OTA Station Status: SW Ontario, Lk. Erie, Lk. Huron - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 1405 (permalink) Old 2005-06-03, 10:49 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 354
Question OTA Station Status: SW Ontario, Lk. Erie, Lk. Huron

For anyone in SW Ontario looking for ATSC stations; here is up to date list of all analog + digital channels.

http://www.noard.com/tvchannels.htm
Twilight Cowboy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 1405 (permalink) Old 2005-09-10, 09:41 AM
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,321
UPN (Detroit) now has a sub-channel of WWL (Katrina coverage).
buritto is offline  
post #3 of 1405 (permalink) Old 2006-01-07, 07:53 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Windsor ,Ont (Area)
Posts: 360
Send Fox 2 an email.

I sent them an email asking why the digital signal is gone. I had to use a american based email address and input a U S zip code for it to send. Anyone else with this issue please send a note also. Maybe several e mails will get their attention.
probak118 is offline  
 
post #4 of 1405 (permalink) Old 2006-01-31, 07:48 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Windsor ,Ont (Area)
Posts: 360
Still no signal from Fox 2 Detroit ?

Can anyone tell me why we no longer get Fox 2 Detroit digital broadcast. Sorry but i forget the digital (uhf) channel. Sent 2 emails to the station with no replies . Hope superbowl isn't on Fox network.
probak118 is offline  
post #5 of 1405 (permalink) Old 2006-02-05, 08:16 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Windsor ,Ont (Area)
Posts: 360
FOX 2 Detroit back on !!!

Anyone able to get Detroit digital broadcast, scan for channels again. FOX 2 is back on air. After more than 2 months nice to see again. Atleast it was back on yesterday.
probak118 is offline  
post #6 of 1405 (permalink) Old 2006-11-26, 11:35 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: North of London, Ontario
Posts: 74
CBC London Has HD signal Icon?

Hi everyone. I live north of London,On and finally picked up some Ota from the States with my Dvico Usb Fusion. When watching the Cbc from London one night on analog OTA(Ch 40) it had an HD icon next to the program. Does this mean it is transmitting OTA HD or just over cable/sat? Thanks!
Heyjohn is offline  
post #7 of 1405 (permalink) Old 2006-11-26, 01:25 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ontario
Posts: 978
The closest CBC HD transmitter would be channel 20 on the CN Tower.

CBC English Radio, TV and web streaming.
Marc is offline  
post #8 of 1405 (permalink) Old 2006-11-26, 01:48 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Smithville, ON
Posts: 793
ya they probably got their regular logo mixed up with the HD logo. Was the program you were watching in widescreen?
026163 is offline  
post #9 of 1405 (permalink) Old 2006-11-26, 04:30 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,879
Marc, was that probably just an internal CBC error in feeds, switching, or something of the sort?
stampeder is offline  
post #10 of 1405 (permalink) Old 2006-11-27, 09:26 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ontario
Posts: 978
You can't call up the HD logo on the SD stations. It doesn't work that way. Perhaps it was a news or sports clip that was originally broadcast in HD. I just guessing.

CBC English Radio, TV and web streaming.
Marc is offline  
post #11 of 1405 (permalink) Old 2007-03-13, 03:01 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa (Stittsville), ON, OTA (DB4e & VHF-HI folded dipole, AP-2870 pre-amp in Attic), MythTV HTPC
Posts: 6,246
kris1, Also check out the thread SUN TV Applies for OTA London and Ottawa. The deadline for submitting comments is this Friday.
roger1818 is offline  
post #12 of 1405 (permalink) Old 2007-07-22, 10:51 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Windsor, Ont.
Posts: 91
CBC in Windsor

I noticed of Friday there was a big crane doing work on the tower on Riverside Dr. They appeared to be adding an antenna, who knows what it was, maybe soon.
crockett18 is offline  
post #13 of 1405 (permalink) Old 2007-07-23, 07:46 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Windsor ,Ont (Area)
Posts: 360
CBC HD ?

I won't hold my breathe but, man would that be nice. Last I heard from Stampeder's posts. No date has even been mentioned, we had to wait for the larger cities in the country first. May have to re-scan in the Fall when hockey starts up again.
probak118 is offline  
post #14 of 1405 (permalink) Old 2007-07-23, 09:13 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa (Stittsville), ON, OTA (DB4e & VHF-HI folded dipole, AP-2870 pre-amp in Attic), MythTV HTPC
Posts: 6,246
Quote:
Originally Posted by crockett18
I noticed of Friday there was a big crane doing work on the tower on Riverside Dr. They appeared to be adding an antenna, who knows what it was, maybe soon.
I don't know about Windsor, but in many areas the CBC will let other radio and TV stations use their tower for their antennas. Most likely this is a sign that there will be a new radio or TV station soon. To the best of my knowledge the CRTC hasn't granted a licence for a transitional digital broadcasting undertaking to the CBC in Windsor yet.
roger1818 is offline  
post #15 of 1405 (permalink) Old 2008-01-17, 12:26 AM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,879
You can look up the latitude and longitude of Detroit and Windsor stations here:

http://www.user.dccnet.com/jonleblan...ons/index.html (scroll down to Ontario and Michigan listings) and then plot out the direction from your location using a map or Google Earth.
stampeder is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome