OTA Station Status: Vancouver, Victoria, Southern BC - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 579 (permalink) Old 2011-01-02, 01:19 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Westminster
Posts: 1,251
Question OTA Station Status: Vancouver, Victoria, Southern BC

CBC 58.1
If you don't want to loose it don't recan as it goes away and may not to be picked up again must be a psip troubles again.
My 2250 won't grab it but TRreader Lite does so strange behaviour today.
My samsung tv re scanned and did pick up 58.1 How ever six scans and 2250 did not pick it up, will try a few more.

Last edited by Jase88; 2012-01-10 at 08:07 PM. Reason: follow up info
danbcman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 579 (permalink) Old 2011-01-03, 10:38 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Abbotsford, BC
Posts: 116
That's strange, the last two days I could watch 58.1 without trouble? The macroblocking seems to start in the evening though.
danomac is offline  
post #3 of 579 (permalink) Old 2011-01-06, 12:14 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 132
Interesting: Before I left for a trip mid-December, soap operas like The Young & The Restless were airing letterboxed on Global 32.1. I got back yesterday and it was airing in HD widescreen. Guess they finally got with the program.
queerasmoi is offline  
post #4 of 579 (permalink) Old 2011-01-16, 10:43 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 38
Curious if anyone is having reception issues with 42.1 CHNM-DT. It looks like to be off the air for me.
netwerk is offline  
post #5 of 579 (permalink) Old 2011-01-16, 11:14 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Westminster
Posts: 1,251
42.1 fine for me at 814pm
danbcman is offline  
post #6 of 579 (permalink) Old 2011-01-17, 12:11 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 38
must be me... Thanks
netwerk is offline  
post #7 of 579 (permalink) Old 2011-01-17, 12:38 AM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 24,351
Confirming no problems here on 42.1 neither.
stampeder is offline  
post #8 of 579 (permalink) Old 2011-01-18, 10:55 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: OTtAwa (Byward Market); Sony Bravia KDL46SL140; Mini State HDMS9100
Posts: 238
OMNI display issues?

During my visit to Vancouver, I noticed that, although they are broadcasting digitally, I did not see any programs on OMNI CHNM 42.1 in 16:9 aspect ratio. Even programs which I thought were in HD (prime example is Price Is Right), it didn't fill up the entire screen of an LCD tv (Dynex), but had black bars on the side.

Just wondering whether others are experiencing the same with CHNM or whether it's an issue with my parents' tv. As for other stations - all HD programs are displayed properly.
rmchahn is offline  
post #9 of 579 (permalink) Old 2011-01-18, 12:49 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 24,351
I'm pretty sure it is not an OTA problem, but if someone with Cable can reply we might be able to tell.

When Rogers turned the former Channel M into OMNI BC they inherited a fully digital control centre that could run HD programming, but I have not come across any 16:9 HD so far. Given my lack of understanding of the Persian, Punjabi, Mandarin, and Cantonese languages (which represent their predominant programming) I don't tend to swing by that channel much.

Has anyone seen HD 16:9 programming on OMNI BC?
stampeder is offline  
post #10 of 579 (permalink) Old 2011-01-18, 06:50 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: White Rock, BC
Posts: 78
I have cable and I have not seen HD 16:9 programing on CHNM HD. I don't know why considering CHNM and CKVU broadcast out of the same building.
Hotwax is offline  
post #11 of 579 (permalink) Old 2011-01-19, 03:00 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Burnaby, BC
Posts: 185
I think the reason why OMNI BC is still not in HD is OMNI Alberta are still in analog in both city in Calgary and Edmonton,

(Oh, BTW, both OMNI BC & AB's online newsclip are in 16:9 after BT goes 16:9,which means they are actually HD ready)

and the guy in OMNI Toronto is just too lazy to send their HD signal directly from Dundas Square to Olympic Village. So we can only wait till the Alberta guys to build their HD signal up through the air and then we can enjoy OMNI BC in REAL HD.
swan_ch is offline  
post #12 of 579 (permalink) Old 2011-01-19, 06:50 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 24
Thumbs down CKVU-DT & CHNM-DT down?

Both channels are dark here, any one else?
Hunedog is offline  
post #13 of 579 (permalink) Old 2011-01-19, 08:05 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 24
Thumbs up CKVU-DT & CHNM-DT back up

Never mind temporary problem I guess.
Hunedog is offline  
post #14 of 579 (permalink) Old 2011-01-19, 10:12 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: South Burnaby BC (Kingsway & Sperling)
Posts: 111
CKVU-DT & CHNM-DT down? / CKVU-DT & CHNM-DT back up

It is just the usual "Monthly Rodgers OTA Signal Problem"

All the local channels come in at 100% strength at this location, but with more frequent loss of programming on CKVU and CHNM (9 miles away) , than with Seattle channels such as KOMO and KING (113 miles away). The signal issue with the Rodgers owned CKVU / CHNM stations is source related, and come this August will hopefully improve, but at present, the Seattle channels certainly put out a more "dependable" signal.
MoreDB is offline  
post #15 of 579 (permalink) Old 2011-01-20, 01:38 AM
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Downtown, Vancouver, BC
Posts: 175
CHNM-DT does not and will not broadcast anything in HD or widescreen, at least for now. All they do for now is upconvert and feed their 480i video signal into a 1080i transmission.

CKVU-DT signal is broadcast from Calgary, while CHNM-DT still from Chinatown in Vancouver, as far as I know.
VBC1 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome