What's going on - Netflix Quality? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 36 (permalink) Old 2012-02-14, 11:56 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 193
What's going on - Netflix Quality?

I don't understand this at all. Here's my scenario:


I'm in Toronto, Ontario streaming Netflix from my Xbox 360 and I'm getting mediocre picture quality at best. My isp is Velcom and I'm currently on a 6mb DSL plan. I tried both wireless and wired connections and I don't see any differences in quality. I tried to watch a movie that's supposed to be in HD and the movie looked like dvd quality at best....no where NEAR high def material.

Now, I've tried running Crackle on my 360 and the movie and tv show quality is way better than Netflix. Someone told me that speed is the most important thing when it comes to Netflix's quality on screen. Why then is Crackle so much better? If it's my speed, Crackle would look just as bad right?

I know for a fact that my isp doesn't throttle my speed...is it possible that Netflix does? I tried to watch an X-Files episode and it looked like a youtube video running with 240 lines of resolution. My speed is adequate to run Netflix....or is it? On their website they state that you need a 5mb or higher. Has anyone else had this happen and do I need to upgrade my web speed in order to get better video quality?

This makes no sense to me as Crackle content looks so clean. I recently watched "Crossroads" and the video was really good....no HD good but clean enough on my 32" set. I wish my Netflix movies looked as good.

Can someone suggest something? I hate the fact that Netflix doesn't give us the choice as to which quality stream we want. I read somewhere that they toned it down to something like 625kps. You'll never get HD quality on that.

Why can't I just let my console buffer (put my console on pause for a while) and get the chance to see it in better video quality? I honestly thought that by going wired it would improve the quality. What gives??? Crackle may not have the same amount of content compared to Netflix but it's a deal breaker for me if the quality sucks real bad.

Any comments or help?
Gino34 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 36 (permalink) Old 2012-02-15, 12:06 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 54,239
Quote:
I hate the fact that Netflix doesn't give us the choice as to which quality stream we want.
They do. Go to the Netflix Control Panel for your account and ensure that you've chosen the highest quality. Netflix defaults to low quality in Canada to save bandwidth.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 36 (permalink) Old 2012-02-15, 11:37 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 193
How do you go about doing this? I tried looking on my Xbox 360 and couldn't locate a way to do it. Is it only possible through a pc? Where exactly do I go to change to a higher quality?

Thanks.
Gino34 is offline  
post #4 of 36 (permalink) Old 2012-02-15, 11:46 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 3,205
It is a account setting on the Netflix website.

Your Account --> Manage video quality
audacity is offline  
post #5 of 36 (permalink) Old 2012-02-15, 01:34 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Calgary Area
Posts: 2,357
I'm in the opposite boat - my Netflix PQ is usually outstanding. I often comment "I can't believe we're streaming this sort of quality from the internet".

Looks good to me
North_of_Calgary is offline  
post #6 of 36 (permalink) Old 2012-02-15, 01:40 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,828
I also agree, my Netflix PQ is excellent on both of my 50" and 56" TV's.
jshel101 is offline  
post #7 of 36 (permalink) Old 2012-02-15, 08:16 PM
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Longueuil
Posts: 832
I stream Netflix through a PS3 and I too enjoy decent to quite good picture quality (4-5 MB|sec that is).

Now it is my understanding that the availability of the PQ preferences option depend on the type of device you activate on your account. For instance, on a Wii system, you will not have to decide between PQ options, it will default to the lowest quality setting because of the device's limited connectivity options (480p component).

Going nowhere @ 220 ft
John Koenig is offline  
post #8 of 36 (permalink) Old 2012-02-19, 04:39 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 193
thanks for the help guys I figured it out.

Didn't realize I needed to access it through my computer's account page.

I see a difference now and it's definitely worth the 8 dollars a month.
Gino34 is offline  
post #9 of 36 (permalink) Old 2012-02-20, 11:50 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 15
I have had Netflix for several months and the HD quality has never been an issue. However, for the past 10 days in February, the video quality has significantly declined and I am unable to watch movies in HD (they appear like SD or worse).

Anyone else have this issue (I live in the Greater Toronto Area)? Have contacted Netflix and my ISP and done a whole bunch of trouble shooting...problem still not resolved.

Thanks for your help.
dumber3233 is offline  
post #10 of 36 (permalink) Old 2012-02-20, 11:59 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 193
Try hooking up to a wired connection. I notice that going wireless, my connection only has 2 bars whereas when it's wired, I usually get 3 bars. I've never gotten the "hd" logo lit as of yet. So I guess you could say that we're getting dvd quality rather than 720p.

But hey, it's only 8 bucks....what do you expect for that rate???

If you're looking for quality, you'll need to subscribe to Bell, Rogers etc and pay a hell of alot more. My friend has Rogers and his movies look stunning in 1080p.

Last edited by 57; 2012-02-20 at 03:37 PM. Reason: Unnecessary Quote Removed
Gino34 is offline  
post #11 of 36 (permalink) Old 2012-02-20, 03:38 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Quote:
I have had Netflix for several months and the HD quality has never been an issue. However, for the past 10 days in February, the video quality has significantly declined and I am unable to watch movies in HD (they appear like SD or worse).

Anyone else have this issue (I live in the Greater Toronto Area)? Have contacted Netflix and my ISP and done a whole bunch of trouble shooting...problem still not resolved.
Exact same problem here: I have a 30Mbps Internet cable connection (ISP: Videotron) and picture quality was awesome until like the past 10 days in February. I'm in Quebec City. I have this problem with every device I own, either via wire or wifi. I wonder if this problem could be related to the announcement about eyeIO?
shrodi is offline  
post #12 of 36 (permalink) Old 2012-05-08, 06:39 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Barrhaven, Ottawa
Posts: 72
Netflix HD ?

So I signed up for my free Netflix trail and tried it out this aft - I have to say at first glance, I'm pretty disappointed in the quality of the HD - I didn't really know what to expect, but tons of artificating on an "HD" choice wasn't one of them. I guess I was expecting something more like Rogers on Demand. I guess the "pipeline" just isn't the same (??)

For reference, I'm viewing on a 50" viera plasma... SD looks like crap on this TV, so maybe this is really what I'm viewing ?
Foxenhimr is offline  
post #13 of 36 (permalink) Old 2012-05-08, 06:45 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 760
Have you checked the quality settings online. For Canadian users the default is a lower quality to help keep bandwidth usuage down.

LOSat
LONSat is online now  
post #14 of 36 (permalink) Old 2012-05-08, 06:48 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Barrhaven, Ottawa
Posts: 72
I just checked that, and changed it to the highest quality - duh...on me
Foxenhimr is offline  
post #15 of 36 (permalink) Old 2012-05-09, 08:09 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Barrhaven, Ottawa
Posts: 72
I have to say that after making the video format change, I'm very happy with the HD quality
Foxenhimr is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome