Do I Need Luxury Cables? - Page 24 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #346 of 368 (permalink) Old 2011-11-05, 09:54 AM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
I agree David. The quality depends on the quality of the components and the quality of the manufacturer, not the country of origin.
hugh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #347 of 368 (permalink) Old 2011-11-08, 02:31 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: North York (West Lansing), Toronto
Posts: 1,096
FWIW I use "Cardas" cables, interconnects and power cords throughout all my system except for the external (I use Cardas internally) speaker cables. I am quite satisfied.
Khorn is offline  
post #348 of 368 (permalink) Old 2011-11-08, 05:44 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,017
Quote:
Why Cardas: Cardas’ cable design incorporates, Golden Ratio, Constant Q, Cross-Field, pure copper Litz, conductor technology.
Hmmm. Serpentes oil anyone?
Jake is offline  
post #349 of 368 (permalink) Old 2011-11-08, 08:22 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: in my home theatre
Posts: 3,554
Use what you want, if you hear or see the difference, that's fine. If you don't, that's fine too. Everybody's perception is different.

In terms of golden ratio, constant q, etc, those are just marketing speak.

I don't insinuate that Cardas cable is good or bad though. I have no experience with that brand.

THX, ISF, Control4 Certified Professional; CEDIA Certified Instructor; CEDIA Certified Designer
David Susilo is offline  
post #350 of 368 (permalink) Old 2011-11-26, 09:05 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sunny Manitoba
Posts: 375
Just feel a need to publish this link again to Roger Russell's website. He is an audio engineer who designed very expensive speakers for McIntosh and is the model definition of credibility:

http://www.roger-russell.com/wire/wire.htm

Funny though that he does use Cardas wire in the array towers he designed. Mind you, at least he admits it has nothing to do with sound, and everything to do with the questions he gets from the $$$ people who buy his speakers.

H/K AVR 1600, SD RTS-P100, Mission 670i, Paradigm C-200, CV Sub-120, Shaw Direct 630, LG 50" Plasma, PS2, PS3
ScooterMcTavish is offline  
post #351 of 368 (permalink) Old 2012-03-30, 08:28 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 56
The Ten Biggest Lies In Audio

Interesting article

http://www.ecoustics.com/electronics...es/706076.html
rdrr2008 is offline  
post #352 of 368 (permalink) Old 2012-03-30, 08:32 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: in my home theatre
Posts: 3,554
That's a re-write of a very very VERY old article from several years ago.

THX, ISF, Control4 Certified Professional; CEDIA Certified Instructor; CEDIA Certified Designer
David Susilo is offline  
post #353 of 368 (permalink) Old 2012-04-25, 09:22 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Halifax, NS
Posts: 37
Thanks for this thread, I went through most of it and now I'm a different person

It surprised me to know that component and coaxial cables are the same thing but the colour!

Cheers
copernico is offline  
post #354 of 368 (permalink) Old 2012-04-25, 11:45 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 6,609
^^^^
Other than HDMI, DVI, optical and speaker wire, just about all the cables used to connect devices are coaxial. The component cables are just like the composite, except there are 3 used, instead of one. There's no technical reason why you couldn't use 3 separate composite cables, in place of the 3 colour component cables. You could even use the same cable as used for the antenna connection, provided the proper connectors were used. Cables used for audio are generally not suitable for video or RF, even though they are "coaxial". Coaxial simply means the two conductors share the same axis, unlike speaker wire pairs.
JamesK is offline  
post #355 of 368 (permalink) Old 2012-04-25, 01:17 PM Thread Starter
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,482
Here's the FAQ on Cables & Connections for those not familiar with the terms and quality issues.

FAQ - Cables & Connections

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #356 of 368 (permalink) Old 2012-06-06, 09:48 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,315
Here is what you really need for pwer cables for all your devices - make sure to read the reviews carefully.

http://****************/AudioQuest-N...8816930&sr=1-2

The starred out bits above are www . Amazon . Com
Wayne is offline  
post #357 of 368 (permalink) Old 2012-06-06, 01:03 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Cape Breton, NS
Posts: 226
that link doesnt work

47LG55|RX-V565|HD DVR|PS3|Wii|3XEnergy Take FPS|2 VS|2 X LCR|DIY SDX-12|DIY Trio12
RC-70x2|RX-V863|MA RS-w12 Sub
caper_26 is offline  
post #358 of 368 (permalink) Old 2012-06-06, 01:58 PM
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 140
to www amazon dot com add: /AudioQuest-NRG-2-AC-power-cord/dp/B0006VPP12/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1339005433&sr=8-1

Why would anyone believe that a 3 foot power cable, of any quality beyond that which the manufacturer of the AV gear includes, would actually make a difference that can be heard? But for those that believe, there's a $125 dollar three foot standard equipment cable for them to purchase.
tandem is offline  
post #359 of 368 (permalink) Old 2012-06-06, 07:33 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Cape Breton, NS
Posts: 226
LOL ! "Only 2 left in stock--order soon."!!
You will love this one. read the reviews, seriously: from amazon: /Denon-AKDL1-Dedicated-Link-Cable/dp/B000I1X6PM
and terminated speaker cables: same www site: /AudioQuest-K2-terminated-speaker-cable/dp/B000J36XR2
again, the reviews are hilarious!!!

47LG55|RX-V565|HD DVR|PS3|Wii|3XEnergy Take FPS|2 VS|2 X LCR|DIY SDX-12|DIY Trio12
RC-70x2|RX-V863|MA RS-w12 Sub
caper_26 is offline  
post #360 of 368 (permalink) Old 2013-03-11, 01:55 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 56
Is there a difference in HDMI cables?

came across the below post at another forum, comments, discuss



Is there a difference in HDMI cables?

Over the weekend i decided to do a little test of my own b/c i was tired of the back and forth about whether or not high priced HDMI's are worth it over cheap 10 dollar versions. I used sum Wally world HDMI $10, and a Audiophiles cinnamon HDMI, which isn't really anything super special, $70. I tried my cheaper quality Samsung 60hz LCD TV and my bigger 240hz Samsung LCD with both cables for about 5 min. each, watching Planet Earth on bluray with fast moving to very slow moving scenes.

Let me say this first...THERE IS A DIFFERENCE. I had a friend watch with me just to make sure my eyes didn't deceive me. We started out with the Wally World one and ya it was a good picture don't get me wrong. But after looking at it hooked up with the Audiphiles HDMI we both immediately looked at eachother and said holy S*#t. The picture was so much crisper, cleaner, and more vivid, it seemed. We hooked up the cheap one again and it was like night and day to me. Everything seemed flat and dull. I am sold that it DOES matter which HDMI you have. If you don't believe me that's cool but try it for yourself and really study the details of the picture not just looking at the image as a whole.
rdrr2008 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome