Heat Pump not delivering energy savings - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 21 (permalink) Old 2012-03-11, 10:55 AM
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley
Posts: 397
Jostudly, I need to press the temperature up and down buttons twice to get the read out on the remote to react to the change. However, after the first press, it responds to each subsequent increase or decrease with one press of the buttons. The key is to hear the beep on the unit, telling you the change has been received from the remote by the system.

My units, one identical to yours and one different, each delay before a change in settings too. The system needs time to react to the signaled changes. As long as your unit reacts to the change in settings within a few minutes, I think it is behaving normally -- like mine do, anyway. For example, on the very coldest winter nights -- -15C -- the unit sometimes goes into defrost mode in responding to an increase in temperature command from the remote. After a couple of minutes the heat is back, and the temperature rises as I have commanded.

Hope that helps. I think an analogy might be steering a boat rather than driving a car. The car steering response is obvious and immediate but the boat needs patience from the handler.
asd is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #17 of 21 (permalink) Old 2012-03-11, 11:10 AM
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Moncton
Posts: 24
Yes same here once I press the temp change once I get no beep but only on the second time I press it I get the beep. I am wondering if they all work that way or it is a defect. One thing I do find odd is that if I keep the temp at 74 F it seem to be blowing air but if I lower it to 72 F like I did last night the heat pump stopped blowing air until I changed it back to 74 F this am. I know that the house was colder then 72 F so I m not if there is something wrong with it. I also tried the reset and then turned it off and back on again to get it to work again.
Jostudly is offline  
post #18 of 21 (permalink) Old 2012-03-11, 11:45 AM
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley
Posts: 397
I don't know if your unit needs service but you might experiment with the fan speed. I recall we discussed the fan sending air the length of your house last fall. If you have it set on "auto," for example, maybe try "high." I use high all winter. It doesn't always blow at the high rate, even when set to high.

Maybe experiment more with your louvers on the wall unit too. To get warm or cool air from one end of the house to the other might require setting the louvers to shoot straight ahead rather than down. When you switch modes from heat to dehumidify, for instance, the louvers move automatically. I make sure mine are set to shoot straight ahead and not down. When it was 18C two days ago I went to dehumidify and the louvers changed so when I went back to heat last night I had to readjust them again. These units are very complex and it took me a year to find the setting that works for my wife and I.
asd is offline  
post #19 of 21 (permalink) Old 2012-12-01, 12:15 AM
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Sounds like your contractor doesnt understand heat loss.

Originally Posted by coaster View Post
We own a split-level 1500 sq ft home with electric baseboard heating.We installed a Fujitsu 12RLS mini-split in September 09...
It sounds like your contractor went in the wrong direction when it comes to heating. If your budget just allowed you to install a single zone ductless you should have put it down stairs....
Imagine a 20 story condominium. The tenants on the basement would need ample heat and no cooling in the summer. The tenants on the top floor proiority would be cooling in spring summer. HEAT rises.
Your contractor should have put your single zone system downstairs to eliminate your covection heaters which are always on....

The readon you havnt saved $ is that your upstairs is not hard to heat and those baseboards were never working hard....

Hope this helps


Last edited by 57; 2012-12-01 at 12:36 AM. Reason: QS
littletyler is offline  
post #20 of 21 (permalink) Old 2013-01-22, 01:15 AM
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6

A UK study found it's not uncommon for heat pumps to achieve less than half of their potential efficiency due to installation factors... If I get one maybe it will just be for the AC, and I'll consider myself lucky if it actually saves a lot of energy.
nascent is offline  
post #21 of 21 (permalink) Old 2015-08-19, 05:14 PM
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1
Sounds like not enough load or run time on the heat pump. The baseboard heaters on the main floor are essentially trying to heat the entire home and you are not seeing the benefit of using the heat pump. I would be looking at turning off all of the baseboard and adding another ductless unit on the main floor. Half measures typically produce mediocre results...just saying.
Bestexpert is offline  

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome