New Samsung receiver switches source on start up??? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 2011-12-22, 03:46 PM Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
New Samsung receiver switches source on start up???


I am wondering if anyone else has experienced this issue:

I have:
I have a new Samsung surround sound receiver (HW-D650S), a new Samsung TV (55" LED), Rogers HD PVR and use a Logitech Harmony One universal remote. All devices are connected using only HDMI cables.

The issue:
When I press 'Watch TV' activity, all devices power on, the receiver defaults to SAT (as programmed via Harmony), then after 5 seconds the receiver switches to the TV source - as a result I lose the cable picture.

as a temporary workaround, i have to select Devices, then AV Receiver, then select the input SAT button... every time I turn on the TV...

I suspect:
what may be happening is the receiver is looking for a signal from the TV - which may be delayed, then switches to TV when it doesn't receive it in time.

anyone every heard of this issue and can advise on a possible solution?

probichaud is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 2011-12-22, 04:13 PM
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,733
Make sure you turn off any HDMI link features on all your devices so that the Harmony can do its thing without interference:

FAQ - HDMI Comments/Issues Item 4

Here's a useful post - FAQs, Search Tips, Optimization, etc:

HDTV Frequently Asked Questions: Please read this before posting in the forum

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 2011-12-23, 09:58 AM
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,022
What 57 said. Those Samsung TVs use Anynet+ (HDMI-CEC) which I dislike. If you disable the Anynet+ in the setup your system should not change inputs. Nor will it power up or down attached devices.
Jake is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 2011-12-23, 02:01 PM
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,131
Another solution would be to add a command at the end of the startup sequence that switches the TV back to the correct source. That's done in the Harmony activity setup wizard. Other commands can be added such as switching the receiver's audio to DD5.1. Yet another would be to change the order in which devices turn on.

At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 2012-03-02, 01:09 AM
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
Hey probichaud, I just regeistered to tell you that WOW. I have the same TV and AV reciever and the same Harmony remote. So freaky. I also have the same problem. PS did you buy your tv and reciever as part of a package on sale from futureshop?
kushari is offline  

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome