Wind Mobile USB Internet stick - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 2011-11-14, 04:22 PM Thread Starter
Rookie

Wind Mobile USB Internet stick

hi I'm a newbie here, and found the site by google, great lookgin site!

I have a wind internet stick and works fine on my win7 laptop

I have a few questions please.

1> Can anyone else "logon" or use my wireless stick when I am using the laptop, i.e in win7 I can see a list of networks, including the wind one I'm connected to , so can anyone esle do the same?

2> depending on the answer to q1, can I then setup a username/password to stop this

3> I also have a wifi samsung tv which I used with netflics, it has a usb port, but I coulndt get it see my wind stick and hence download netflics or use the other facilities on the TV

I;m sure I'm missing something here.

The wind stick is like a "cellfone"? i.e it has a sim and celfone number

cheers in advance for your help

Adrian
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 2011-11-14, 04:29 PM
Member #1

1./ No, it's not a hotspot.

3/ It won't work with your TV. Your TV (if its WiFi enabled) can connect to a router.
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 2011-11-14, 05:46 PM

To elaborate on what Hugh said, the stick allows you to connect to other networks. Nobody can connect to you. It's not like wifi in that regard.

The USB port on your TV is almost certainly meant for connecting a USB storage device, not a network device.

post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 2011-11-14, 07:21 PM

You can plug your Wind USB stick to a hotspot(Wifi) router. Your laptop and TV can share the same WiFi network if your TV has a LAN connection. You can use your laptop to feed movie to your TV over the network.
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 2011-11-14, 07:46 PM
Veteran

To answer the last part, yes it's like a cell phone.