Where does Netflix come from? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 1Likes
  • 1 Post By gdkitty
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 2017-09-25, 10:24 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 21
Where does Netflix come from?

This may have been discussed before but where are Netflix servers located? Are there dedicated servers for each country..ie Canada. Asking the question because of some problems with the app on a Sharp television and lack of quality. Did some juggling with the settings on the Tv and the quality improved. Using a powerline extender with Ethernet connection and Bell internet (50) with speed around 36 mbps (+-)
jacjames is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 2017-09-25, 10:51 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 7,344
Server map

However, where the servers are located should be irrelevant to viewers.

I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is online now  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 2017-09-25, 11:57 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Whitby, Ontario (Rogers Cable), LG 42PC3D, 8642HD
Posts: 537
From what I've heard, they use Amazon services which are globally located. You will always be directed to the closest available services. If you use a VPN or other location masking techniques, you might be served from a server further away.

Definitely focus on your home network and make sure your router has sufficient capacity for the number of devices in your home.
whitbyterry is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 2017-09-25, 01:34 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43░ N, 81.2░ W
Posts: 5,801
The most likely bottleneck is the powerline extender.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 2017-09-27, 09:05 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 45
To watch Netflix in HD, you need a Premium streaming plan.

Bandwidth requirements for Netflix are listed here. For HD video, a 5 Megabit per second internet connection or better is required, so your 36 mbps connection is more than sufficient to get a good picture.

I agree with ExDilbert and whitbyterry, that the problem is likely not Netflix servers being too far away. Netflix has a very robust delivery network.
grungymegajeff is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 2017-09-28, 08:34 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,441
You can do regular HD, just not UHD, on the standard plan. Just on two devices at a time though.
grungymegajeff likes this.

GDKitty
Rogers 9865, LG 47LV5400 LED TV, Onkyo HT-R690.
gdkitty is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome