Hulu Plus is on US Apple TV - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 2012-08-01, 09:36 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cowichan Bay, BC
Posts: 1,388
Hulu Plus is on US Apple TV

If you haven't already set up a US iTunes account, this may be a reason to do so. Hulu Plus is now available on the Apple TV using a US account.

I checked it out this morning. (I'm assuming you must be using a VPN or unblock-us, but I'm not sure.) You must have a US iTunes account. In settings, set your location as US. Then log in using your US iTunes account information. Hulu Plus will be one of the services that are then available. I logged into my Hulu Plus account and the service was there.

[edit] According to some websites, VPN or unblock-us is currently not needed if the user goes into Hulu Plus through their US iTunes account. It is unclear whether this is a brief glitch or whether it will be ongoing.

"Don't quote me on this." - Anonymous

Last edited by Mexicanuck; 2012-08-01 at 09:47 AM. Reason: Added info about geo-location
Mexicanuck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 2012-08-01, 12:37 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
Looks like they've caught on already:

http://news.cnet.com/8301-1023_3-574...s-report-says/

I have Unblock Us but I haven't tried it yet on my ATV2. The Hulu Plus hasn't appeared yet, although I'm still running iOS 4.4.4 so maybe that's why.
The Black Cat is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 2012-08-01, 02:55 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cowichan Bay, BC
Posts: 1,388
I only tried it on my ATV3. I'm planning to try it on my jailbroken ATV2 tonight.

I did have to "reset" (but not "restore") the ATV3 to get the Hulu Plus. I'm guessing I will have to do the same with the ATV2.

"Don't quote me on this." - Anonymous
Mexicanuck is offline  
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 2012-08-01, 09:25 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cowichan Bay, BC
Posts: 1,388
I can confirm this works on JB ATV2. It does require a reset.

"Don't quote me on this." - Anonymous
Mexicanuck is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 2012-08-05, 11:16 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
OK, I updated to the latest JB iOS on my ATV2, and I can access Hulu Plus if I use Unblock Us and set the iTunes store to the US. Unfortunately there doesn't seem to be way to keep the Hulu Plus icon from disappearing when I change it back to the Canadian iTunes store, which makes renting movies or watching purchased content a pain to access.
The Black Cat is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 2012-08-06, 12:27 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 3,074
Quote:
there doesn't seem to be way to keep the Hulu Plus icon from disappearing when I change it back to the Canadian iTunes store
If you're looking for a device that can reliably do both Hulu and Netflix (US or Canadian), then take a look at a Xbox 360.

To get the US-based app just create a new Xbox live account with US information. Then you can download all the US-based apps that your heart desires. Once those apps are available on your Xbox, you can switch to your (Canadian) Xbox live account and still use the US apps as long as they're installed on the same physical Xbox.

Also, in addition to US and Canadian Netflix and Hulu, I use it as a Windows Media Center extender (OTA channels, movie collection). I haven't found another device that is better at media streaming that can also do the OTA TV DVR thing.
audacity is online now  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 2012-08-13, 09:32 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,828
Does Hulu Plus work on the ATV2 by changing the DNS to UnblockUS, or do I have to do this at the router level? I tried to change the DNS on my ATV2 for US Netflix, but I could not get this to work. I was hoping to know if this works before I sign up for UnblockUS again.
jshel101 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome