OTA Station Status: Montréal, QC, Northern NY & VT - Page 186 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #2776 of 3257 (permalink) Old 2012-04-12, 08:07 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: (1)montréal/Mile End (2)Ste-Marguerite-Lac Masson
Posts: 1,095
6.1

No problem here on my Sharp Aquos 2007 And my two CM converter box ( 7000 And 7001)
mille is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2777 of 3257 (permalink) Old 2012-04-12, 11:18 PM
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vimont, Laval, Qc.
Posts: 972
Quote:
Sometime this week I lost reception of the local CBC stations : how can this be ?
They shut off their transmitters around midnight the other night, even Global.
.
BOUVAL is offline  
post #2778 of 3257 (permalink) Old 2012-04-13, 11:20 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Montreal, QC Channel Master 4228
Posts: 358
@WalterP: I only get the stuttering on 6.1. I don't have it on 2.1. It is IMPOSSIBLE to watch Hockey with it stuttering, it's like the players are going back and forwards. I sent CBC a complaint on their "general webform", got an answer 2 weeks after I sent it saying that they forwarded it to engineering, yeah well...it's been a MONTH and 6.1 is still stuttering like mad with 80% signal on my Samsung TV!

This is nuts, it's been over a month...how hard is it to fix it? Someone needs to find out a telephone number and CBC 6.1 Montreal. I can't watch hockey like this!
Yuprules is offline  
post #2779 of 3257 (permalink) Old 2012-04-14, 08:27 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Beaconsfield, QC
Posts: 13
@Yuprules : I have the exact same symptoms as you, and I also have a Samsung (it's an older one LN-T4669F). No problem on 2.1, big problem on 6.1 I even see the symptom watching the news or regular programming. It's like watching a webcast, where the refresh rate is too low, and the players move in 6" increments around the ice.

I'm just using the built-in ATSC tuner, but everything's been fine for several years up until last month.
BaconBoy is offline  
post #2780 of 3257 (permalink) Old 2012-04-16, 04:50 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Verdun, QC
Posts: 51
I haven't had any issues with 6.1 with Sony, Philips and Sharp TVs, at all. No stuttering, no issues of any kind. Could this be local interference perhaps?
alien0 is offline  
post #2781 of 3257 (permalink) Old 2012-04-17, 09:29 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Beaconsfield, QC
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by alien0 View Post
I haven't had any issues with 6.1 with Sony, Philips and Sharp TVs, at all. No stuttering, no issues of any kind. Could this be local interference perhaps?
That's helpful information. I doubt it's local interference because all other channels are perfect. The acid test was last weekend when NBC and CBC both broadcast the Predators/Red Wings game. NBC was perfect and CBC had the jerky motion.

Only thing I can see comparing 2.1 and 6.1 is that 2.1 has full PSIP while 6.1 has nothing (on my TV anyway). Is this the case with you also? Thanks for your help
BaconBoy is offline  
post #2782 of 3257 (permalink) Old 2012-04-17, 09:56 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Verdun, QC
Posts: 51
That is correct, 6.1, 10.1, 35.1 and 62.1 are the still without PSPID.

On the Sharp TV the closed captions appear garbled on 6.1 all the time, but otherwise the picture is perfect. I don't have caption issues on other TVs so far.
alien0 is offline  
post #2783 of 3257 (permalink) Old 2012-04-17, 10:24 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,421
Flaking

Yah....this makes OTA seem really flaky.....

for the last 2 weeks, every nght I stayed awake, I lost ALL montreal channels, around 12.00, kind of SUCKS when following a playoff gameon CBC, or Le Match on TVA....

whats going on....
balm is offline  
post #2784 of 3257 (permalink) Old 2012-04-18, 11:37 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Montreal, QC Channel Master 4228
Posts: 358
@balm At least you can watch 6.1 , I can't watch hockey, the jerky motion of CBC Montreal over the air makes me vomit for hockey because I only get half the frames. I can't even watch the news on CBC 6-1 anymore over the air, the jerky motion of the video causes me to be ill after a while.

Also of note, did you notice it is missing a picture size when you try to change it from 16:9 and 4:3? On ALL other ota channels, I can choose between 16:9, 4:3, Zoom and Just Scan on remote. I tried it on a TV that doesn't have the 6-1 jerky problem, and Just Scan is also missing (brand new Samsung LED TV).

It's like Montreal CBC 6-1 is sending some "bad video data" over the air and some hdtv's can't decode it properly so it gets all jerky/stuttering.
Yuprules is offline  
post #2785 of 3257 (permalink) Old 2012-04-18, 08:49 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Verdun, QC
Posts: 51
"Just scan" will work only if the source and the TV both have matching resolution. So you probably bought a 1080p TV but the source in this case is broadcasting at 720p. It should be the same behaviour as on 44.1 (also 720p).
alien0 is offline  
post #2786 of 3257 (permalink) Old 2012-04-19, 06:36 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Beaconsfield, QC
Posts: 13
Ditto for the garbled CC's on 6.1, CC's are available for all other broadcasts
Just Scan is only available for 1080i broadcasts on my 1080p TV

I sent a complaint e-mail to CBC stating that several of us in this forum were experiencing difficulties with their OTA broadcast. Hopefully we'll get some action.
BaconBoy is offline  
post #2787 of 3257 (permalink) Old 2012-04-19, 08:29 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 119
I've had no issues with 6.1 in Kirkland. I'm using and HD Homerun network tuner into my Toshiba and Sharp TV's.
johnvan is offline  
post #2788 of 3257 (permalink) Old 2012-04-19, 12:15 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Montreal, QC Channel Master 4228
Posts: 358
@BaconBoy I e-mailed them a month ago, the "contact form" people e-mailed Engineering, nothing has been done in a month. Oh well, guess I'll watch hockey on NBC over the air instead. I couldn't find an e-mail address, just a "generic form".

@alien0 but CBC French 2.1 is 720p and it allows for "JUST SCAN" It's JUST CBC English 6-1 that doesn't allow "Just Scan". Must have to do with the "stuttering" problem 6-1 is having.
Yuprules is offline  
post #2789 of 3257 (permalink) Old 2012-04-19, 01:50 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Beaconsfield, QC
Posts: 13
Yeah, I'm sure it's my built-in ATSC tuner that is outdated and can't decode the CBC signal properly. But it used to prior to March 2012 and it handles all the other stations.

Last edited by stampeder; 2012-04-19 at 02:16 PM. Reason: political comments removed as per rules of the site
BaconBoy is offline  
post #2790 of 3257 (permalink) Old 2012-04-19, 02:19 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 24,390
Some of you who have been members here a long time know that we have CBC staffers as members here who actively participate in this site's CBC-related threads. You could try to PM them to ask if they could join in on this thread about possible technical issues on 6.1 that viewers are reporting.
stampeder is offline  
Reply

Tags
ota , wcax

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome