4k HDMI switch - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 2018-03-17, 06:39 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 179
4k HDMI switch

I have an LG OLED tv and have used up all my hdmi inputs. I want to add another 4k source. Can someone please suggest a quality HDMI switch that won't lose any signal.
SatTv1994 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 2018-03-17, 10:11 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43░ N, 81.2░ W
Posts: 6,500
Monoprice has some HDMI 2.0 switches that support HDR, HDCP 2.2 and 4K@60hz. Can't speak for the personally but they get decent reviews. This one appears to stand above the rest.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 2018-03-18, 10:48 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Winnipeg - Bell-HD
Posts: 2,241
I've found the best thing to use is a 4K home theatre receiver.

A lot of brands such as Yamaha have several with 7/8 HDMI 4K inputs.

This allows for you to only use one on the back of your LG OLED TV...and it makes switching so much easier.
dm_4u is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 2018-03-18, 12:22 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 179
Thanks ExDilbert and dm_4u.
The Monoprice Blackbird looks like it would do the Job. I have considered using a 4k home theatre receiver but the one I have upstairs connected to my Panasonic 3d tv is a few years old (pioneer Elite VSX-70) and even though it has 4k pass through I'm guessing there may be some video loss.

My 4k lg oled tv is in the basement and for best video signal I have the apple tv 4k, xbox one s, bell fibe box connected direct to tv and use toslink cable to budget Pioneer VSX-821 for audio. The 4th lg hdmi input is now connected with the upstairs Pioneer Elite home theatre receiver's 2nd hdmi output with a hdmi cable about 20ft long but I notice sparkles sometimes when using it to view content from upstairs sources (Roku, other tv box, etc).
SatTv1994 is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 2018-03-18, 12:28 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,385
HDMI cables longer than about 10-15' need to be large gauge - say 22 ga for 20-25', or you need active technology, like Redmere cables.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 2018-03-18, 01:21 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 179
I thought the length may be the problem and also the fact that I had to use a coupler to connect 2 hdmi 28 awg cables. I'm unsure of the length of one of the hdmi cables (likely about 16') since it's in the wall and the other is 6 or 8'. The one hdmi cable was good when I connected it from upstairs pioneer's 2nd hdmi output to other pioneer receiver downstairs but when I decided to connect it direct to tv I had to add the coupler for the further distance. I do have a HDMI signal extender to try. Is that an acceptable substitute to active technology you mentioned?
SatTv1994 is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 2018-03-18, 02:41 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43░ N, 81.2░ W
Posts: 6,500
Try using an active repeater instead of the passive coupler. Blackbird 4K Pro HDMI 2.0 Repeater 4K@60Hz YUV 4:4:4 The cables 57 mentioned should also work but only appear to be available in longer lengths.

Sparkles in HDMI video are a sign of signal loss due to a cable or device that cannot handle the required bandwidth. The longer the cable, the more likely it is to occur.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 2018-03-18, 02:41 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,385
It might. I prefer proper solutions to band-aids when possible.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 2018-04-08, 03:42 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 179
Thanks for all the suggestions. I finally decided to purchase a new Home Theatre Receiver for the HDMI switching and even though it's not a high end one (ONKYO TX-NR676) it does the switching job very well and it has brought my old ESS AMT 1B speakers back to life with enough power to drive them.
SatTv1994 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome