Newbie needs help with cutting the cord - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 2018-02-21, 11:39 AM Thread Starter
Newbie needs help with cutting the cord

Please by gentle as I'm a newbie on here and not very tech savvy...

I'm attempting to cut the cord and set up IPTV at home with PVR capabilities. Is it even possible to record from an IPTV provider? I think I have read that this can be done through Kodi? My goal is to have something high quality, very reliable and make this as user friendly as possible so that my wife will not miss cable AND record shows for her and my kids.

Currently I have an android box (Nvidia shield) and am currently trying out an IPTV provider (Epicstream), but I am willing to try out other IPTV providers if they have a very user friendly interface AND are reliable.

Many thanks,
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 2018-02-21, 09:56 PM
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 2018-02-21, 11:34 PM
Some legitimate IPTV providers provide cloud recording or local recording on a proprietary Android box. Not sure how well this works but it will basically work like a cable TV service. Internet service must be purchased from the same company. Some examples of legitimate IPTV providers are VMedia, Zazeen and Netfox. There are new ones being announced or launched occasionally.