OTA Station Status: SW Ontario, Lk. Erie, Lk. Huron - Page 94 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1396 of 1404 (permalink) Old 2016-06-19, 01:36 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northern Windsor, ON
Posts: 260
Fortunately TVO abandoned the OTA relay system, so in Windsor they have been on the air consistently.
Ken H is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1397 of 1404 (permalink) Old 2016-06-19, 01:59 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northern Windsor, ON
Posts: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by majortom View Post
Back to the audio problem for a minute.
I would never notice the issue, as I have never seen a use case for having more than two speakers in my house. Personally I want sound to come from the TV, not from behind me. So I could care less about what the 5.1 sound does or doesn't do. As long as it produces SOME sound,
it's mission is accomplished far as I am concerned.

I would however be happy if CBC fixed their buggy guide problem though.
Regardless of your lack of interest in surround sound, the fact that every movie and almost every TV program in HDTV that is on the air now and for over a decade employs 5.1 surround sound makes it an important issue.

HDTV was designed to be an immersive experience, mimicking the real world as much as possible for such a widely available technology. In addition to a wider aspect ratio and better image quality, digital 5.1 sound is an equal part of this experience.

It's also one that CBC's Audience Services shows a distinct lack of knowledge and respect for.

I might as well say since all 3 of my ATSC tuners get PSIP just fine from CBC Windsor, that it doesn't matter what your equipment gets or more accurately, doesn't get.
Ken H is offline  
post #1398 of 1404 (permalink) Old 2016-08-27, 08:28 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Port Stanley, ON
Posts: 358
WFXP Erie

I just noticed tonight that WFXP Erie has 2 new additional sub channels. Bounce and Grit are now showing on 66.2 and 66.3 respectively (Digital 22).

Delhi SFA 1483, Antennacraft Suburban VHF, CM7778
Gentleman is offline  
 
post #1399 of 1404 (permalink) Old 2017-04-04, 10:47 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Port Stanley
Posts: 26
I see Erie, PA. CBS is gone from channel 12.3 and 35.3 has dropped NBC. Anyone know what networks (if any) are replacing these feeds?
greypower is offline  
post #1400 of 1404 (permalink) Old 2017-04-04, 02:23 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Fort Erie, ON
Posts: 615
The 12.3 and 35.3 feeds were just SD feeds.

12.3 is on 35.1 in HD, and 35.3 is on 12.1 in HD.
Inglewood is offline  
post #1401 of 1404 (permalink) Old 2017-04-04, 03:43 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Port Stanley
Posts: 26
Yes, I'm aware of all that. In my location, 12 is rock solid but 35 is hit-and-miss, which means we have basically lost CBS here.
greypower is offline  
post #1402 of 1404 (permalink) Old 2017-07-07, 07:33 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,228
CHCH London RF 51

I don't receive this station normally, but during some strong ducting yesterday evening
I did, and noticed when I tuned to it, the time was off by an hour.

I took a look at the stream, and noticed in it's STT (system time table), it was sending the same time as any other station, but they did not have the daylight Savings Time flag set.
Thus it tells the TV to Fall Back by an hour
I can't compare it to the Hamilton CHCH to see if that is broke also, due to co-channel interference, but has anyone ever contacted them to report?? it's only been like 3 or 4 months since the last time change. DS Status should be True this time of year.

Does everyone get the wrong time when tuned to RF ch 51 from London, ON?
I would think so...

Edit: snapper pointing out where the issue lies

DB4E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 4way split LG lcd.
majortom is online now  
post #1403 of 1404 (permalink) Old 2017-07-08, 11:59 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 729
CHCH 11.1 is out by an hour. Not switched to DST yet!

Openbox S9, 33”, 25" dishs, GeoSatpro, Avenger PLL LNBFs. Stab 90HH.
OTA, CM4221HD, 3410 amp, 3 way split, HW-150 PVR
Jorgek is offline  
post #1404 of 1404 (permalink) Old 2017-07-08, 05:00 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,228
Yeah, all they need to do is flip that bit, and their viewers won't be an hour late for work every day

DB4E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 4way split LG lcd.
majortom is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome