:41 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 182
CICT

downbeat: I did not know that. Thanks for the clarification.
Bill: I bet it's not a mistake at all. It can't have anything to do with OMNI going in. Remember, all the Global TV PSIP generators are sitting in the Calgary racks.
I'll speculate that they may have upgraded Calgary's PSIP generator or moved it around to add more PSIP gen's for the rest of the transmitters in Canada.
If they have a sub, it would be easier to convert the translators back to analog.
Demod in >> 41.2 >> modulated to channel 2 >> into translator >> back out as an analog channel in 4x3.
Mike FM is offline  
post #6 of 156 (permalink) Old 2011-07-19, 08:59 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
From Airdrie I can't tune 2.2 on my HTPC but the output of my scan sees that it exists but isn't running.
Code:
tune to: 8VSB     f=515000 kHz 
(time: 02:50) WARNING: unhandled stream_type: 6
service is running. Channel number: 9:1. Name: 'Calgary'
tune to: 8VSB     f=563000 kHz 
(time: 02:51) service is running. Channel number: 4:1. Name: 'CFCN DT  240 5761'
tune to: 8VSB     f=635000 kHz 
(time: 02:52) service is running. Channel number: 2:1. Name: 'CICT-HD'
service is not running, pseudo program_number. Channel number: 2:2. Name: 'CICT-SD'
tune to: 8VSB     f=683000 kHz 
(time: 02:53) service is running. Channel number: 5:1. Name: 'Citytv CALGARY'
dumping lists (5 services)
Calgary;(null):515000:M10:A:0:1713:1716=eng,1717=eng;1716,1717:0:0:11:0:0:0
CFCN DT  240 5761;(null):563000:M10:A:0:49:51=eng,52=eng;51,52:0:0:1:0:0:0
CICT-HD;(null):635000:M10:A:0:49:52=eng,53=eng;52,53:0:0:1:0:0:0
Citytv CALGARY;(null):683000:M10:A:0:33:36=eng,37=fre;36,37:0:0:2:0:0:0
Done.
shadowofdarknes is offline  
post #7 of 156 (permalink) Old 2011-07-20, 12:01 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Banff Trail district, Calgary.
Posts: 451
CICT-DT 2.2

Yes - my Hauppauge sees 2.2 but will not receive a moving picture or sound.
It's seems that it is there but data is not being permitted to stream or pass.
I see CICT-SD on my screen.
Billsmith is offline  
post #8 of 156 (permalink) Old 2011-07-20, 12:53 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Strathmore, Ab
Posts: 214
I tried tonite but got nothing on 41.2 either, even rescaned my box and nothing showed up.
frontpl8 is offline  
post #9 of 156 (permalink) Old 2011-07-20, 10:04 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Westminster
Posts: 1,251
Three Chan's
This morning I got this in my scans I did it three times to be sure there was no errors. Two are active but 8.2 is black?
[IMG][/IMG]

Last edited by danbcman; 2011-07-20 at 10:05 AM. Reason: add info
danbcman is offline  
post #10 of 156 (permalink) Old 2011-07-20, 11:33 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Victoria BC - shelbourne
Posts: 340
They are probably testing the multicasting, now it is owned by Shaw I would not be suprised if we saw subs in the future.
Ndnile is offline  
post #11 of 156 (permalink) Old 2011-07-20, 12:29 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Westminster
Posts: 1,251
Chan TV 22.1
I called the station to see if there is a reason for the additional activity I was only able to leave a message with the promise of a return call.
danbcman is offline  
post #12 of 156 (permalink) Old 2011-07-20, 12:32 PM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 3,726
A .2 subchannel appeared for Global Calgary within the last two days.
At first, it was reported the programming was an SD version of the main channel (as is/was done in Winnipeg and Saskatoon).
But soon after, the subchannel remained but was only visible to software tuners on computers — could not tune it on a TV.
Perhaps this is what you are experiencing in Vancouver.
downbeat is offline  
post #13 of 156 (permalink) Old 2011-07-20, 01:00 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Westminster
Posts: 1,251
Chan TV
I did a scan on the Samsung TV and the 22.1 does now remap to 8.1 which is nice to see as it rarely did that and the other two stations 8.2 and or 22.1 are not showing up on the scan. I have done a TS reader report and it shows the info in the stream. The message I left for them I asked it they were aware there is a PSIP problem. No reply as of yet.
danbcman is offline  
post #14 of 156 (permalink) Old 2011-07-21, 05:27 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Delta, BC
Posts: 161
Channel 22.1 remap

Since yesterday (and again this morning) the CHAN TV does not remap to 8.1, leaving me with 2, 22.1's. With the antenna pointed south the CHAN signal does not come in strong enough and wipes out the Seattle set. I have to get 25 to remap to 22.1 if I want to watch JOE and Q13 and the other guy.
Other than that, every thing seems to be stable. Maybe I'll try the preamp again in the fall.
Laurie in Ladner with a CM4228 on a rotator
laurienicol is offline  
post #15 of 156 (permalink) Old 2011-07-22, 01:38 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 816
In Win7 Media Center I can no longer receive CHAN-DT 8.1 (22) on my HVR-2250 although the analogue channel 8 is OK. I tried adding 22.1 (UHF 22) to Windows 7 Media Center with no success.

Yet on my TV CHAN-DT is working fine.

Samsung LN40A550, Asus A8N SLI, Athlon 64 X2 3800, XFX HD One 5450, 2 Hauppauge HVR-2250, LG BH10LS30 Blu-ray, Windows 7
Michael DeAbreu is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome