New site is tracking your Torrents - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 45 (permalink) Old 2011-12-12, 03:46 PM Thread Starter
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
New site is tracking your Torrents

YouHaveDownloaded is a site that supposedly tracks Torrent downloads by IP address. Goto the site at and it will tell what files have been downloaded to your IP address.

The site claims to have over 52 million IP addresses in its database.
hugh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 45 (permalink) Old 2011-12-12, 09:12 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 978
Oh that's great.

Let me dig up an email from a friend, dig out the originating IP address and see everything he's downloaded
ssbtech is offline  
post #3 of 45 (permalink) Old 2011-12-12, 09:30 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Perfect, I am in the clear.
Pinza is offline  
post #4 of 45 (permalink) Old 2011-12-12, 10:30 PM
AFF
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 857
Quote:
Hi. We have no records on you.

Good thing there is way better ways to download stuff we shouldn`t.
AFF is online now  
post #5 of 45 (permalink) Old 2011-12-12, 11:04 PM
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Longueuil
Posts: 794
How conforting. I'm in the clear. But people in the 6x.000.000.000 aren't that lucky.

Going nowhere @ 220 ft
John Koenig is offline  
post #6 of 45 (permalink) Old 2011-12-13, 01:10 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Far East End of Hamilton, ON (Lake & Barton, 11th floor facing WNW)
Posts: 1,584
For those with a static IP, this works.

But most use an internet service that dynamically allocates IP addresses which change from time to time.

So... an ISP reallocates an IP to you that previously had a download history of torrent usage....

This needs more thought....

The only true way is to tie an IP to a MAC address... And I suspect that most ISP's don't show the MAC address to the outside... But I'm not sure...

Cameron

DAB listener 12/2003-11/2011 (DAB Off-Air since 11/2011)
HD radio Listener (where /when available) since 06/2010
CamDAB is offline  
post #7 of 45 (permalink) Old 2011-12-13, 07:58 AM Thread Starter
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Interesting. Typed in some "corporate IP addresses"

Shaw Nationally


Bell Satellite


Rogers Head Office
hugh is offline  
post #8 of 45 (permalink) Old 2011-12-13, 08:30 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 6,609
Quote:
And I suspect that most ISP's don't show the MAC address to the outside... But I'm not sure...
With Rogers, your host name is based on your firewall & modem MAC addresses, so all it takes is a host look up of the IP address to find the host name & MAC addresses. They also use DHCP, but the IP address changes so seldom that it's virtually static.

BTW, I wound up with a new IP address and host name last week, because a NIC in my firewall died. Using a different NIC gave me a different MAC address and, in turn, new IP & host name. While I'm not in the habit of using torrents, I have no idea about any previous user of my IP address.

Abort, Retry, Fail? [Y/N]
JamesK is online now  
post #9 of 45 (permalink) Old 2011-12-13, 08:35 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Scarb
Posts: 2,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by CamDAB View Post
For those with a static IP, this works.

But most use an internet service that dynamically allocates IP addresses which change from time to time.
<snip>

Cameron
From the comments on the site:

Quote:
we don't bother ourselves to separate dynamic IPs. The site is just for show. However we have time-stamps. 3.3.3.3 might be a dynamic IP - however it belonged to a certain person at 12:12am 12/12/2011. Besides DHT allows us to get a user's machine fingerprint. So even if it's a dormitory...
sleemo is offline  
post #10 of 45 (permalink) Old 2011-12-13, 12:28 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 17
Well looks like someone at rogers is out of a job at christmas time.
onemomentplease is offline  
post #11 of 45 (permalink) Old 2011-12-13, 12:43 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,479
I tracked a "friend" and see that he downloaded one movie in December. I'm guessing he was just checking to see if the tracker actually worked for this article...

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #12 of 45 (permalink) Old 2011-12-13, 01:04 PM Thread Starter
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Quote:
Well looks like someone at rogers is out of a job at christmas time.
I just wonder if they are limited to 80 kbps upload.

Quote:
††† Rogers Hi Speed Internet (delivered over cable) and Portable Internet from Rogers currently manages upstream peer-to-peer (P2P) file sharing applications speed to a maximum of 80 kbps per customer. This policy is maintained at all times. For information on Rogers Internet traffic management practices and Legal Disclosure click here.
FWIW, what I can't understand is how Rogers, the company which throttles P2P applications and using Deep Packet Inspection for years, allows torrenting at its own Head offices?
hugh is offline  
post #13 of 45 (permalink) Old 2011-12-13, 01:13 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,573
brownstar is offline  
post #14 of 45 (permalink) Old 2011-12-13, 01:31 PM Thread Starter
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
brownstar, that was Camdab's point earlier.

As noted, it really doesn't account well for dynamic IP addresses hence it can't be used for anyone using DSL and many cable IP addresses. It should work though for static IP addresses such as those for Bell, Rogers and Shaw Corporate since they never change.
hugh is offline  
post #15 of 45 (permalink) Old 2011-12-13, 02:36 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,828
I have downloaded from torrents in the past 6 months and when I enter in my address, it comes back saying it is all clear. Maybe my external IP has changed since the last time i used it.
jshel101 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome