Hdtv connection to older stereo - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 2017-03-16, 12:41 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 8
Question Hdtv connection to older stereo

I have a Dynex tv model#DX40L261A12.
You can see the back of the tv here.
https://www.manualslib.com/manual/54...?page=9#manual

I want to connect the audio to the older stereo that has RCA red and white. I would then connect the tv to the Aux in the back of the stereo.The stereo is a Kenwood KR-A20.

I wanted to know what cable I would need to be able to do this.

On the back of the tv there is a digital audio out but it's not RCA and there is a headphone.

You can see more info on the link I provided above.

Thanks
Mary-Jane
maryjanej is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 2017-03-16, 03:21 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 54,943
On page 11 of the operating manual (Page 15 of the pdf) there is a cable that has 3.5mm on one end and analogue audio (red/white) at the other end. If you get a cable like this but insert it in the headphone out jack, that may work for you. Make sure the cable is a "stereo" cable at the "jack end". Some are mono and the jack is slightly different.

I don't know if the headphone jack becomes active as soon as you insert the cable, or if you need to activate it in the audio user settings of the TV. With most TVs the TV speakers turn off as you insert the headphones and it's active.

This may do the trick: Cost may be slightly higher in brick & mortar stores. Once connected, if you want to use headphones, you should be able to use the jack on the Kenwood.

https://www.amazon.ca/3-5mm-Mini-Plu.../dp/B000LMFS7M


There's also a digital coax to analogue audio converter, but some of these only work with PCM and not Dolby Digital. You'll need to configure the audio output on the TV to PCM instead of RAW if you get one of these. This is covered in the operating manual - search for PCM.

https://www.amazon.ca/SODIAL-Digital...udio+converter

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 2017-03-16, 04:02 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 8
Hi 57

Thank you so much for your help.

Mary-Jane
maryjanej is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome